We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cafe to go for Appeltart” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winkel 43

Winkel 43
Noordermarkt 43, 1015 NA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+3120-6230223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 2,239 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: Diner, Dessert, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Winkel 43 is located on the Noordermarkt. It's in the heart of the Jewish quarter the ‘Jordaan’, which is known for its friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Because of its privileged location you'll be able to enjoy your coffee or lunch on our terrace on sunny days all year round. Winkel opens early in the morning till late at night. In the area our homemade apple pie became a general well known delicacy. Therefore tasting a slice is considered a must.
london
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“The cafe to go for Appeltart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Delicious appletart, this place is worth visiting for that reason alone. It is one of the best cakes I've ever had - not too sweet, moist, and went beautifully with the cream. Plenty of dutch people in there and it was quite busy for a Thursday lunch time so they must be doing something right! Lovely area too.

The waitresses were decidedly average, we had to get our own menus and ask to be served a couple of times. But as were only having cake and coffee we just didn't leave a tip, no bother.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    335
    164
    33
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful Apple pie and excellent service! The place is small and I had to wait a little, but it was worth it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food and it's true about the pie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

First time in Amsterdam, arrived in the evening and took a stroll to find somewhere to eat, after striking out with no reservation at a few places we passed a little local joint that was buzzing, no English on the menu outside (winkel) we went in and greeted by a friendly guy offering translation before we even spoke. The food was a good standard, fresh and full of flavour, reasonably prices we paid about 34 euros for x2 mains + a small beer each... And a slice of the infamous apple pie! Definitely worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best apple pie in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I visited winkel 43, especially to hunt down the glorified apple pie we had been reading about on trip advisor! It was a beautiful walk through jordaan to find it aswell (my favorite area of Amsterdam) and was pretty easy to find, which is a bonus in itself! The atmosphere of the cafe is really relaxed and welcoming and has a cute decor inside. The waiter gave us enough time to read the menu but was aware we were there and took our orders as soon as he saw we were ready. My boyfriend and I got a coffee and an apple pie with cream each. Oh boy!!! The apple pie was perfectly cooked; sweetly spiced apple pieces, in a moist, buttery cake crust *droool* with a neutralizing cream. Mmmmmm. The coffee there is also really good- best we had in jordaan (and we visited 3-4 well known cafes). I didn't try any other food but highly reccomend winkel for its famous apple pie!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Purdy dang good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I'm a frequent visitor to Amsterdam and this place keeps popping up on my restaurant searches. Finally dropped in early on a Saturday night--the place was heaving but I managed to find a table in the corner. Wasn't sure what to expect because a lot of people were there to drink versus done. Nutshell: phenomenal service even among chaos. I took the waiter's suggestion and had a rustic Dutch meatball stew (even over more interesting gastro pub mains). Whew, you would trade your grandma for this stew straight up. Fresh, savory, perfectly appointed with carrot and turnip laced mashed and a ground mustard so good you would eat it alone. The apple pie lived up to all the other reviews--send grandma's recipe along with her. What a surprise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winkel 43 also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Winkel 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winkel 43, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.