We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, beautiful spa, very handy to the Rai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spa Sport Hotel Zuiver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Spa Sport Hotel Zuiver to your Saves list
Spa Sport Hotel Zuiver
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Koenenkade 8 (Amsterdam Forest), 1081 KH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel, beautiful spa, very handy to the Rai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is a pretty good hotel. I was there on business so didn't spend too long in it however i did find it to be warm and welcoming.

Predominantly it is a spa & sports centre with a hotel bolted on!!

It is a 10 minute walk alongside the water to the metro and then 1 stop to the rai and about 10-15mins on public transport to the airport. Taxi to Dam Sq was about 20 Euro and the bus is about 3 and it stops just down from the hotel.

Rooms clean, spacious enough with a very nice walk in rain shower....bed very comfortable.
Spa is very good indeed, selection of saunas, steam rooms etc very good.
Food i cannot comment on as i didn't eat in the hotel at all.

Very nice local pub down the road called 1880 does a very very good steak, it can be difficult to order though as no one speaks English!! De veranda is not bad, its just beside the hotel. Beware if you get in late on Sunday night, it is hard to get fed!!! Everywhere to eat close to the hotel seems to close at 1930!

All in all a very good spot for not much money, will definitely be taking the Wife next time!!

Room Tip: I would try and request first floor. If you go on the ground, everyone who walks to the spa can look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    36
    15
    2
    8
See reviews for
8
36
5
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Okay so I'm a big fan of the spa and visit whenever in Amsterdam which is unparalleled in the large "spa experience" category so on my last visit I thought I would just come right from the airport after an overseas flight, check in and spend the day in the sauna to beat the jet lag, which worked like a charm. I stayed here for one night and then continued on to central Amstersdam the next day for my business trip and stayed there. Another reviewer put it very accurately in that the hotel is kind of like a spa with a hotel, rather than a hotel with a spa. The hotel is definitely an add-on and takes second stage to the large athletic centre which is patronized obviously by monthly members who work/live nearby, and the spa visitors - most of who look like they are monthly members as well. It kind of feels like you are staying at the gym since you open the main door to the hotel rooms and 10 feet away is a tennis court or a squash court entrance.
The room I had was a basic one - small room, but nice comforter on the bed, nice bathroom - no complaints but definitely not luxurious. The common area is either the spa restaurant, the spa lounge area upstairs, or a restaurant attached to the athletic complex - no real lobby, so the common areas are a bit lacking.
It definitely is not a great choice if you are doing the tourist thing in the central area of historic Amsterstam since you're looking at a pricey taxi ride, or an inexpensive - about 2 euro bus ride, but it takes about 25-30 min to Central Station. From an accomodation basis, this is best suited if you want to binge at the spa over two days and then stay overnight or if need some accomodation near the business area nearby, you could do worse on accomodation. Don't waste your time in the rooms anyways - there is like seven different saunas to experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our second visit to the spa and hotel. We spent 4 nights relaxing and unwinding. We were really pleased to see the hotel and spa facilities had not deteriorated in the 3 years since we were last there. The hotel room was clean and tidy and the spa had worn very well. Our only complaint would be with the upstairs bar/snack area. It is based on a waiter/ess service so you find a comfy chair and wait. Sometimes you wait far too long and the bar staff, especially the males and including the head waiter just seem to muck about and we are left waiting. Come on spa zuiver, if you want to take some serious money and serve your customers promptly, train them again. You are missing a trick. Apart from that everything was great. The food was very good and the saunas and spas were lovely.
We'll definitely be back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed with this hotel. We booked this as a treat after new year to help relax before heading back to the UK, big mistake. It was just like staying at your local leisure centre!! The Spa facilities were good but the amount of hidden costs made this very pricey. The staff are happy to give you stuff but never tell you there is a charge at the end. The food was very average as well. Fortunately there is a beautiful little restaurant (not part of the hotel) called De Veranda at the road entrance to the hotel that I highly recommend. The staff at reception seemed more concerned that they looked good than helping the customers. The rooms are pretty basic for the price, and the hotel we had in Amsterdam City Centre (at half the price), was a much better experience.
Certainly wouldn't be coming back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is more like a spa with a hotel than hotel with a spa. Nevertheless it’s avery good place to stay. Nice and clean rooms, good service, decent food, and amazing spa. Its away from the city but public transport is available from a close by place although it is not very easy to commute to city too many times. This can be problematic but can also serve an advantage. It is close to a river and the scenery around the place is too good. I enjoyed staying here and would like to book the same hotel for a perfect balance between city life and enjoying nature.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijnsaterwoude
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The spa is very good: multiple finish saunas, with löyly/aufguss every hour, then color, music, hearth saunas, cold and warm rooms, scented baths, showers, an OK garden, swimming pool indoors leading to outdoors, hot tubs. There is a fine restaurant, and nice relax rooms. It's not so big, so you can't lose one another. The lunch buffet is nice and good value. The prices are reasonable in comparison. So there's really nothing wrong with it - you can have a very nice day here.
What's not perfect? It's right on the edge of Amsterdam, so planes fly over and the air quality is not great. Paid parking is extra, the restaurant lacks atmosphere, and there aren't any sauna/bath types you don't see in all other saunas.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Overall I can not find a single bad thing to say. Not even the slightest, so it must be a five star rating.
The hotel itself looks very nice and mordern at so does the rooms. Check-in was fast and smooth and whenever we needed help from the staff during the stay they always went out of their way to help us with finding the right busses, places etc.
The free sport, pool and spa is very nice. Specially the spa is a must do if you stay and also here the staff is very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located about a little out of town but it only took about 15 minutes to downtown with the bus right next to the hotel (2 euro). It is also only about 20minutes busride from the airport (4 euro).

It is possible (we did) to walk to the Amsterdam Expo in about 25-30min but hard to get to with public transportation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spa Sport Hotel Zuiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Sport Hotel Zuiver

Address: Koenenkade 8 (Amsterdam Forest), 1081 KH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spa Sport Hotel Zuiver 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Spa Sport Hotel Zuiver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spa Sport Hotel Zuiver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.