We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wyndam Apollo Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25%, Book in Advance
Ranked #104 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Wyndam Apollo Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011 via mobile

Good value hotel in real nice area convenient to transport and city centre. Booked through Aer Lingus website, way cheaper than Wyndam website, even phoned them but they would not match price.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your remark on your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. We are very happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay that much! But we do apologize for the fact our prices did not match the ones from Aer Lingus. Thank you for mentioning. This will help us prevent this in the future.

We hope we may welcome you again.

With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    269
    137
    54
    39
See reviews for
71
276
33
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Like many others, I got this hotel from lastminute.com as a 'secret' hotel. It's best to arrive at the South Station from the aiport from where is is a €7.50 taxi ride. We were upgraded to a suite overlooking the canal which was great. Room a little tired but the old furniture has some style. Great beds and lovely bathroom. With a 10 year old, the walk to the Museums was OK, about 15 minutes but really a bit too far from the old centre. Very helpful staff, nice atmosphere

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your remark on your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. We are very happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay that much! But we do apologize for the fact our prices did not match the ones from Aer Lingus. Thank you for mentioning. This will help us prevent this in the future.

We hope we may welcome you again.

With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We booked this hotel through Lastminute.com at £80 a night as a Top Secret Hotel. We were not disappointed. We have booked TSH three times now so were not too worried. We did our research and knew the hotel was not centrally located but had good links into town (about 10/15 mins on the tram). Walking is also possible - about half an hour to the centre. The hotel is about 8/10 mins walk from the museum quarter so that was good for us. Distance from airport - 20 mins on the train to Amsterdam Centraal and then tram ride - 15 mins. Hotel is 5 mins walk from the tram stop, a little less if you are a fast walker!

The hotel looked nice from the outside with views of canals, houses and a Shell petrol station (good for getting waters/drinks/snacks). We arrived at about 10.30am and were told our room would not be available till 2/3pm. We were allowed to check in and our bags put in the safe area so we were free to go into the city and wander around. We came back to the hotel about 4.30pm and were given a room on the 6th floor facing the canal! The room was beautiful. Newly refurbished in lime green/black/white colours. A nice comfy bed, AC, extra blankets & pillows, a mini bar (we were allowed to put our own things into it), flat screen tv, desk, nice clean bathroom with gorgeous toiletries! The windows were nice and big. We were very happy with it. The room was cleaned spotlessly each day.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel as we thought it a little expensive at 22€ pp. You can get reasonable meals at places in the centre (wraps, omelettes, pancakes etc). Restaurants are expensive but there are many fast food/sandwich type places to eat. The average meal is around £16 and we were mostly spending about 25€ for the two of us for lunch and dinner cost us almost 50€! We only had dinner on 2 nights. We opted for brunch and a late lunch instead of 3 meals a day.

We did not have any issues with the service. Receptionists were polite. We drank all the tea/coffee one of the afternoons so next morning we had nothing to drink. I went into the corridors and found a cleaner. Told her we needed some tea/coffee/milk. She handed me a handful of stuff!! No questions asked.

Overall a pleasant stay. On the day we checked out, we kept our luggage at the central station lockers (very secure and safe - about 7€ for 24 hrs for the big locker) so we were free to do things and get back to the station to catch the train to the airport. We enjoyed our trip. Found eating out a little expensive for the qualify of food so be careful where you eat and what.

Lots to see and do and lots of walking so comfy shoes are a MUST. Train from aiport to city costs 3.70€ one way. Try to get a tram pass for 24/48/72h in advance. SOmetimes the drivers claimed they only had 1h cards, which are a rip off!

P.S.// the hotel has a little gym and a Health SPA.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, Manager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your great review on your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. It makes us extremely happy to hear you have enjoyed the hotel that much. Of course we think your comment on the staff is great. We also appreciate your remark on the prices of our breakfast buffet. We will definitely use your comments in our next evaluation.

We hope we may welcome you again.

With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

overall, is a nice hotel.. but the 12 euro(24hour) wireless net sucks big time... It can only view non flash website... if u want to watch eg. youtube, forget about it... the download speed is less than 0.33 m/bit...

Room Tip: 10min walk to van gogh museum. quiet place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

The reviews are fairly accurate. This hotel is nice and generally well run but a little tired and faded. The location is not central but the neighbourhood is a lovely leafy suburb a short distance from the tram lines. The hotel is a short walk of about 300 metres from the Apollolaan/Beethoven junction and 5/24 tramstops. It takes about ten minutes by tram to the centre. The hotel is nicely situated on a canal facing a rowing club. Big clean room and comfortable bed. We went for a wedding anniversary weekend and enjoyed Amsterdam itself. The weather, museums and food were brilliant. Breakfast some 500 yards away is better and about a third the price. Unfortunately on the 2nd night of our stay the tiled panel under the sink fell away onto the floor revealing several burnt spoons and the remains of some drug taking paraphernalia. We reported this to management who came and looked and left this uncleaned overnight. The large panel was not reinstated, remaining a potential hazard, the next day and no effort was made to apologise or make ammends. This blase and laid back attitude to potentially hazardous drug taking gear might be acceptable in Amsterdam but spoiled an otherwise nice room. It made us wonder what else might be lurking elsewhere in the room. If you get this hotel, as we did as a secret room, it is fundamentally good but all extras including internet access are ridiculously overpiced. We were disappointed as the weekend had started well and Amsterdam was at its wonderful best.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamApollo, Hotelmanager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review on your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. We are sorry to hear our hotel did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately the staff lacked service this time, what is not correctly for a four star hotel. We apologize for this extreme inconvenience. Could you please provide us with your contact details? This way we will be able to take measures and find a solution.

We also appreciate your remark on the internet prices as this allows us to improve our level of service.

With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Me and my partner have now stayed at this hotel twice. The last time we visited was about 18 months ago in October 2009. The first time we visited, we had an early morning flight so arrived in Amsterdam at about 9am. We were absolutely shattered and despite knowing that we couldn't check in to the hotel until 3pm, we thought we'd chance it and headed straight there. We caught a taxi at the airport and this will cost you between 40 and 45 euros. It's not bad really as it is about a 20 minute drive from the airport. When we got there, we asked the Receptionist if there was any chance of checking in a bit earlier i.e. maybe about 12ish and we couldn't believe our luck when she said they already had a room sorted for us and could check in straight away, at no extra cost may I add! We didn't have to worry about it this time round though as we opted for an afternoon flight and got to the hotel at 5pm. Each visit has been perfect and I really cannot fault this hotel. Service is brilliant, the reception staff, bar staff, and even the cleaners smile at you and always say 'hello'. They make you feel at home and are always happy to help. The lady in the bar, Mieke, was very friendly and would always tell us to grab a table and she would bring your drinks to you. It's a very clean and modern hotel, the rooms have loads of space and the beds are the comfiest beds I have ever slept in. When I checked out in Oct 09, I even asked the Receptionist where they got their beds from! The only down side is that it is very expensive, as are most hotels to be honest. Me and my Partner never had breakfast at the hotel as it's 12.50 euros just for a couple of croissants and 22.50 euros for a full breakfast. If you wanted room service then it was an extra 10 euros service charge. Therefore we would just venture into the city centre for a bite to eat. As can be expected, the mini-bar in the room is also very expensive i.e. 7 euros for a small pot of mixed nuts and 40 euros for a small bottle of bubbly. There is a Shell Petrol Station just round the corner from the hotel, so we would just get some drinks and snacks from there and keep them in our room. Location of the hotel is good and is situated within a quieter region of the city, therefore ideal for a romantic getaway. It's then just a short tram ride into the centre which costs 2.60 euros per person and this is valid for an hour, so you can hop on and off as many trams as you like within this period. Me and my Partner have had two great stays at this hotel and I would highly recommend to all couples out there who want to experience the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam, but want to wake up and go to sleep in peace. If you want to stay in a hotel closer to the centre, then you have to accept that it is probably going to be noisy in the evenings as there is always lots going on. To sum up, a great hotel with great staff, good location but just a bit on the expensive side.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamApollo, Hotelmanager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to hear you are that enthusiastic about Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. It is really nice to notice you have enjoyed both stays in our hotel. Your remark on our staff makes us extremely happy. We also appreciate your remark on our prices as this allows us to improve our level of service.

We hope we may welcome you again!

With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

me and my partner have just returned from a weekend break in amsterdam. We booked this hotel through 'secret hotel' on lastminute.com, and were disappointed with the location, its a bit far out if you are used to staying in walking disstance of the heart of the city. we didnt have any problems with the hotel, apart from that on arrival to the hotel late at night following a nightmare journey to find the hotel from central station we were advised that they didnt have a room ready for use. To say i was disappointed was an understatement, i had seen prior to my trip that other reviewers had comented on this, however i hoped it would not happen to us, but hey! we were moved to a 5 star hotel near by (in the middle of no where) for the nite and told to return the following day at 12 noon. Once back at the hotel i spoke to a manager, who apologies and provided us with an upgraded room to make up for the hassle. The room we eventually got was really nice, right on the canal with a gorgeous view of the canal. All in all i enjoyed my stay at the hotel , just wish it was a bit closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamApollo, Hotelmanager at Wyndham Apollo, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review on your stay at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam. We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed the hotel and the upgraded room. We are sorry for the inconveniences caused during your first night in Amsterdam, but we are happy to hear you were satisfied with the way the problem has been solved.

We hope we may welcome you again,

Imre Heijboer
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Expedia, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Hotel.de and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.