We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep looking..” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Floris France Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Floris France Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Kolk 11, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #298 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Keep looking..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Wish I read the reviews before I stayed here. Got a deal on Booking.com for a good price but it was SO not worth the savings. My pillow stunk like sweat and the bathroom had some freaky looking mould in the vent. Felt very unclean staying here. Would have complained to staff but they were so rude already that I didn't feel comfortable with giving them any feedback or asking for a new pillow or a different room.

Don't stay here.. Keep looking!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    109
    169
    104
    132
See reviews for
53
202
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have waited 24 hours after checking out to write this review, to allow some objectivity to appear.I think it is easier to comment in list form.
1. The photos on the hotel website are almost totally staged.
2.The "Foyer" is an area about 15 feet square with grotty old furniture and carpet on the floor that is threadbare and filthy.
3. To access the lift one has to climb half a dozen stairs.
4. There is only ever one staff member on duty and he/she is usually tucked away behind the desk oblivious to any goings on around them. You carry your own bags up and down these stairs.
5. Once in the lift you are confronted again by the grotty condition. The walls of the lift have graffiti scratched into them. The floor is badly stained.
6. The lift takes you to your floor - 3 - in our case. Once again the carpet on the hall floor is stained and old.
7. Entering the room one is met by a smell of mustiness. There is no carpet on the floor - cheap timber panel flooring. There are 2 windows. Both frosted glass. The first is tucked away behind the very old laminated timber wardrobe and allows minimal light into the room. It doesn't open. The second is high above the bed. Upon climbing on the bed to open it, I found that the window sill was covered, and I mean covered, with mouse droppings. I don't think it had been cleaned since the last time it was painted, and from the look of things that was a long time ago. At least that window, which was about 4ft long by 1ft wide, would open. That let some fresh air into the room. At night we discovered that the curtain, note singular, over each window, was not wide enough to block out the light. It was obvious that each window originally had a 2 part curtain, but somewhere along the line one from each had disappeared and not been replaced. Given that the daylight at this time of the year extends late into the night, that became a major problem.
8. The bedding was clean, but the pillows were very old and I was afraid to remove the pillow slips for fear of what I might find.
9. The bathroom was clean, but the door leading into it was in dire need of a coat of paint. The vent on the bottom of the door was filthy.
10. We laughed when we saw the vending machine in the foyer, supposedly to provide snacks for residents 24 hours a day. For the first 48 hours we were there, it contained 5 Mars bars.
11. The hotel fronts onto one of the many canals in the area and clearly a few of the rooms have a view over the canal - ours didn't. But, just like the rest of this part of Amsterdam that footpath/cycle way is strewn with cigarette butts and other debris. The hotel makes no attempt to clean up the relatively small area of its frontage.
12. The only area I could give a pass mark to is the breakfast. Although basic, it is adequate. And the fact that it is provided in the pub next door means that the place is clean.
In summary, whoever in Holland gave this hotel a 3 star rating was obviously on the same committee that allocated the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

After I keep looking for hostel or low price hotel for 3 hours I couldn't find any place to sleep and when it comes 3 am I been under rain and homeless even after I checked all hotels around except 5 starts hotels because it was out of my budget then I found that place and luckily I found one room with 55 euro and also they offer me break fast and it was great night there

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

To start wth the positive things, location is really good.Everything is in walking distance. Breakfast is in the next door Irish pub and was very good. The girl at the front desk was kind and helpful.On the negative side, price we paid for the room was too high for its quality. The room was small, not cleaned well and no windows,old stains from water leaks in the bathroom.Having in mind the location of the hotel it's a waste owners don't improve its quality.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Having stayed at this hotel before I knew what to expect, therefore I booked a Canal view room, and it was worth it, the room is bigger than the other rooms and you actually see something out of the window besides a brick wall. True the hotel desperately needs some refurbishment, everything is quite old and worn down, but then again the location is superb and the next door irish pub "Molly Malone " is just great, the breakfast is sufficient so are the meals they serve during the day.
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: book a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night while on a business visit, if I was with my wife we would have gone to another hotel and ask for a refund. The room was filthy including the sheets and in very bad repair with the curtains falling down and water stains on the ceiling. The worse thing is as there were bed bugs. I only spotted them in the morning otherwise I would not have stayed the night. The breakfast was very poor. When I complained to reception about the bed bugs all they said was that it was terrible. The only good thing was the canal view.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

A return visit to this hotel which is reasonably priced and in an excellent location. when booking a room pay the extra for a canal view. The location is why this hotel should be considered, Near the railway station, major tram lines and easy walking distance to the main shopping area and landmarks. The room was average, yes it was not sparking clean and could have done with a make over, but it is what it is. The pub next door Molly Malones serves good breakfast on behalf of the hotel. Use this hotel if having a short city break.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#144 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
#241 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 970 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#140 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Falcon Plaza Hotel
Falcon Plaza Hotel
#282 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#115 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Prinsen Hotel
#225 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floris France Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Kolk 11, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Floris France Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
France Hotel is located on a quiet canal street and yet only 200 meters from Amsterdam Central Station. The hotel has an adjoining restaurant and Irish pub. The rooms have air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and a private bathroom. A breakfast buffet is served daily in the restaurant and pub. When weather is nice, guests can sit on the small, waterside terrace. During the day, guests can get snacks and drinks from the vending machines in the lobby. The internet computer can be used against a small fee. From France Hotel, you can take a 10-minute walk to Dam Square and go shopping in the Kalverstraat. The Red Light District is a 5-minute walk away. Trams 5, 16 and 24 at the station offer direct access to the Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Floris France Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floris France Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.