We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe

Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe
Lange Leidsedwarsstraat 82, 1017NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020-6200982
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #220 of 2,459 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Lansing, Mi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We found this restaurant using trip advisor. It was quite small and we found two seats at the bar. I got the special which was chicken on top of pesto and came with a salad. It was a ton of food and very reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    67
    17
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food if you have a big appetite ?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Regular visitors to Amsterdam and always visit s & s.
staff friendly and welcoming. Always busy while most around are empty.
A little bit cramped for room but the food is great.
Only tackle the ribs if you are particularly hungry. I struggle to finish which is unusual for me!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, fair price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A nice small restaurant with a good service. Don't miss it is you are nearby Leidseplein square. A meat or fish main-course you won't regret. My favorite spare ribs and boiled mussels.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Great Dutch food at a great price - a good alternative the flashing bar and restaurants around this area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We wanted to try some traditional dutch food - not really knowing what this what. The reviews looked good and this restaurant didn't have flashing lights or someone hounding us to go in. It was busy with both tourists and locals.
The food was delicious - dutch pea soups and probably the best beef capaccio I have ever had to start. Followed by the dutch beef steak and the house burger - both great options. We finished off with the apple pie which we had wanted to try earlir in the day - like an apple cakeif you've not tried it.
The waiter and waitress were delightful, offering advice and recommendations.
If you like your wine - be warned there is 2 choies for white and 2 red. Luckily the savvy B we chose was a good option for us - but if you are fussy you may be disappointed witht the lack of choice.
We would eat here if we revisited the A'dam in the future. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Heeeeerlijk / wonderfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

A good meal for a great price with very nice service! If you want to diner good, for a good price in a nice ambiance, go to stoop&stoop! Dinner is between 13 and 25 euros p.p. Including starter!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.