We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful in a great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Floris France Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Floris France Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Kolk 11, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #289 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful in a great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Was a bit apprehensive, having read previous bad reviews, but we enjoyed our stay. Yes, the rooms were basic, but had all we needed - bed, shower and toilet, hairdryer, tv, free wifi and air-con ( a must since we visited in a heatwave). Our room was clean and towels etc changed daily. Central location was amazing - within walking distance of most museums and attractions. Breakfast served in the adjoining Irish bar was plentiful and dinner menu was very good too. Staff pleasant and helpful. If you want luxury don't stay here, but if you want no frills accommodation then this fits the bill nicely.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    97
    140
    87
    110
See reviews for
38
177
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Don't be taken in by the good looking pictures on their website. The reception area looks great in person, but very few of the rooms look anything like they do on the website. We requested 2 double rooms opposite or next to each other (not a difficult request when you book months in advance), instead they gave us 2 triple rooms on different floors. We were told there'd be a kettle in the room, there wasn't and when they gave us one it used an American style plug in a European room?! Safe to say that was unusable. Obviously these are minor points - the biggest point is that the room was uncomfortable and aesthetically un-pleasing. It's ok if you're a backpacker or if you literally only need a place to rest your head, but it's the kind of place that makes you want to spend as little time in it as possible. Our "double" bed was just two single beds pushed together, which for a couple was not what we wanted or what we booked.

On a positive note, the included breakfast in the pub next door was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The sheets were stained, the pillow smelled, the window curtains were broken and didn't even extend all the way to the window sill so the sun poured in at dawn. The air conditioning vent had no cover, the bathroom just looked stained in general. I didn't even want to unpack my clothes to put them in the cabinet/dresser provided because I was afraid of what would infest into them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed here for New Years, place is very run down, location is central (only positive thing), the room we had felt like a storage press, no window in our room and was very disappointing as there was excellent displays of fire works going off all NY night, decor dated and bed and wardrobe of poor quality. The bathroom was very small, toilet was terrible, think it was meant to have been white at some stage! Wifi would not work!! Would not go back here again and would not recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Hotel was cheap so could not complain but room was dirty and very outdated the bathroom stunk of urine (not nice) didn't even go in the bed as I did not feel clean. Staff were friendly and breakfast next door was nice would not go back sorry hotel France

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Allthough the revieuw I have been reading were bad the hotel was ok for me
Excellent location breakfast included in the next door Nice Irish pub
The quality of the towels were very very poor The curtains in the room I stayed were too small for the window so I was woken up by the day light at 4.30 in the morning.

Room Tip: If you are a solo traveller ask for room 411 at least it is in the topfloor looking on the top of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Floris France Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Kolk 11, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Floris France Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
France Hotel is located on a quiet canal street and yet only 200 meters from Amsterdam Central Station. The hotel has an adjoining restaurant and Irish pub. The rooms have air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and a private bathroom. A breakfast buffet is served daily in the restaurant and pub. When weather is nice, guests can sit on the small, waterside terrace. During the day, guests can get snacks and drinks from the vending machines in the lobby. The internet computer can be used against a small fee. From France Hotel, you can take a 10-minute walk to Dam Square and go shopping in the Kalverstraat. The Red Light District is a 5-minute walk away. Trams 5, 16 and 24 at the station offer direct access to the Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Floris France Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floris France Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.