We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appleicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winkel 43

Winkel 43
Noordermarkt 43, 1015 NA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+3120-6230223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 2,444 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: Diner, Dessert, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Winkel 43 is located on the Noordermarkt. It's in the heart of the Jewish quarter the ‘Jordaan’, which is known for its friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Because of its privileged location you'll be able to enjoy your coffee or lunch on our terrace on sunny days all year round. Winkel opens early in the morning till late at night. In the area our homemade apple pie became a general well known delicacy. Therefore tasting a slice is considered a must.
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Appleicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

They really do have the BEST apple pie/strudel in Amsterdam. The cappuccinos pair nicely with it, as does the fresh mint tea. Staff is always friendly and attentive

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    230
    43
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

the applecake is simply and truly amazing. I had to cheat on my diet and have a huge piece. I was devastated when it was finished. Excellent, excellent, excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancogne, Poitou-Charentes, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Applecake ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

On a chilly October day, this was a warm haven where we ate the most splendid Apple cake I have ever tasted. My wife, who hardly ever eats sweet things devoured every crumb of a huge piece of this buttery, crispy, appley delight! Reasonably priced for a city where eating out needs a mortgage.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing prices for mouth watering food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Compared to the restaurants in the area, this restaurant has unbelieveable prices and excellent food. The dinner menu changes every night but this night my husband had ribeye steak and I had the halibut which was to die for. The apple pie is amazing and is apparently well-known around the city.

Service was excellent and even though the menu was in dutch, one of the waiters kindly sat aside and translated it for us. Total bill for 3 people was 52 euros including dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent lunch ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stumbled onto this gem, my wife and I managed to get a delicious lunch with cappuccino and hot chocolate for only 17euros. Food was excellent we were so full we didn't get to try the homemade apple pie, however it looked amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winkel 43 also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Winkel 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winkel 43, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.