We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay and very helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25%, Book in Advance
Ranked #113 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice stay and very helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Was placed in this hotel for a meeting as is walking distance from the convention center. The hotel was very nicely done - perfect for a business hotel. What made the stay exceptional, however, was the hotel staff. From the point of check in onwards, all staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They gave clear directions and good advice about local conveniences (ie, restaurants, shops, etc.), even providing an umbrella to take out in the rain. The restaurant staff were also very helpful, in particular, the breakfast manager. He always had a friendly word and a cheeky joke. I misplaced a lipstick on day at breakfast and mentioned it to him as I left. He actually found it and kept it for me! This area of Amsterdam is not centrally located but because of the good tram service, it's quite simple to get to there. I highly recommend it if you have a meeting at the convention center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear madam,

The Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam would like to thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay.

I am happy to hear that the hotel did meet up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your overall stay. Also I am happy to hear that you found the staff to be very friendly.

I look forward welcoming you again at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.
Kind regards,

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager, Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    253
    130
    53
    38
See reviews for
58
256
29
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Located not to far outside the city centre, this hotel is well designed, extremely comfortable and very well located for fantastic views of the canal junction outside. Be sure to ask for canal views.

Particularly excellent and friendly front counter staff made my stay a very pleasant one indeed. Unfortunately, the breakfasting room was rather busy the morning I visited, much too crowded but overall a decent selection and comfortable environment.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear sir/madam,

The Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam would like to thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay.

I am happy to hear that the hotel did meet up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your overall stay. Also I am happy to hear that you found the staff to be very friendly.

I look forward welcoming you again at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.
Kind regards,

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager, Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel this week as I was attending a conference.
The best part of the hotel is the staff who were pleasant and attentive.
Hotel is a bit shabby (see photos of the carpet in the room). I stayed in room 207.
Basic requests like a feather pillow were "no can do" so you have to live with their lumpy foam pillows.
Breakfast is pretty basic for Euro's 20+.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. Your experience at our hotel is very important to us. Your comments will help us to improve our total service.

Your kind words about the staff are really appreciated and I will make sure that my colleagues are informed about your nice words.

I do apologize that the room did not meet up your expectations. Our hotel is partly renovated and we are planning on renovating the rest of the rooms in the near future. Thank you for the comment about the pillows. I will definitely see if we can offer a wider choice of pillows in the near future to our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam and we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Peter Heule
General Manager, Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A little out of town but good value for money. Very comfortable rooms. Clean and tidy. Avoid the car park as crazy prices to keep your car there. Also the wifi you have to pay for. But all in all a very reasonable hotel at €90 a night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear madam,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and complimenting our hotel rooms. Your feedback is very important to us and I assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

I am really sorry to hear from you that you experience car parking in Amsterdam as expensive. For your next stay I would like to ask you to contact the hotel, our concierge service can inform about parking possibilities and prices.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam in the near future.

Kind regards,
Peter Heule
General Manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is the best location you can get, close to shopping, grate restaurants and down town night life.
Old and dated rooms, however they are updating them. Staff are a bit snobby but I would blame there lack of customer service on management. For years this was the top hotel in Amsterdam but the new ownership has let the place go. Shame. I would still reccomend it but not for much longer..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and complimenting the location of the hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to improve our services.

I am really sorry to hear that your room did not meet up your expectations. The Wyndham Apollo Hotel has different room types available; standard, executive and suites. We have partly renovated the hotel and we are planning on renovating the rest of the room in the near future. Please not that all our executive rooms have been renovated already.
I take the comments about the attitude of the staff very seriously and have discussed this with the team.

I do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and we hope to may welcome you again in the near at Wynham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam!

Kind regards,
Peter Heule
General Manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Nevada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Our first visit to Amsterdam with all the usual apprehension of the "unknowns"--this hotel made us feel very comfortable and right at home. Great location for walking or biking almost anywhere you would need or wish to go. Staff very accommodating; rooms could use a bit of updating. Nice to have a hot pot in room with tea and coffee. Breakfast buffet with view of canal exceeded expectations- wonderful variety of hot and cold fare. Would stay there again and would recommend it to anyone who asked. Loved Amsterdam--very walkable city and much to expeience-enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear madam,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and complimenting the location of the hotel. Your feedback is very important to us.
I enjoyed reading your positive part about the service of the staff, I will make sure that the team will be informed about this.

I would like to inform you about the updating of the rooms, we have partly renovated the hotel and we are planning on renovating the rest of the rooms in the near future. Please not that all our executive rooms have been renovated already.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam in the near future.

Kind regards,
Peter Heule
General Manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.