We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winkel 43

Winkel 43
Noordermarkt 43, 1015 NA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+3120-6230223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 2,531 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: Diner, Dessert, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Winkel 43 is located on the Noordermarkt. It's in the heart of the Jewish quarter the ‘Jordaan’, which is known for its friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Because of its privileged location you'll be able to enjoy your coffee or lunch on our terrace on sunny days all year round. Winkel opens early in the morning till late at night. In the area our homemade apple pie became a general well known delicacy. Therefore tasting a slice is considered a must.
Pacific Palisades, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This has to be on your list of places to try in Amsterdam. I recommend Apple Pie for breakfast or before or after Anne Frank House. It is truly amazing pie. They are also open crazy hours like 8:00 am until 3:00 am too.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    249
    47
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Remarkable Pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We received a recommendation to go for the apple pie which prompted our first visit. Since it was raining the seating inside was full and it is a small space but we managed to find a table. The pie was amazing and the coffee added to our enjoyment. We returned a few days later and had a late afternoon snack. The sun was out so the outside tables were packed but we very much enjoyed the food, service, and vibe. Worth the time to visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Apple pie for breakfast? Yes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

A local family member suggested the Winkel after a morning tour of the Anne Frank Museum (just down the street.) The cafe was crowded. The line to order was long (don't fret, it moves quickly.) The experience was perfect!

Coffee, latte or fresh juice and a slice of pie is the order of the morning. The crew behind the counter does an amazing job serving a massive amount of pie and fresh coffee in a tiny space. They are a well oiled machine!

That should not reduce your expectations. The pie was delicious, the coffee strong and the breakfast wonderful. But then again, why not? You're having pie for breakfast in the middle of Amsterdam!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Confusing service, greattt pie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

After walking around town, we bumped into this place. It had outdoor seating but seemed like everyone was looking for a table. As we stepped in, there was a queue but I had also seen waiters running around, so wasn't sure if we were to wait to be seated or just hunt down a spot. Decided to stay on the queue, placed our order and then just took our tray and sat at the bar.
I ordered the apple pie with no cream, when asked. The girl insisted I should have some and put it in a bowl on the side. I am not a fan of whipped cream so I ignored it, until...my husband dipped a bit in the cream and was wowed! If fact, she was right! It was not a soft super sweet cream like the one we buy in cans. It was homemade and just to die for. Would most definitely go back again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Local Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Wonderful little place in the Jordaan neighborhood. No menus at the table, only the chalkboard. Great variety of dishes that are fresh and local. The pork I had was great and the fish dish I tasted was incredible. And yes, the apple pie is as good as advertised. A must go when in Amsterdam.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winkel 43 also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Winkel 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winkel 43, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.