We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our trip enjoyable!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 25%, Book in Advance
Ranked #112 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Made our trip enjoyable!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel! At first I was quite hesitant due to the location as its not in the Center of Amsterdam. Surprisingly it work out brilliantly and would stay there if I ever went back. The hotel staff were polite and helpful, we had a room on the 5th floor facing the canal; we were close to the road however the traffic noise didn't disturb our sleep.

When we first arrived in Amsterdam, we took the train in to Centraal Station, we stored our luggage at the station (extremely secure, absolutely no issues) for the cost of 5 Euros for 24h use (it only takes cards, NO CASH) so we didn't have to waste time going to the hotel to drop it off and then come all the way back into the center to start our holiday. We went to the Information center and bought our tram pass for 21 Euros which was good for 4 days unlimited on any tram, bus or underground. There were other bus companies servicing the area but we didn't try to use the pass with them as the main transit run by the city is brilliant so there wasn't a need. Once we were finished touring, we went back for our luggage and hopped in the 5 Tram to our hotel (The 24 Tram goes there as well). The stop is the Appollaan (probably miss spelled) which took us 20 minutes to get to. I think the 24 is a little quicker. Once you get off the tram, cross the road (Stay on the left), walk until you get to the next main street, cross that street and you should see the hotel on the left further up.

Around the Hotel: There is a grocery store Albert Heijn (They are located all over the city, look for lighter blue writing 'ah' on the sign). To get there get off at the stop after the Appollaan, you will see a bakery, walk up the street that way until you see a Deli, turn right after the deli and its right there. We bought water (much cheaper), fruit, drinks, breakfast food, crisps and such...would definitely recommend stopping there was its way cheaper than eating out for breakfast and such. If you are on a budget buy your water there and take it with you into the center. When you come out of the store turn right and walk down the street until you see a large round office building, turn left and walk around it to the other street, cross the main street there and turn left, you should see the hotel there.There is a Shell petrol station if you walk past the hotel, however it was extremely expensive and very limited.

There is a Deli, drug store (similar to Boots) called ETO, Dixons electronic store, Bakery and coffee shop just down located at the stop after Appollaan. When you get off the Tram walk back towards the Appollaan stop and you will see them all on the right. There are also various other stores around there however everything closes early, probably 5 - 6 pm (The grocery store is open until 10 pm). There are a few restaurants further down, past the stop after the Appollaan but thats about it. If you are coming back from touring, eat before you get on the tram or buy something at the grocery store near the hotel as there is NOTHING around there fast food or restaurant wise, unless you eat at the hotel which is expensive.

The tram pass was wonderful (no need to buy the hop on hop off pass)! Its way cheaper than the hop on hop off and it takes you to all of the main attractions or a short distance away. Take the 24 Tram if you want to go to the Museumplein (I AMSTERDAM sign), Dam Square/Royal Palace, Heineken Exerience, Amsterdam Famous Market, Red Light District (get off at Dam Square and walk in the direction the tram is going, after the large building on the right, turn right and you are at the start of it). Take the 5 Tram if you want to go to the Rijks Museum/Museumplein (I AMSTERDAM sign), Vondelpark (have to walk a short distance in the same direction the tram is heading and it will be on the left), Jordaan neighbourhood (get off at the last stop before Centraal station, cross the road and there will be one of the main streets right there) - you can't miss the area, Royal Palace/ Dam Square (Drops you off on the other side of the Royal Palace). You can take the 24 Tram, get off at Dam Square, walk back towards Dam Square - turn right so you are on the right side of the palace and get on the 14 Tram which will take you to Ann Franks House and West Church.

The benefit of staying at the hotel is that the tram takes you basically where ever you want to go so you aren't starting at one in the center and having to talk to a completely different area. Although everything is pretty much within walking distance - it can save you quite a bit of walking having the tram pass. Regardless of the time or day, the trams are frequent - I don't think we waited more than 10 minutes for a tram. In fact they were so frequent sometimes we would wait for the next one if it was too busy.

We had an early morning flight so the night before we stayed at a hotel near the airport. Rather than leaving our bags at the hotel, we stored them at Centraal station until we were ready to leave, got on the Train to the Airport which drops you off close to the hotel shuttles. This was great as we didn't have to get up extremely early, worry about catching a Tram to Centraal station and then catch a Train to the airport - would definitely recommend doing this. The airport hotel was cheaper than staying another night at the hotel.

Overall we had a great trip, hotel was great, tram pass was great - really enjoyed Amsterdam!

PS if you are on a budget or just cheap like me, buy the caramel waffles (staple in Amsterdam) at the Albert Heijn store for a fraction of the price in the souvenir stores. There is one located right off the last stop for the number 5 tram before it goes to Centraal Station, cross the street and walk down the main street there for a couple minutes and it will be on the right. In general, shop around for Souvenirs as some shops are overpriced for the same goods cheaper in others. Don't wait to buy stuff at the Airport - extremely expensive!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    330
    156
    64
    44
See reviews for
86
321
35
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maia, Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A great place, with a fresh air inside, the Apollo Hotel at Amsterdam was the trully way of relaxing after the streets of amsterdam. With nice people and staff, allways with a smile on the face, creates an amazing mood among the Hotel.
Apollo Hotel thank you very much for hospitality, your kindness, great food, and incredible wine!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

The service of the hotel is amazing, the location is great, the rooms perfect. The quality of the Apollo hotel let enjoying Amsterdam in all of senses, great music included.
Thank you all the staff, special Peter.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

An excellent hotel for a short break in Amsterdam. Close to public transport (tram) that will take you into the centre of Amsterdam in about 15 mins. Car parking available at hotel. Hotel very modern and clean. Upgrade to executive room without a request. Very comprehensive Breakfast available at extra cost. Reception and Bar staff very helpful and friendly. Position of Hotel overlooking the confluence of five canals provides a very attractive outlook from the main bar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you so much for your nice review.

I am really happy to read that you liked the hotel, the setting, the decoration of the room and that the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager - Wyndham Apollo Hotel amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have been visiting the Wyndham Apollo for years. It has never let us down. The staff are truly wonderful and take pride in their work. We had a suite in a recent visit and it could do with an upgrade.....most of the other rooms have had a makeover in the last couple of years, but the suites remain tired. There is a wide choice for breakfast to suit every taste.
The hotel is within easy reach of the centre of Amsterdam....a lovely walk. Public transport is 5 minutes walk. Lots of local pubs and restaurants. We are looking forward to returning!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about our hotel. It was a pleasure having you back as our guest. Hopefully you will return someday back to the lovely city of Amsterdam and our hotel.

It is our passion to combine the best facilities with personalized service in order to make successful and memorable stays possible for our guests. Thank you again for confirming that we succeeded in that.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager –Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Booked this hotel on the internet with no idea what to expect. It was perfect for our needs. Took public transportation from airport and had less than quarter mile to walk to hotel. Very convenient to getting around and for local restaurants. Staff very helpful. Room clean, internet worked well. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you so much for your nice review.

I am really happy to read that you liked the hotel, the setting, the decoration and the view of the room and that the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager - Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, FL
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, the room and the bed were comfortable. Our meal at La Sirene was one of the best we've had in a long time! Everything was great until the party people returned to their rooms at 2am. There is no soundproofing in these rooms! The laughing and shouting in the halls, and the slamming doors, loud TVs and parties in the nearby rooms were quite annoying. I called the reception desk, and was told they would check into it, but the noise only decreased as the party people slowly settled down. I would not hesitate to return for the restaurant, but maybe next time I'll ask how many college kids are staying before I book a room.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

The Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam would like to thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay.

I really enjoyed reading your nice comments about our restaurant. We recently received two good reviews of prestigious reviewers. The first review was given in the annual culinary magazine ‘De Lekker’ and the second review was given by Bib Gourmand. I wil make sure that the restaurant team is informed about your nice words.
I do apologize for the inconvenient situation in the room after a lovely dinner in our restaurant La Sirene. I am sorry to read that after informing the reception the noise only became louder instead of stopping or fading away. The reception is 24 hours manned and there is always a duty manager to help and assist.

Once more I do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. I hope that we may welcome you once more into our hotel and especially in our restaurant.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager - Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.