We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dutch food at a great price - a good alternative the flashing bar and restaurants around this area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe

Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe
Lange Leidsedwarsstraat 82, 1017NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020-6200982
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #249 of 2,274 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Great Dutch food at a great price - a good alternative the flashing bar and restaurants around this area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We wanted to try some traditional dutch food - not really knowing what this what. The reviews looked good and this restaurant didn't have flashing lights or someone hounding us to go in. It was busy with both tourists and locals.
The food was delicious - dutch pea soups and probably the best beef capaccio I have ever had to start. Followed by the dutch beef steak and the house burger - both great options. We finished off with the apple pie which we had wanted to try earlir in the day - like an apple cakeif you've not tried it.
The waiter and waitress were delightful, offering advice and recommendations.
If you like your wine - be warned there is 2 choies for white and 2 red. Luckily the savvy B we chose was a good option for us - but if you are fussy you may be disappointed witht the lack of choice.
We would eat here if we revisited the A'dam in the future. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    64
    45
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Heeeeerlijk / wonderfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

A good meal for a great price with very nice service! If you want to diner good, for a good price in a nice ambiance, go to stoop&stoop! Dinner is between 13 and 25 euros p.p. Including starter!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our hotel recommended Stoop & Stoop for the general ambience, great food and reasonable prices - she was correct on 2 points. The place is smallish, dark and busy, giving the place a buzzing but chilled atmosphere. The service was excellent, attentive and friendly.

Unfortunately the food is only average though the menu offers a good selection. My partner started with bitteballen, which is traditional Dutch deep fried balls filled with meat and potatoes but they did not taste of much. My pasta with salmon, courgettes and cream was okay as was my partner's steak. The chocolate mousse was equally ok.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Above average restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were in the area & decided to have our dinner there after checking out reviews on Tripadvisor.
Managed to score indoor seats & I must say, the place was really bustling. There were quite a number of locals dining there in addition to the tourists.

The service staff were really welcoming & I could feel the Dutch hospitality. Place is a little too noisy for a quiet conversation. Our orders were somehow lost hence our food arrived only 40minutes later.

I had the salmon & the Mister, the Dutch steak. The food was not bad but not outstanding.
All in all, a decent restaurant to visit whilst in the area compared to the numerous tourist traps around.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We asked a friendly gentleman at the Van Gogh museum to reccomend a reasonable, local place for dinner. He reccommended Stoop & Stoop and we were so impressed by this place. Small restaurant but very friendly, efficient service and AMAZING food. It was our best meal in Amsterdam!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.