We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. wholesome food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winkel 43

Winkel 43
Noordermarkt 43, 1015 NA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+3120-6230223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Bistro, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Winkel 43 is located on the Noordermarkt. It's in the heart of the Jewish quarter the ‘Jordaan’, which is known for its friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Because of its privileged location you'll be able to enjoy your coffee or lunch on our terrace on sunny days all year round. Winkel opens early in the morning till late at night. In the area our homemade apple pie became a general well known delicacy. Therefore tasting a slice is considered a must.
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Good location. wholesome food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Good location near Anne Frank museum . Limited menu on the chalkboard in Dutch. They will happily translate. Very popular with the locals, mainly for after dinner apple pie and coffee. Food was large proportioned and wholesome but short on taste. We had the mixed salad and the chicken in Mediterranean sauce. The fried meatballs Dutch style was great. Apple pie was good but nothing special. Perhaps it was the hype on Tripadvisor that raised my expectations. I would go back for the great atmosphere, very reasonable prices and music but not for the food.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    289
    52
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sevilla
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat apple cake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Good place to eat apple cakes, they were delicious! They're crunchy outside, soft inside. I also ordered a vegetarian club sandwich with pesto, mozzarella and tomato for 6,50€ and they come with a nice salad. I tasted the croquettes and they come with an even better salad!
The waitress was very kind but the service was kinda slow, but that's understandable: the place was full and we could see the cakes coming out of the oven nonstop.
Worth the visit, if you get a sunny day try to eat outside. :)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Fantastic Apple Cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

wonderful afternoon on the terrace at Winkels, eating apple cake and drinking beer, with what seemed like half of Amsterdam, never did manage to get inside for dinner as it was always full, got to say something....

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Amazing apple cake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I make an excellent apple cake that my son requests for his birthday every year - it's that good. When my family tasted Winkel 43's apple pie (this American would call it cake), we were blown away. It's amazing and even better than mine. It's actually so good, that Bill Clinton was there the night before to have their cake!!

Even after spending a day walking all over Amsterdam, we walked the mile back to Winkel from our hotel just to have lunch and more apple cake. Lunch was very good. Not amazing, but certainly not bad at all and a decent value. But the cake was still just as amazing and delicious as the day before.

Don't hesitate, just go to Winkel!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“lovely place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

While 5 days trip, I have been to Winkel43 three times.
The service is quick, and with a smiley faces of warm people
The food was very good as well, the coffee was absolutely the best I had in Amsterdam,
and the apple pie is delicious. one of my best ever.

It's mainly a place that its atmosphere want you to get back there over and over again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winkel 43 also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Winkel 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winkel 43, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.