We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“apple pie is divine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winkel 43

Winkel 43
Noordermarkt 43, 1015 NA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+3120-6230223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 2,460 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Bistro, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Winkel 43 is located on the Noordermarkt. It's in the heart of the Jewish quarter the ‘Jordaan’, which is known for its friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Because of its privileged location you'll be able to enjoy your coffee or lunch on our terrace on sunny days all year round. Winkel opens early in the morning till late at night. In the area our homemade apple pie became a general well known delicacy. Therefore tasting a slice is considered a must.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“apple pie is divine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

it is just perfect, next time i'll try some other desserts, but place is cozy pie and coffee is perfect, best in amsterdam i guess

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    293
    52
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Apple pie with Mint tea....AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

You've gotta go here on a sunny afternoon, sit on the patio and enjoy the amazing apple pie with a cup of fresh mint tea!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic apple pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We visited this coffee shop twice, loved the apple pie and hot chocolate. Very friendly service. Will visit again on our next visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Amazing apple pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This place was recommended by someone who worked in our hotel, and whilst it was quite a walk from where we were staying it was certainly worth the walk. Great service and atmosphere, but the main attraction has to be the amazing apple pie, simply sensational and a very decent portion of it as well!!

We went mid/late afternoon and perfect to chill and relax and do a bit of people watching after a day of exploring. No trip to Amsterdam is complete without a visit to this place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Best apple pie ever! I dream of this regularly...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I used to live in Amsterdam and went here regularly.
Blissful spot -especially when it's sunny and you sit outside and watch the world go by...

Now I am a big lov of apple pies but this one is out of this world. It's wonderful! Delicious! Amazing! I dream of it and miss it...

When you're in Amsterdam, DO go here! Have an appeltaart met slagroom & een koffie verkeerd

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winkel 43 also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Winkel 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winkel 43, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.