We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay for show at the RAI” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 25%, Book in Advance
Ranked #114 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfect stay for show at the RAI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Recently stayed during the ISE show at the RAI, following a fantastic refurbishment the hotel is perfect for anyone visiting the RAI or in fact Amstedam...very nice modern rooms great facilities, good bar good breakfasts,..what more does one need..many thanks Wyndham Apolo...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that you are enthusiastic about the refurbishment and that you have enjoyed your stay.

We look forward welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer
Hotel manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    315
    153
    62
    44
See reviews for
83
310
35
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on business in December. It's a very comfortable hotel, with lovely beds and pillows, and a nice bar/lounge area that overlooks the water. It has a gym and more or less everything you could need to make your stay comfortable.

The problem is that you have to pay a lot for these things. No free WIFI, in a business-orientated hotel? Really? Come on. The majority of people staying in the hotel are staying for business purposes and making them pay to use WIFI is just ridiculous. I wouldn't even mind if it was cheap, but it certainly isn't. Add to this the cost of breakfast, the cost of a drink, the cost of a movie, the cost of everything. It's a very expensive hotel.

But if you can look beyond the cost, it's a very clean and comfortable hotel. It's a shame because something as simple as free WIFI can be the difference between me recommending this hotel and not.

Room Tip: My colleagues mentioned that the rooms on the upper floors (6th) were considerably colder than mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Mr. Molloy,

First of all we would like to thank you for leaving a comment on your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our canal views and facilities.

At Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam we offer a Wyndham ByRequest membership programme. This programme allows our guests to make use of free Internet access and other exclusive benefits. You can sign up for Wyndham ByRequest at the reception or via our website.

Unfortunately some charges for certain facilities we cannot evade. However By valued guest as yourself letting us know on which points we can improve. We have taken precautions to be more transparent in certain costs and offering full service packages.

We would like to apologize for unclear or unforeseen cost, and we hope to welcome you again at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer
Hotel manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I'm a member of CADS (the Commercial Anglo-Dutch Society), which has been meeting at this hotel every month for lunch for more than 10 years. In that time it has changed hands 3 times. As a couple we have stayed there overnight on a few occasions as well. The restaurant La Sirene is one of the best fish restaurants in the city, and the staff are without fail friendly, courteous and professional. The kitchen has a new young chef since last summer, and he is starting to show real potential in the kitchen. The outlook from the bar and terrace over the river is beautiful, and I use it as one of my favourite business lunch places. My only gripe is that the restaurant is closed on Sundays.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for leaving this positive comment on Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam and restaurant LaSirene. Reviews as these encourage us on continuously improving our service.
We are looking forward welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer
Hotel manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This hotel has perfect location as it is in a quite area but when you take tram 5 you can in every stop discover the famous attractions. The rooms are nice with canal view. The staff is very nice and helpful. The breakfast is great and the restaurant and bar are fantastic. It is very clean and if I. Go again to Amsterdam I will definitely stay in it.

Room Tip: Choose a room with canal view in zero floor or first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking the time to remark on your stay. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our stay and the canal view.

We look forward welcoming you again at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer
Hotel manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rendsburg
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I used the hotel for a business trip during EWEA.
The hotel is not far away from RAI.
Double Room used as Single Room.
Prize: Expensive (but exhibition time)
Nice lobby bar

Attention:
The hotel booked more money from credit card.
No contact by email possible - contact adress on invoice false.
No feedback by hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Sir/madem,

Thank you for taking the time to remark on your stay. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your overall stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the credit card charges. If you provide us with your contact details via mt.wyndham@apollohotelsresorts.com we will look into this misunderstanding.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer
Hotel manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
602 helpful votes 602 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

First let me state that I am a very picky traveler. We choose the Wyndham based on the reviews and cost. We arrived early and was pleasantly greeted and given an early check- in. The DAY front desk staff were great . The evening front desk not so much. Are room was small based on American standards but very well decorated and the barroom was clean and modern. We had a canal view which was great! The housekeeping staff was very good. The bed was to die for! Very very comfortable!

Ok now for the bad (after all that's why we read these things ). Parking prices are expensive! 30 euro a day!
Poor wireless Internet service that cost 12.50 euro a day. I complained to the front desk but they just gave me the standard " I'll let the manager know"
STAY AWAY from the restaurant! Very poor service, over priced, overall just a rip off. The breakfast cost 22 euro and wasn't worth it at all. The host was rude, the server was equally as rude, never offered coffee or drinks, pretty much ignored us. This happened more than one day.

The hotel is about 3 miles from the central station and is near a trolly line. This hotel is outside the main tourist area, it is near the museum district.

Overall it was a good stay, I might have rated the this hotel higher had it not been for the rude restaurant staff.
Would I stay here again, probably not, I might try a bigger name brand. Ok there you have it. Good luck!
I probably would have rated this hotel higher had it not been for the rude employees .

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear sir/madam

Thank you for taking the time to remark on your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and our restaurant service was not up to our usual 4-star standards. We would like to apologize for your negative experience.

We very much appreciate your remarks as these allow us to continue improvement.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer
Hotel manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We had a great stay. 2 nights over new years. The room was nice, not huge, but an extremely comfy bed and nicely decorate with a good bathroom.
The staff were friendly and could all speak fluent english (as with most dutch folk), which was a massive help.
Buy a 24hour tram ticket and scan the ticket as you get on and off the tram - this was new to me but works very well.

Our room wasn't ready till 3pm. We arrived at 11am. The hotel looked after our baggage as we dragged our travel tired feet around to local spots.
Room service is pretty pricey. 21 euros for a burger than is nothing to write home about.
We ate in the 'Marina Lounge' as the restaurant was closed during New Year (a LOT of restaurants were).
The food was really really good.
But the service was slow and took too long to clear our plates. The bar doesn't offer much of a variety of drinks.
The staff at the front desk are very helpful if you need anything - taxi's, restaurant bookings etc.


HOWEVER, MASSIVE 'guarantee' amounts taken from my card during my stay. That are going to take days to come back to me.
This is quite unusual to me as the amounts are very large.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Richie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.

We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectation and some of our services were not to your satisfaction. Our sincere apologies for the guarantee, this is part of our standard procedures. We have taken your comment into account in order to improve our level of service and communication towards our guests.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer
Hotel manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Otel, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.