We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor, very disappointing!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Restaurant Pacifico

Cafe Restaurant Pacifico
Warmoesstraat 31, 1012 HV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
+31 20 624 2911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,048 of 2,283 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Argentinean, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Description: The Pacifico launched in Amsterdam in 1976,is the first Mexican & Argentinian restaurant in the Nederlands and is still going strong. Situated on Amsterdam's Warmoesstraat between Central Station and De Wallen (the city's premium Red Light area), The menu offers a fine selection of Mexican & Argentinian dishes, all prepared from fresh ingredients, and served at reasonable prices. Here you can enjoy the best Mexican and Argentinian delicacies such as fajitas, tacos, nachos, guacamole and the special Argentinian steak BBQ. As well as the main restaurant there is also a bar area where one may enjoy an excellent selection of wines, beers, spirits, and some super cocktails.Soon we will open the Pub Salsa Pacifico where you can have fun with friends after dinner, you can enjoy our special cocktails. Special offers for reservation for birthdays,business dinners or a special dinner with your friends.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Poor, very disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We went here as it was recommended in a travel book we had bought on Amsterdam. What a mistake!
Poor, slow service. Food tasted average to poor. I ordered a mojito cocktail, without doubt the worst mojito I've ever had. I'm not even sure it had the right ingredients in it.
Place was dingy and empty, which should have given us a clue that it obviously wasn't very good.
I'm amazed how this place ever made it into a travel book!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

19% Recommend
    2
    4
    5
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, not so clean surroundings and slow waitresses...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Went there on reccomondation from our hotel. When we came in the place looked a little dingy, wouldnt have gone there on our own...Waitress slow to tend to our table, waited a long time for our starters...Food tasted good, no complaints on that. Waited on refills but they had the deceny to give us a complimentary round of drinks to mend for the waiting...So to sum up: Good food, a little expensive for the type of food I think, been there, done that....Think I would reccomend people to try something else...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Extremely uninspired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Went here for steaks, and they were OK. However, everything else was bad, and the place was expensive to boot.

We ordered nachos and the server filled a bowl with cold nachos from a bag right by our table. Everything came with the same uninspired salad - even the corn cob came with corn next to it.

Also, the place looks like a hole with dust everywhere, trash lined up along the walls and a generally tired interior.

Stay away, you can get so much better food for less money nearby.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A huge let-down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have visited the restaurant in the past and it has been better than average but tonight...wow what a let down. I ordered Beef Fajitas with additional guacamole instead of the sour cream. The food arrived - with sour cream, in itself not a huge issue but I took the lid off of the tortillas to wrap my first Fajita noticed the tortilla was torn, making it impossible to wrap. The waiter said "no problem I make more". These never arrived despite my prompting on 2 occasions. The beef was incredibly tough (over cooked) and the while meal was a disaster.
I would have been slightly happier had they delivered fresh tortillas but instead they have an upset customer. - There are so many other restaurants in that area of Amsterdam that I now have no reason to return! Go for the Argentinian steakhouse next door :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“S-L-O-W service but decent food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

During a trip to AMS in late November, 2012 I stopped for a late lunch on a Saturday afternoon.

Half of this restaurant is a bar, and the other is a restaurant with 15-20 tables.

Despite prompt initial seating, and being only only the third or fourth table to be seated in the time I was there, the service was uniformly slow.

It took awhile to get my drink order submitted, and even longer to get the it served from the bar (a bottle of the local, mass-produced beer). Then ordering an appetizer was a separate ordeal. To try to help speed things along, I ordered the appetizer and the main entree at the same time.

20 minutes later the appetizer arrived, and the chicken enchilada entree was presented well beyond that. The food (finally) arrived hot but was quite average.

The menu was smaller, but hit all the usual Tex-Mex fare standards. The chips that came with the appetizer were the highlight of the meal.

The pros of Cafe Pacifico:
* Good location on Warmoesstraat
* The beer was cold
* Prices were very reasonable

The Cons:
* Painfully slow food and drink service
* Smallish menu
* Minimum charge for credit card use
* Wifi not available
* Average food

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Restaurant Pacifico also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Restaurant Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Restaurant Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.