We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Floris France Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Floris France Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Kolk 11, Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #291 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Hotel 'is what it is'. Good value. Excellent location near to the railway station and main attractions. Good breakfast next door in Molly Malone's Irish pub. The rooms are basic, and half do not have a view as they are enclosed within the building. Excellent transport links. There are better hotels in the area, but are more expensive. well worth using this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and book a room at the front or rear with a view of the canals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    107
    157
    100
    124
See reviews for
50
194
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salfords, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night in August 2013. Really good location, near pubs shops restaurants coffeeshops, but just down the street where there isnt anything else with it so very quiet. Best bit is that one of the canals is right out of the front of it. Had a lovely breakfast in the morning and sat on the chairs right next to the canal it was so nice! Rooms are basic but okay as its a city you tend to not spend alot of time in your room anyway, but it was clean most importantly. Breakfast really good, open buffet with the yummiest bacon and eggs!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heslington, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

All we were after was a place to put our heads down for the night, so this hotel was spot on. The location is fantastic, and one of the members of staff proved to be incredibly helpful when I realised I'd booked us in for the wrong night...
The place itself is admittedly a bit run down and could definitely do with some TLC. However, from our experience, these are just aesthetic problems - we had no hygiene issues (or bedbugs!), though we were reluctant to use the hairdryer covered in tape(!) Breakfast is next door in an Irish Pub with a decent amount to choose from for food & drink. If all you need is somewhere to keep your stuff and get some sleep and be 5 minutes walk from both the station and Dam Square, I would very much recommend here.

Room Tip: It is possible to get a canal view, though we found off the canal was very quiet. There is consequen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Location is good and the front desk staff was friendly in the evening (not at all in the morning). The corridor had a patch paint job in a different shade of white, which should have been my first hint to run. The room was small and shabby - furniture was scratched and the bed had someone else's hair in it. The bathroom smelled like urine.

After a while of watching tv I noticed something moving on the wall... upon closer inspection I saw it was a bedbug - and there were two of them. Absolutely unacceptable! I then got at least one set of bites... I wish we had forked out the extra money for somewhere that wasn't infested. Just awful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed at the France Hotel with a friend in October, and we were happy with the hotel over all.

This hotel's asset is it's location. Its a really good location for the price you pay as most hotels in the centre tend to be more pricey. This hotel is a short walk from the red light district and the central station, and is right round the corner from the voyager, grand central etc and not too far from dam square.

The hotel also provides a breakfast in the Irish pub next door, which was a nice enough breakfast. Selection of bacon ( too salty for me ) , egg, continental meats , cereal and fresh tea and coffee. The staff in the hotel were pleasant and let us keep our luggage at the hotel before and after check in so we didnt have to lug it around which was really helpful.

My only negative, and the reason i only gave 3 stars instead of 4 was the rooms. I paid for a twin room and on arrival I was sent to the basement room , not only did it have no windows but there was a generator for the ENTIRE hotel in the room we were given and the god foraken thing kept me awake for the night, despite me being told it was turned off at night. I can assure you the thing is on all night. I was not happy as I did not select a room without a window when I booked, and complained as was moved for the remaining two days into a room with a window and minus a generator. Rooms were still a bit naff, bathrooms look a bit dated and hostel ish.

I would recommend this hotel for its location, and is great for travelling with friends. I wouldnt say it a couples or family place, purely as its not the most comfortable or buggest places. Decent enough though, enjoyed my stay bar the issue with the rooms

Room Tip: make sure you have a room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I have been to this hotel several times over the years and like the central location of it. Its across the street from the Central Train Station and around the block from the Red Light District. There are many restaurants just off to the side and you even get breakfast in Molly Malones downstairs. The breakfast is really good since its a hot breakfast. Sight seeing is very easy with this central location and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The hotel was updated recently and the rooms are relatively new in decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed 5nights at this hotel between 9th december - 14th. On our first night at room 302 we found bed bug in our room and they changed our room immediatly. The location of the hotel is perfect. They have free wifi. The elevator is so slow that you spend almost 3/4 of your holiday in it. it takes centuries to go upstairs or go downstairs with it. The rooms have small window like a prison cell.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Floris France Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Kolk 11, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Floris France Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
France Hotel is located on a quiet canal street and yet only 200 meters from Amsterdam Central Station. The hotel has an adjoining restaurant and Irish pub. The rooms have air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and a private bathroom. A breakfast buffet is served daily in the restaurant and pub. When weather is nice, guests can sit on the small, waterside terrace. During the day, guests can get snacks and drinks from the vending machines in the lobby. The internet computer can be used against a small fee. From France Hotel, you can take a 10-minute walk to Dam Square and go shopping in the Kalverstraat. The Red Light District is a 5-minute walk away. Trams 5, 16 and 24 at the station offer direct access to the Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Floris France Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floris France Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.