We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe

Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe
Lange Leidsedwarsstraat 82, 1017NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020-6200982
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #356 of 2,542 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent food and service. Very busy with a great atmosphere and very friendly staff. Good house wine.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    78
    20
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Traditional Dutch Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The atmosphere was that of a traditional Dutch Cafe. The food was also traditional and was good although nothing exceptional. We both had fish (seemingly quite difficult to find in Amsterdam). The pair of soles were quite small and you had to work hard to get something from them. I had salmon which was a little over cooked. Service was good and the staff friendly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Visited the restaurant as a single and made to feel very welcome.Service was very quick and efficient and the food was spot on,and was very well priced for Amsterdam.I would visit again the next time I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value and got atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A friendly setting although a bit crowded because it's a small restaurant. The food is of good quality and the service is friendly. It's a typical Dutch eatery that serves pub food and some typical Dutch dishes and starters. I especially like their Thai Salad, a spicy noodle salad with beef. Their main meat dishes are right up my alley as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This a smallish restaurant in a street full of them and you have to run the gauntlet of people trying to entice you into their places.

We received a friendly welcome and were shown to a table outside which was nice on a very warm evening. There is an extensive menu and competively priced. The service in general was very good & helpful.

We enjoyed our meal here but have to say we had better during our trip. We didn't think the portions were as large as previously claimed and the lamb I had was a little overcooked for my taste. But overall it was good and value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.