We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for this room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bronckhorst

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Bronckhorst to your Saves list
Hotel Bronckhorst
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bronckhorststraat 14, 1071 WR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #231 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bursa, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Too expensive for this room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed one night in 17 May , I paid 137,15 € for one night.
The room was too small. There was not any bottle of water avaliable in the room.
The lobby was onlya couple square meters.
It deserves ~70 € according to me, but the price was 137 €.
The location is near to museums but a bit far to station.
The room was clean. The hotel was quiet.
The recepcionist was not smiling.
I prefer to try an other place next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    39
    44
    10
    4
See reviews for
8
35
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Arriving soaking wet & lost - just wanted to sleep.
Put in a room that was sweltering hot (no temperature control, couldn't open any windows since it was on the street level). Tried to go to sleep anyway. However, the room was the one right behind the front desk and there was some Futbol tournament that people were watching and loudly screaming at. Desperate for sleep, I asked if there was another room. Put into the room next to that one. Windows that opened, a lot quieter. Fell asleep. Woke up to some kind of noise. Slept. Woke up to hear something right by my ear munching on something on the nightstand. Turned on the light & scared away a mouse. Back to the front desk to ask for a THIRD room. Got one on the 2nd floor. Slept fine.
If I hadn't had to move into 3 rooms, this would have been a lot better. I'm annoyed they even put someone in that first room behind the desk unless the hotel was totally full.
Other than that the front desk & breakfast room staff were very nice.
Good location if you want to be near the Van Gogh & Rijksmuseum.

Stayed here almost a year ago, but forgot to review. Was reminded as I search for a *different* hotel for this year's trip to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Do not take the room right behind the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good: Maid service, comfortable bed, quiet neighborhood, nearby tram, helpful staff
Bad: Expensive, weak/censored internet, strict rules, bit of a walk from the more happening areas

We booked four nights in Amsterdam for spring break, relatively last minute. Perhaps this is why the room was so expensive. The room was nice - window facing the street, comfortable bed, clean. The neighborhood is mostly residential, clearly wealthy and quite quiet, aside from the nearby tram. Only a few food options nearby, but Vondelpark and the main museums are within walking distance for sure. Part of the sliding door of our shower was broken when we got there, which was annoying, but we managed. Also bring your own soap, they've got that "body & hair" squeeze bottle that cheaper places in Europe love to attach to the shower. Ick.

There's tiny signs around the hotel indicating that anyone caught using drugs will be kicked out and fined 250 euro. This is all fine, except my companion had made a purchase at the Bulldog for the trip and we felt he had to carry it around, or else the maid might find it and charge us even though we followed the rules.

The internet is a free hotspot and is very slow. Additionally, it has a filter on it! I tried to go to, for example, vice magazine's website, and it prevented me. What kind of hotel has a firewall on its internet. I guess they're trying to be kid friendly.

The receptionist was helpful showing us where things were on a map, and our last night another receptionist suggested a restaurant that we ended up liking. You have to ring a bell to go inside, which is a bit annoying but safe I guess.

You can walk to the more central parts of the city, it takes about 30-40 minutes and sucks to do in the cold, but if you're used to walking and the weather is fair it's certainly manageable.

The cab to the airport is no cheaper (and for more than 2 people, more expensive than) the regular cabs, meaning about 40 euro. Take the tram to Centraal Station (2,40euro) and get a train ticket to Schipol (4,40 euro) when leaving.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staff friendly and helpful, all of them speak english and can help with attractions and directions in Amsterdam.
Our room was really large, beds very comfortable, 2 plugs for each person, lights above the bed, bathroom big and clean.

Next to the Museumplain, 5 - 10 minutes walking, and there are many trams stops near the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Booked this hotel for a city break in Amsterdam, price seemed reasonable compared to hotels nearer to the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is a 25 minute tram ride from the city centre but there is a tram stop right outside which is handy, unfortunately though there is not a lot of night time activities or entertainment close by so you'll be heading into town on the tram. The rooms are quite small but were clean and fitted out with a reasonable amount of mod cons, staff were friendly and polite.

All in all reasonable hotel for the price but location from the centre of Amsterdam is a problem is you fancy staggering home after a night out.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Booked this hotel for myself and a friend who had a short stopover in Amsterdam. It is on the tram line from Amsterdam Zuid station and a short walk to the stop for the197 bus to Schipol airport. The small, simply designed, modern rooms were quiet and clean and perfect for sleeping, not for hanging out. Not sure how it would be on a warm day in the summer since it didn't seem like the windows opened very far. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

booked coupled of months ago from SubmarinoViagens. in my trip over Europe I stayed at Bronckhorst for a couple of nights. Staff is OK (the morning girls wasn't so clever, but Ivan was the best: straight-forward and objective: considering a event that happened during my stay, Ivan really aimed to mitigate any inconvenient reported about a door that was left open.

Otherwise I had some issues with this hotel: after check-in I got a card to go to the room. First surprise, room 601, . But you only reach the 5th floor from elevator. What it means? If you're with important luggage, this room will be a disaster (there are 14 steps to get into the room itself). Internet is also tricky. Extremely temperamental the connection and the filters they have in the network are really boring...

Location is OK, for me. Residential zone, very silent. Amazing bed, once you

Room Tip: Try not room 601
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bronckhorst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bronckhorst

Address: Bronckhorststraat 14, 1071 WR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bronckhorst 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bronckhorst is just located zuid part of the city center of amsterdam, few minutes walk distance from the van Gogh museum, Leidseplein and famous shopping street as p.c hooftstraat.with Tram 5 or 24 just in front of hotel, you can get anywhere in the city in 10 minutes.Hotel Bronckhorst all the rooms has free wifi access, flat- screen lcd, desk ,laptop safe, telephone, hairdryer, and privat bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Venere, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bronckhorst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bronckhorst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.