We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & Helpful staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Floris France Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Floris France Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Kolk 11, Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #291 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Heslington, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location & Helpful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

All we were after was a place to put our heads down for the night, so this hotel was spot on. The location is fantastic, and one of the members of staff proved to be incredibly helpful when I realised I'd booked us in for the wrong night...
The place itself is admittedly a bit run down and could definitely do with some TLC. However, from our experience, these are just aesthetic problems - we had no hygiene issues (or bedbugs!), though we were reluctant to use the hairdryer covered in tape(!) Breakfast is next door in an Irish Pub with a decent amount to choose from for food & drink. If all you need is somewhere to keep your stuff and get some sleep and be 5 minutes walk from both the station and Dam Square, I would very much recommend here.

Room Tip: It is possible to get a canal view, though we found off the canal was very quiet. There is consequen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    101
    146
    91
    115
See reviews for
43
181
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Location is good and the front desk staff was friendly in the evening (not at all in the morning). The corridor had a patch paint job in a different shade of white, which should have been my first hint to run. The room was small and shabby - furniture was scratched and the bed had someone else's hair in it. The bathroom smelled like urine.

After a while of watching tv I noticed something moving on the wall... upon closer inspection I saw it was a bedbug - and there were two of them. Absolutely unacceptable! I then got at least one set of bites... I wish we had forked out the extra money for somewhere that wasn't infested. Just awful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed at the France Hotel with a friend in October, and we were happy with the hotel over all.

This hotel's asset is it's location. Its a really good location for the price you pay as most hotels in the centre tend to be more pricey. This hotel is a short walk from the red light district and the central station, and is right round the corner from the voyager, grand central etc and not too far from dam square.

The hotel also provides a breakfast in the Irish pub next door, which was a nice enough breakfast. Selection of bacon ( too salty for me ) , egg, continental meats , cereal and fresh tea and coffee. The staff in the hotel were pleasant and let us keep our luggage at the hotel before and after check in so we didnt have to lug it around which was really helpful.

My only negative, and the reason i only gave 3 stars instead of 4 was the rooms. I paid for a twin room and on arrival I was sent to the basement room , not only did it have no windows but there was a generator for the ENTIRE hotel in the room we were given and the god foraken thing kept me awake for the night, despite me being told it was turned off at night. I can assure you the thing is on all night. I was not happy as I did not select a room without a window when I booked, and complained as was moved for the remaining two days into a room with a window and minus a generator. Rooms were still a bit naff, bathrooms look a bit dated and hostel ish.

I would recommend this hotel for its location, and is great for travelling with friends. I wouldnt say it a couples or family place, purely as its not the most comfortable or buggest places. Decent enough though, enjoyed my stay bar the issue with the rooms

Room Tip: make sure you have a room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I have been to this hotel several times over the years and like the central location of it. Its across the street from the Central Train Station and around the block from the Red Light District. There are many restaurants just off to the side and you even get breakfast in Molly Malones downstairs. The breakfast is really good since its a hot breakfast. Sight seeing is very easy with this central location and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The hotel was updated recently and the rooms are relatively new in decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed 5nights at this hotel between 9th december - 14th. On our first night at room 302 we found bed bug in our room and they changed our room immediatly. The location of the hotel is perfect. They have free wifi. The elevator is so slow that you spend almost 3/4 of your holiday in it. it takes centuries to go upstairs or go downstairs with it. The rooms have small window like a prison cell.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We chose the France hotel based on a recommendation from a friend, it was a really good price for two rooms for four nights considering it's location. I think that is the hotel's main selling point, it is just outside the Red Light District (<2 min walk) and easily within walking distance of the main attractions in Amsterdam Central. Central station was a 5 minute walk, Artis Zoo 20 mins, Heineken Experience 25 mins so a brilliant location.

Arrived before the check in time of 2pm but both rooms were ready which was nice as we just wanted a nap after our early morning flight! Was greeted by a very strong smell of weed on our floor as we stepped out of the lift despite the clear no smoking rules of the hotel. Not a huge problem for us though I might add! Stepped into our 'executive' room which was slightly on the small side with just about enough room to shuffle around the bed. The room had two large windows with a beautiful view of the canal and some kind of church/just a pretty building haha. Bed was firm and very comfy, there was only one spare pillow though, I'm sure we could have asked for another though, we were just too lazy to do so! One thing I did notice just as I was going to bed was that the previous occupants had been smoking in our room as the smoke detector was covered with some item of clothing and a plastic bag. We meant to report it the next day but never got round to it (a recurring theme you'll find with my boyfriend and I!)

My main issue with this hotel was the noise. It's not on a main street so the outside noise was fine but our room was right next to the stairwell and they are metal stairs. The noise from people walking up and down them was almost unbearable! Our first three nights we had broken sleep because anytime someone went up or down we were both woken up by the racket of the stairs. I went down them myself and no matter how gently you try to walk, the stairs make the same awful noise. The walls between rooms and the doors are paper thin but the noise from people on our floor didn't bother us too much.

The breakfast included at the pub next door was good, and the hotel provided free wifi which was a nice touch. All the staff we encountered were very polite and friendly, even the maintenance man who came to replace the bulbs in the bathroom when he noticed the bag over the smoke alarm (which we still hadn't got around to reporting!), he didn't blame us and gave us the benefit of the doubt which I don't think I would have if I were him and there were two twenty odd year old's that clearly spend a lot of time in the coffeeshops with a dodgy smoke alarm!

Overall this hotel is ok if you're on a budget, the location is excellent and the rooms basic but clean.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms ending in 11 ie 211 or 311 as those were the one's affected by the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Gate, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is a perfect place to stay in Amsterdam. Literally across the street from the Central Train Station and around the corner from the Red Light District. Walking distance from Bars, Restaurants and Shopping.

Room Tip: Rooms vary and depend on your liking, i never plan to be in the room other than sleeping and this pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Floris France Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Kolk 11, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Floris France Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
France Hotel is located on a quiet canal street and yet only 200 meters from Amsterdam Central Station. The hotel has an adjoining restaurant and Irish pub. The rooms have air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and a private bathroom. A breakfast buffet is served daily in the restaurant and pub. When weather is nice, guests can sit on the small, waterside terrace. During the day, guests can get snacks and drinks from the vending machines in the lobby. The internet computer can be used against a small fee. From France Hotel, you can take a 10-minute walk to Dam Square and go shopping in the Kalverstraat. The Red Light District is a 5-minute walk away. Trams 5, 16 and 24 at the station offer direct access to the Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Floris France Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floris France Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.