We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Exhibition Center RAI - false invoice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #102 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rendsburg
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Near Exhibition Center RAI - false invoice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I used the hotel for a business trip during EWEA.
The hotel is not far away from RAI.
Double Room used as Single Room.
Prize: Expensive (but exhibition time)
Nice lobby bar

Attention:
The hotel booked more money from credit card.
No contact by email possible - contact adress on invoice false.
No feedback by hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Scout_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Sir/madem,

Thank you for taking the time to remark on your stay. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your overall stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the credit card charges. If you provide us with your contact details via mt.wyndham@apollohotelsresorts.com we will look into this misunderstanding.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer
Hotel manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Honolulu
Level Contributor
248 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

First let me state that I am a very picky traveler. We choose the Wyndham based on the reviews and cost. We arrived early and was pleasantly greeted and given an early check- in. The DAY front desk staff were great . The evening front desk not so much. Are room was small based on American standards but very well decorated and the barroom was clean and modern. We had a canal view which was great! The housekeeping staff was very good. The bed was to die for! Very very comfortable!

Ok now for the bad (after all that's why we read these things ). Parking prices are expensive! 30 euro a day!
Poor wireless Internet service that cost 12.50 euro a day. I complained to the front desk but they just gave me the standard " I'll let the manager know"
STAY AWAY from the restaurant! Very poor service, over priced, overall just a rip off. The breakfast cost 22 euro and wasn't worth it at all. The host was rude, the server was equally as rude, never offered coffee or drinks, pretty much ignored us. This happened more than one day.

The hotel is about 3 miles from the central station and is near a trolly line. This hotel is outside the main tourist area, it is near the museum district.

Overall it was a good stay, I might have rated the this hotel higher had it not been for the rude restaurant staff.
Would I stay here again, probably not, I might try a bigger name brand. Ok there you have it. Good luck!
I probably would have rated this hotel higher had it not been for the rude employees .

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank relax808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear sir/madam

Thank you for taking the time to remark on your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and our restaurant service was not up to our usual 4-star standards. We would like to apologize for your negative experience.

We very much appreciate your remarks as these allow us to continue improvement.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer
Hotel manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We had a great stay. 2 nights over new years. The room was nice, not huge, but an extremely comfy bed and nicely decorate with a good bathroom.
The staff were friendly and could all speak fluent english (as with most dutch folk), which was a massive help.
Buy a 24hour tram ticket and scan the ticket as you get on and off the tram - this was new to me but works very well.

Our room wasn't ready till 3pm. We arrived at 11am. The hotel looked after our baggage as we dragged our travel tired feet around to local spots.
Room service is pretty pricey. 21 euros for a burger than is nothing to write home about.
We ate in the 'Marina Lounge' as the restaurant was closed during New Year (a LOT of restaurants were).
The food was really really good.
But the service was slow and took too long to clear our plates. The bar doesn't offer much of a variety of drinks.
The staff at the front desk are very helpful if you need anything - taxi's, restaurant bookings etc.


HOWEVER, MASSIVE 'guarantee' amounts taken from my card during my stay. That are going to take days to come back to me.
This is quite unusual to me as the amounts are very large.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Richie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.

We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectation and some of our services were not to your satisfaction. Our sincere apologies for the guarantee, this is part of our standard procedures. We have taken your comment into account in order to improve our level of service and communication towards our guests.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer
Hotel manager Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

The best part of this hotel is the bed - very comfortable which is so important to me. We had a suite so not sure if all the beds are the same. Apart from that the hotel was very average and I did expect better. We have family that live very close by so an ideal place for us to stay. Cost of breakfast and other services are high. I thought the service did let it down and we had to ask for coffee and tea for the room as it was not set out. There were no saches for the coffee machine and it was not particularly clean. It's a pity that it does not seem to be well managed because it has the potential of being very good. We probably will stay there again but only because it is so convenient for visiting our family.

Room Tip: Negotiate the rate before you book and ask to include breakfast. If you prefer having breakfast our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

The room had serious heating issues as it was freezing due to the window not closing properly, I didn't sleep a wink due to the wind noise

Unfortunately I was there for three nights

The curtains were dirty

The bathroom was untidy and had mould

The bath was filthy

Just look at the photos and judge for yourself. Location is cool, staff are nice, my room was just horrible

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mst_Malik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Me and my boyfriend had a excellent stay in the Wyndham Apollo Hotel in Amsterdam. When we arrived, the room wasn't clean yet (no worries, because it was 11.45 am) so our bags where placed in the storeroom (free of charges), we took the Vespa of the hotel and went into the city centre. The Vespa was a lot of fun and easy to use in the busy city centre. After a long day of sightseeing, we arrived back in the hotel and our room was ready. The room was nice, dark purple colours, soft beds and great canal view. Even the ordered bottle of champagne was in the room, together with 2 champagne glasses. It was just great to see that the staff took the effort to make our stay as comfortable as possible.
After freshing up, we had a marvellous dinner in the restaurant. The food was amazing, the wines were great and there was a nice and warm atmosphere in the restaurant. Even the restaurant supervisor Tim was very passionate about his job and showed a great feeling of hospitality.
The check out went quickly and the staff was very friendly and welcoming! We had a AMAZING stay and we will definately come back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MvT188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

It's a very nice place to be. My room had a pleasant view to the canal and I was able to enjoy the time there.

On the other hand it’s quite easy to get to the hotel, especially if you’re coming from the airport (like 15-20 min from Schiphol to Wyndham Apollo).

The problem is the breakfast: be sure the rate that you get it includes the breakfast otherwise you will have to pay it separately and it’s not very cheap.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veve_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#100 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#169 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,760 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
#286 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène or The Harbour Club Kitchen. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing