We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25%, Book in Advance
Ranked #114 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as part of a conference that was happening in the RAI. The hotel was good, nothing too fancy but had all the right things. Staff was good, got taxis right away and were very polite. Breakfast was ok, recommended to eat on the patio overlooking the canal. Location was pretty good, in walking distance (12 minutes) of the RAI and lots of other shops, hair places and restaurants in the area. Only took 10 minutes to get downtown in a cab. Only downside was the internet – absolutely didn't work in the rooms unless I sat on the floor next to the door and even then it was spotty. Sometimes bad internet is worse than no internet! But otherwise it was a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    268
    138
    55
    39
See reviews for
57
253
28
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel for 1 night during weekend trip to Amsterdam. Location good, outdoor parking a rip off, best to be avoided. Rooms very dated, hotel staff overpowered by large groups of American river cruise ship tour group, hence long waits at the reception at check in.
room ok but interior very dated, beware the rooms don't look as nice as on the hotel homepage!
Given the price tag of the place (room, breakfast, parking.... not good value for money at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed compliments of Viking River Cruises as we delayed by a day because of the flooding in Europe. We had a nice view from our room overlooking the canal. It seemed quite central to everything. The rooms were nice but the furniture was looking very tired. It needed updating and replaced.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I like the Amsterdam city. Hotel Wyndham Apollo is in a quiet location not far away from the city. Breakfast was simple with a little choice of items. Reception staff were nice and warm helper. Housekeeping wasn't do their job properly thus the room always not cleaned very well. Anyway as I said before I do like the Amsterdam in Netherlands.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was our first trip to Amsterdam and we found ourselves transferred to the Wyndham Apollo Hotel after the hotel we had booked (Ramada Apollo) told us on arrival that they were overbooked. We were assured that the Wyndham was "more luxurious" and that all aspects of our booking would be honoured. Sadly this was not the case.

Positives - we were upgraded to an Executive Room on the top floor with wonderful views of the canals (and local Shell Petrol Station!!);
the hotel is in a leafy, quiet residential area;
staff are friendly if somewhat inefficient;
all areas of the hotel appear clean and tidy.

Negatives - we were booked on a dinner (3 course), bed and breakfast package which seemed to cause confusion for all staff concerned. On the first night we were offered the chef's "special menu" which consisted of a choice of asparagus with bacon or asparagus with lobster as a starter, then fillet of lamb or red mullet as a main, finishing with raspberries and ice cream or cheese & biscuits (except we were "not allowed the cheese" on our menu option. We asked what the menu options would be for the remaining two nights of our stay and were told the menu changed "seasonally"!! On the second night we ate in the bar and were given a 20 euro allocation each - almost enough for one course, the cheapest being a burger with chips and salad at 21 euros. But the burger was undercooked so our 3 course dinner turned out to be half a course. We complained to the Duty Manager and were assured that all would be sorted in time for our third dinner. Alas, this didn't happen. On the our final evening we were told by the waiter that we were "getting a special menu prepared by the chef" - so no choice. And this time it was tomato soup, followed by chicken caesar salad, and no dessert. (Standard dishes which appeared on the Room Service Menu!).

To add to our troubles, after each evening meal, despite having paid in advance for our dinner, the cost appeared on our room bill. So each morning we had the daily ritual of explaining to the receptionist about our plight and having to wait for a manager to adjust our bill accordingly.

Individually the staff were all very courteous and helpful, but somehow the administration, both within the hotel and between the hotel and it's sister hotel, was completely lacking.

The constant hassle we encountered over our dining arrangements was inexcusable and should not have been allowed to extend over three nights.

Oh, and the breakfasts were disappointing too..... :-(. Fine if you were down early, but by 9 am the cheese had curled at the edges, the scrambled eggs had turned to rubber, the bacon was incinerated, and the coffee was lukewarm.

Suffice it so say we will NOT be back and wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing stress-free break.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I've stayed in Amsterdam multiple times and always try to stay in new parts of the city to explore. I really enjoyed this hotel location, in a very pretty and mostly residential part of the city. Only about 15 minute walk from the RAI convention center where I had meetings, and 5 minute walk to tram stop that take you into city center (Dam Square, Central Station, etc...) in about 15 minutes.
The hotel is quite nice. Big rooms and nicely sized bathrooms. Very comfortable bed. Nice sitting area by oversized window overlooking the canals. Nice bar downstairs with indoor and outdoor seating by the canal. I did not eat at the hotel so can't speak to their food. It had a nice fitness center as well, unfortunately did not make use of that either.

Room Tip: Room 240 had a great view and king size bed, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were here for 3 nights. The room was nice and clean with free WiFi. We arrived early after a 9 hour flight and was unable to check in early. Airport shuttle cost 17 euros although we were told 15.50 euros in the email. The hotel is outside the city center but the nearest tram is only 10 mins walking distance. The food in the hotel restaurant was average but overpriced. Overall, the hotel was average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.