We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable apple tart met slagroom!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winkel 43

Winkel 43
Noordermarkt 43, 1015 NA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+3120-6230223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Bistro, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Winkel 43 is located on the Noordermarkt. It's in the heart of the Jewish quarter the ‘Jordaan’, which is known for its friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Because of its privileged location you'll be able to enjoy your coffee or lunch on our terrace on sunny days all year round. Winkel opens early in the morning till late at night. In the area our homemade apple pie became a general well known delicacy. Therefore tasting a slice is considered a must.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Unbeatable apple tart met slagroom!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This apple tart is simply to die for. The 'pastry' is biscuity, the apple, apply and the cream not too much. I've had too many than is good for me, but still......

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    290
    52
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lockerbie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Service was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Service was great and food delicious. Helpful with gluten-free foods, yet not specifically catered for

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent café! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I've got two words for you: "Apple", "Pie". If that sounds promising you may as well close TripAdvisor and head for the Winkel cafe right now. If you require further persuasion I can tell you that the surroundings are very pleasant, the apple pie is scrumptious and they've got a nice mint tea that goes well with it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best apple pie I have tasted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Service wasn't as bad as from what I have read frim the reviews.

Apple pie with whipped cream was delicious. A generous slice costs €3.70.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Service disappointing! Pie was great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We read these reviews prior to our visit to Amsterdam and were very excited to try their apple pie!First of all, this isn't a bakery. It's a café, that just happens to offer apple pie. With all of the reviews about apple pie, we were expecting a bakery. So upon arrival, we were confused, but we sat and ordered a few beers and pie. The service was terrible. The servers were so so rude. The apple pie was delicious though - it was like a mix of pie and cake. I wouldn't get excited about this place though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winkel 43 also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Winkel 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winkel 43, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.