We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heeeeerlijk / wonderfull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe

Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe
Lange Leidsedwarsstraat 82, 1017NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
020-6200982
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #308 of 2,486 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Heeeeerlijk / wonderfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

A good meal for a great price with very nice service! If you want to diner good, for a good price in a nice ambiance, go to stoop&stoop! Dinner is between 13 and 25 euros p.p. Including starter!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    60
    17
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our hotel recommended Stoop & Stoop for the general ambience, great food and reasonable prices - she was correct on 2 points. The place is smallish, dark and busy, giving the place a buzzing but chilled atmosphere. The service was excellent, attentive and friendly.

Unfortunately the food is only average though the menu offers a good selection. My partner started with bitteballen, which is traditional Dutch deep fried balls filled with meat and potatoes but they did not taste of much. My pasta with salmon, courgettes and cream was okay as was my partner's steak. The chocolate mousse was equally ok.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Above average restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were in the area & decided to have our dinner there after checking out reviews on Tripadvisor.
Managed to score indoor seats & I must say, the place was really bustling. There were quite a number of locals dining there in addition to the tourists.

The service staff were really welcoming & I could feel the Dutch hospitality. Place is a little too noisy for a quiet conversation. Our orders were somehow lost hence our food arrived only 40minutes later.

I had the salmon & the Mister, the Dutch steak. The food was not bad but not outstanding.
All in all, a decent restaurant to visit whilst in the area compared to the numerous tourist traps around.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We asked a friendly gentleman at the Van Gogh museum to reccomend a reasonable, local place for dinner. He reccommended Stoop & Stoop and we were so impressed by this place. Small restaurant but very friendly, efficient service and AMAZING food. It was our best meal in Amsterdam!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luttre
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A nice "eetcafé"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We wanted to test and Amsterdam’s eetcafé and have opted for this place. This was a good choice. The place is small, with dimmed lights and a little bit noisy but as it is an "eetcafé", this is what you should expect. However, the personnel was very helpful and friendly. They helped us with our poor Dutch skills to make the right choice amongst the limited options of dishes and drinks menu. However, you can eat either traditional dishes or typical Dutch ones for a good price in the centre of Amsterdam. Food was good and quality was OK while quantity was large. Will probably taste an other eetcafé next time but this one was a very good first choice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoop & Stoop Eetcafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.