We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a reef” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Floris France Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Floris France Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Kolk 11, Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #290 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a reef”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hotel very basic..breakfast next door in the irish bar was typical english apart from no sausage.the location was perfect for anyone wanting the full amsterdam experience. The red light district 3 minute walk and dam square about 10mins. All the museums are right at your door step prity much. I recommend visiting artis zoo brilliant 20minute walk ask for directions the dutch people very friendly and always willing to help. As u arrive in airport I would recommend getting train to Amsterdam.the train station is under the airport. its only 4 euro and hotel 2mins walk from train station. Me and husband had a fantastic time. Watch out for anyone trying to give u a lift in a taxi its expensive about 60 euros. Unfortunately this happened to us. P.s Amsterdam is very very expensive for everything

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    98
    140
    87
    110
See reviews for
39
177
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Constanta, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in august 2013 for 2 nights. Great hotel, perfect view – canal view.. And very nice breakfast – at the canal. It’s situated near the Central Station, so it’s very easy to find and close to most of the tourist attractions. All in all, if I will visit Amsterdam ever again, I will choose to be accommodated here one more time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stay in hotels weekly with my work (never anything expensive) and I go on roughly 4 holidays abroad a year. I have NEVER been in a hotel more disgusting & unclean than this place.
The trip was a present from our family, and we were booked in for 3 nights. We arrived late on the Friday, so after being greeted by a half eaten take-away in the middle of the lobby and a receptionist who was more interested in the 'date' she had standing waiting, we went to our ridiculously small double room - that cost extra, where the bed was pushed up against the wall and didn't even have a lamp.
The room was disgusting and looked like it had not been cleaned for months. There was mascara on the pillows, dirt all over the walls, small colony of insects growing around the aircon (that didnt work) The shower would have left me more dirty after being in it.
I spent the night sleeping on top of the bed, wrapped in the clothes I had travelled in for fear of catching bedbugs. I was also woken every 30 mins or so by doors slamming and various parties in rooms.
The reception was a joke, and couldn't be more unhelpful if there was no-one there. The hotel also had the feel of a very bad backpackers hostel and attracts a similar clientele. Fine if you've paid hostel rates but this hotel costs more per nights than some 5 star hotels i've stayed in.
The following morning we paid to go and stay in another hotel for the remaining 2 nights.
My only advice with this hotel is DONT GO!!! If I could give it a minus rating I would.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed here in March of this year and in all fairness this hotel probably has one of the best locations you could wish for. On a quiet pedestrianized canal, so no cars etc to worry about.
The prices can be hit & miss, but are mostly fair enough for the location, though I would class this more as a very good 2 star hotel, and not as a 3 star hotel. This simply because the rooms are small and somewhat outdated.

Quaint view on the water from the pub Molly Malone's next door, which is also where the breakfast is served. The breakfast was great and set me up for a day of work and pleasure.

Would stay again, if only to have another few drinks on the terrace outside and see the boats pass by in the afternoon sun!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our initial impressions were not good, and the room was enclosed with internal windows. However we soon discovered the positive aspects of this hotel:

1. Brilliant location in the city centre.
2. An excellent breakfast served in the adjoining pub.
3. A hot shower that blasts out hot water.
4. Multi-national digital TV.
5. A spacious room that was reasonably clean.

Excellent value as a 2 star hotel, a bit too tired to be graded 3 star.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is in a great location and only a 5 minute walk from central station. But it took us 2 hours to actually find the hotel because the locals didn't seem to know where the hotel was either as the address on the internet was incorrect. For 3 star we found our rooms pretty basic but the rooms were clean and the breakfast was lovely so that made up for it. Reasonably priced and friendly staff. However their website is a little deceiving. They show pictures of luxurious rooms but these are only the doubles, single rooms are not like these. Overall. I would defiantly stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at Floris France. Had a double room that overlooked canal. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful & pleasant. Breakfast at Molly Malones was great & set us up for the day. Location was perfect. Would definitely stay there again & would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Floris France Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Kolk 11, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Floris France Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
France Hotel is located on a quiet canal street and yet only 200 meters from Amsterdam Central Station. The hotel has an adjoining restaurant and Irish pub. The rooms have air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and a private bathroom. A breakfast buffet is served daily in the restaurant and pub. When weather is nice, guests can sit on the small, waterside terrace. During the day, guests can get snacks and drinks from the vending machines in the lobby. The internet computer can be used against a small fee. From France Hotel, you can take a 10-minute walk to Dam Square and go shopping in the Kalverstraat. The Red Light District is a 5-minute walk away. Trams 5, 16 and 24 at the station offer direct access to the Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Floris France Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floris France Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.