We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Intermezzo Apartment in Amsterdam

Amsterdam
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Risha_f
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good location, fit for a short stay but not in winter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the apartment for a month in Feb-Mar 2013. Unfortunately it was an unusually cold and long winter in Holland and very unfortunately the boiler broke about 3 times during our stay. It seemed that the boiler is shared with the neighbor, who complained his apartment was cold every time we would turn down the thermostat when we'd be out of the apartment. To be fair, all was fixed quickly but it kept breaking down.
The cleaning service is not worth the money they are asking, the cleaners were late or did not come at all and, to be frank, they didn't really do much cleaning. We kept the apartment clean so there was really no need.
Otherwise, good service, great location in a quiet street yet close to the centre and public transport.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Italophil...
SF Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Roomy, clean, quiet,pleasant place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

In spite of having a bit of trouble getting an appointment to check in, we liked this apartment a lot. (Part of the problem was that we were late in notifying them of when we wanted to come, but they were lax in letting us know the time that was possible.). The place was very clean, attractive, and fairly well equipped, including sharp knives in the kitchen, which is a rarity in short-term rentals! We only made breakfast in the apartment, but that was easy to do. It was several long blocks below Museumplein, but we found it easy to get around because of the public transportation running by frequently. Even though it was on a street with plenty of tram and bus service, it was very quiet. We heard very little from other occupants of the place, also. The only drawbacks were common ones in European apartments -- no door on the shower, and poor task lighting in the bathroom and kitchenette. but we would definitely stay there again. Onr thing I liked was that there were plenty of pillows! When we did check in, the agent helped us carry our bags in, which was great. One caveat: there are about 12 steps up to the front door so it is not easy for older or handicapped people to enter.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Overall comfort and quiet.
Liked least: The bed was firmer, and lower, than was comfortable for us as we are elderly.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
floatingw...
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Convenient, comfortable, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

My friend and I were very satisfied with this apartment. It's on a tram and bus route so convenient but also quiet at night. The surrounding area is very attractive - wide streets, lots of trees and plants, little shops and cafes plus the lovely Vondel Park.
The flat is quite well equipped and has a pleasant living room/kitchenette, double bedroom and good size bathroom. The double bed is comfortable as are the sleeper chairs in the living room (mattresses roll out on to proper springs). It's an easy walk to museums and the centre. The local cafes are good and we were lucky to find Tapa Feliz nearby (Valeriusstraat) one night when it rained very heavily.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Size and location
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jewellicu...
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing little apartment by canal and park, loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
5
people found this review helpful

This apartment was beautifully decorated, cozy and had all the amenities we needed for a great stay. With Wifi, a dog park out front, a full kitchen, washer, and even a small porch on the back of the bedroom, we found all the comforts of home here. The apartment is not in the middle of the tourist area, which was a plus for us. It was about 10 minutes from the Dam area. I highly recommend this place for a couple or even up to 3 adults. There are stairs to the apartment, so not good for those with disabilities. However, overall we loved it!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Tigerlily...
Beirut
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what we got”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
6
people found this review helpful

Dirty garbage can, dirty plates, mugs, and cutlery, internet working intermitently, broken dryer door, dusty floors. The location was good and check-in was fast. We would not stay here again.

2 of 5 stars Value 2 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Elgador
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“I felt at home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011 for a stay in June 2010
8
people found this review helpful

This solidifies my theory of renting apartments instead of staying in a hotel. I felt like a local because I got to shop at the nearby market and cook meals. The place had all the necessary supplies. I loved the tub and the bedroom. It was a spacious apartment. While it was not very central, there is a splendid park close by plus the Tram ran directly in front. I thought the information they provided was wondeful...I just wish I had stayed longer! Amsterdam is a beautiful city and this apartment complimented my experience...

4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$166
/ Night
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Amsterdam City Apartments
Speaks English, German, Dutch
listed since : Mar 2010
Calendar Updated: 6 days ago
Note: Response rate information for this owner is unavailable.
$10,000 Peace of Mind Guarantee
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing