We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pass on the fresh cream!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winkel 43

Winkel 43
Noordermarkt 43, 1015 NA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+3120-6230223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: Diner, Dessert, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Winkel 43 is located on the Noordermarkt. It's in the heart of the Jewish quarter the ‘Jordaan’, which is known for its friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Because of its privileged location you'll be able to enjoy your coffee or lunch on our terrace on sunny days all year round. Winkel opens early in the morning till late at night. In the area our homemade apple pie became a general well known delicacy. Therefore tasting a slice is considered a must.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't pass on the fresh cream!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

A casual family style restaurant in the Jordaan area with the best apple pie. Other dishes looked quite good too but we went there only for the apple pie and it did not disappoint. We asked if we could get it a-la-mode (with ice cream) but they had no ice cream. Instead our waiter suggested trying it with the fresh cream side. I'm so glad we agreed because it was the best combination. The cream was fresh and light ... So different from the US. The pie is a generous slice of a ton of apples baked into a soft crust ... melt in the mouth and with the cream just YUMMY!! We stayed in the Jordaan area and it was a 2 minute walk from our hotel, so very convenient. But I would be willing to walk a mile for this apple pie!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    228
    43
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Flippin good apple pie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Go to this café for a piece of apple pie and a coffee, it's really, really good! It's always pretty busy so you might have to wait for a seat, or get there early. Sharing tables is the done thing at busy times.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Taste of Happiness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Being recommended by the guide book as "THE BEST Appeltaart" in town, we have decided to come and visit. The apple pie did not disappoint us and it was really amazing (probably the BEST apple pie i have EVER had). Also, we have ordered Traditional Dutch Meatball as snack, however, it was not as good as the apple pie did!! so.. I WILL ONLY RECOMMEND and CREDIT FOR THE APPLE PIE!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Apple Pie EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We read the TA raves and decided to go despite a rainy night. We were able to get a seat at the bar upon arrival and the bartender recommended a really good "white beer" that was tasty. We then got a table and considered dinner, but decided to just go with the apple pie. It was huge, hot, creamy, tasty -- shall I go on. It will be the apple pie I judge apple pies on for the rest of my life. My daughter had chocolate mousse because she doesn't like applies (her loss) and hot chocolate and loved it as well. This was a real highlight of a 19 day Europe trip!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Best Appeltaart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great service, comfy outside seats and of course the best appeltaart I ever tried.

The coffee is also very good and it's an easy place to find.

Recommended!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winkel 43 also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Winkel 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winkel 43, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.