We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Floris France Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Floris France Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Kolk 11, Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #288 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Location Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Because of the reviews for this hotel we specifically booked a canal view room to ensure a normal window and better standard of room. On arrival we were offered a poorer room but persisted to get the canal view room we had booked as we had paid much more for it. We were content with the canal view room we got for the price we paid, though could be noisy outside due to revellers during the night. It was a great central position, just a few minutes walk from Central Station, canal boat stops and Chinatown. Breakfast in the pub next door was good. We bought a 24-hour hop-on-hop-off canal ticket for 19 euros which was great, and after that we walked everywhere. Dam Square was a 5 minute walk away; Anne Frank House 15 minutes; Rembrandt Square 20 minutes. Rijksmuseum was fabulous and not to be missed.

Room Tip: if a window is important to you make sure you book (and pay) for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    99
    142
    87
    111
See reviews for
40
177
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was booked into this hotel as one of a party of eleven for my son's 'stag' weekend in Amsterdam. Given our agenda for the weekend, we admittedly just needed somewhere to sleep for 2 nights for a fun weekend (with lots of drink), I cannot be too critical, as you get what you pay for, so all things considered, this place was ok'ish.
As previously commented, the location is great - only 5 minutes walk from Amsterdam station and the 'red light' district, in a busy part of the city, down a side street by a canal. Loads of bars, restaurants and shops (and cyclists) all around, made this a great location for our purpose, maybe not for those that would like a quieter base.
The hotel is a bit 'tired', the rooms fairly basic and in need of some decoration, but I could not fault the staff friendliness and room cleaning. Fortunately for me, I had a single room with a window, whereas some of our party had rooms with no windows which they said felt more like a cell! However, the rooms seem to be on 3 floors, all had good bathroom/shower facilities and TV with Wi-Fi access, but no tea/coffee making facilities. There is a reception area on the ground floor with a small seating area, but unusually, no real lounge/bar area - that is provided next door in 'Molly Malone's' Irish pub, where breakfast is served until 10.00 am, then lunch & evening meals available with a large SKY screen TV showing continuous sport, or providing live music some evenings.
My description may help or hinder the reader, dependant on why you are visiting Amsterdam. Given the purpose of my visit, it was ideal, but if you want peace & quiet, luxury and expect a higher standard, you are not paying for that here.

Room Tip: Make sure the hotel doesn't give you a room without windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

First let's start with the positives... great location, 5 mins walk from the train station and walking distance to all the main sights etc., the wifi is free, the staff are very friendly and breakfast in the pub next door is included in the price. The downsides are that the pictures on the website are deceptive as most of the rooms have no outside window, the furniture is very dated, the double room we had was two single beds pushed together and the mattress of one bed was needing replaced, also the bathroom smelled of urine and are a bit dirty. The "free" breakfast is very mediocre and the pub staff were a bit grumpy. Overall, if you're not fussed about where you're sleeping and want to be near the centre of town, it isn't too bad but we won't be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earls Colne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at the France hotel January 2013 and it was the cheapest hotel and we was expecting a lot worse that what we got!
The Location was outstanding, it was no more that an 5 minute walk to the centre and to the red light district. I don't think you could get any better
The outside of the hotel does look very tired and could do with painting but you are not going to be looking at the outside for very long so don't be to critical and just get on with it. the inside was very tidy and clean and modern which was a good start and then the receptionist was very kind and spoke very good English. Our room was very basic and didn't have much to it but we didn't care because we were only sleeping in it. was have no bed bugs and no stained sheets, nothing! the bed was very comfy and i had a great night sleep each night we were there. our bathroom was also very clean but a bit tired but it had a great shower and everything worked fine, as did the TV and lights. i could of done with a kettle so we could of had a tea and coffee in the morning but that's the only fault i had with it.
You can not be to critical with this hotel because it is a basic hotel and you are only sleeping their! and for a young person like myself you don't need anymore than what you get. a TV with English channels and the shortest walk to everything.

I am now going back to Amsterdam in 2 weeks for 3 nights and 4 days and i am staying in the France Hotel because it is worthy of going back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you want to like stayin in Floris France Hotel, make sure you book a rook with the windows. Otherwise you will hate it. My first night was in room woth out windows, and I hated it there. But when I've swiched rooms, another night was nice and confortable.
Hotel is clean but old and tired, it need general renovation.
Breakfast was served in pub next door, simple but very nice.

Room Tip: Choose one with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

First, the positives: Good location, just 5 minutes walk to Amsterdam Central Station and the trams. Close to the red-light district, the backpackers area and about 15 minutes walk to the main medevial attractions and glitzy departmental stores in the city. Just walk a bit further and you'll hit the shopping streets. Breakfast in the Irish pub next door was delicious and plentiful.
Now, for the negatives: Room felt very cabin-like, with only one small frosted window (I hear some rooms have no windows). Room floors were greasy for some reason and while bathroom wasn't dirty, it wasn't sparkling either. Reception area and lobby could do with some tidying up, the carpets always looked filthy and there was a certain mess to the place. Only 1 tiny and slow elevator serving about 5 floors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My stay at the Floris France started with the discovery that my room 107 had no window, upon entering the room it smelt of urine and it was almost impossible to get rid of the smell without ventilation.

During my three day stay at the hotel I started to notice bites appearing on my legs and arms, on the final day of the trip I noticed a small reddish bug on the bed and caught it in a cup. After looking it up on the internet, I confirmed that it was a bed bug complete with a full blood meal.

Even the best deal on this hotel won't save you the expense in dry cleaning and pest control that will be required to save your house also being infested! Don't stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Floris France Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Kolk 11, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Floris France Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
France Hotel is located on a quiet canal street and yet only 200 meters from Amsterdam Central Station. The hotel has an adjoining restaurant and Irish pub. The rooms have air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and a private bathroom. A breakfast buffet is served daily in the restaurant and pub. When weather is nice, guests can sit on the small, waterside terrace. During the day, guests can get snacks and drinks from the vending machines in the lobby. The internet computer can be used against a small fee. From France Hotel, you can take a 10-minute walk to Dam Square and go shopping in the Kalverstraat. The Red Light District is a 5-minute walk away. Trams 5, 16 and 24 at the station offer direct access to the Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Floris France Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floris France Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.