We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much of a bargain.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of West Side Inn Hostel Bargain Toko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added West Side Inn Hostel Bargain Toko to your Saves list
West Side Inn Hostel Bargain Toko
Voorburgstraat 250 B, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not much of a bargain.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

It was quite expensive but maybe that's just Amsterdam. I found NICER and cheaper hotels in CPH and Luxembourg. This hotel was more expensive than both places per night. Amsterdam is expensive even in the hostels. My advice would be to find another hotel/hostel. Don't go for the cheapest option unless you are okay with ROUGHING IT. - which I am okay with... but I think this hotel should be even cheaper considering I've found better quality at lower prices in two other EXPENSIVE cities.

BEDROOM: MOLD surrounding the windows, bits on the ceiling and walls. Stained mattresses that are super squishy. It is impossible to engage in any activity on your bed besides SLEEPING. (Example, no sitting in the bed to read a book or movie on your computer.) Stuffy rooms. - my room didn't smell SOOO bad but there was still an odor.

BATHROOM: Difficult to sit down correctly on the toilet seat because the toilet was too close to the wall. Our toilet would leak water. The floor was always wet. The shower, IT WAS HUGE (that's one positive). It still didn't feel clean.

Bar and restaurant was expensive. I recommend finding more interesting places to eat in the city centre if you decide you want this hotel after this review.

It is also a loud hotel. You here people coming and going at night and in the morning.

Another PLUS: private room, cheaper than booking a hostel or hotel in the centre. I like having a private bathroom and a "secure" room.

Don't pay for parking if you are coming by car, you can easily park on the street. Beware of tickets though! We received one. The price of the ticket was less than paying for parking each night. Take it at your own risk, but if you want parking, I would recommend AVOIDING this hotel.

PLUS - the tram is an easy walk away from the hotel. You can buy tram tickets at the check-in point.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    13
    9
    18
See reviews for
2
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

was quite expensive beings you are far away from the city !
altho you can get a tram about 500mtres walk from hotel was the only plus point i could think of!
room was dirty cobwebs everywhere,toilet and shower stank,couldnot sit on the toilet as it is to close to the wall.
rooms were freezing cold for time of year ,no heating in them was given an extra duvet and was still freezing slept in my coat every night!!!!!
extortanate prices for food and drinks and they wondered why the bar and restraunt was empty!
AVOID AT ALL COSTS WHAT YOU THINK IS CHEAP COSTS YOU A FORTUNE BY THE TIME YOU HAVE LEFT
30 EURO SET FEE FOR A TAXI TO AIRPORT WHICH TAKES 7MINS
IF YOU GO BY TRAM YOU NEED TO GO CITY CENTER TBY TRAM THEN TRAIN TO AIRPORT !
THE PLUS POINTS WE FOUND WERE TURN RIGHT OUT OF HOTEL WALK UNDER THE BRIDGE AND THERE IS A FEW SHOPS WERE FOOD AND DRINKS ARE VERY CHEAP
AND A WONDERFUL KEBAB SHOP 10 EURO FOR TWO BIG KEBABS AND CHIPS WITH NICE PLEASENT STAFF CHECK THAT PLACE OUT!

Room Tip: MIGHT COST EXTtra 10 euro to stay in city center avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelBargainToko, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hostel Bargain Toko, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are really sorry that you had such a bad experience. If you are not satisfied with your room it is always possible to ask for another room. If you like you can contact us directly and let us know exactly what went wrong and we can make sure it's better next time.
We hope you will visit us again in the future so we can change your not so good opinion about our hotel into a good opinion.
Kind regards,
West Side Inn Hostel Bargain Toko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Myself and my partner were so diss appointed by this hostel. We paid 230 euros for 3 nights which is expensive for the distance to Central Amsterdam. Our room was small and musty and the bathroom was disgusting. It smelt of mold and urine and the toilet was so close to the wall you had to sit sideways to use it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel/hostel in September, we paid 175 euros for 3 nights which is cheaper than a hotel or hostel in centre of Amsterdam. We mainly booked due to it being cheapest option for private bedroom and bathroom. No shower curtain in room, tiny bathroom. Bed comfortable and shower nice pressure. We found it hard to find and had to ask a few people but overall good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the West Side Inn in 2010 when it was named HEM Amsterdam Hotel, and that was a good experience so we decided to try their new extension Toko at 50 euros/night which is really cheap for Amsterdam. Part of the challenge with this hotel is finding it so as we already knew how to find it that wasn't a problem. If this is your first stay I recommend you enlarge a Google Map, find Delphiplein shopping center, and then it is just a matter of walking under the A10 freeway.
The Toko has been built on the freeway side of the main hotel. The construction materials must comply to Dutch standards but seem a bit flimsy, like the hall floors sway a bit when you pull heavy luggage. My lady said it made her feel seasick. The room is small, we tried to measure it and found 2,8 by 5 metres which is 14 metres total of which the beds take 4 metres and the bathroom another 4. The toilet is so close to the shower wall that you must sit at angle to use it. The lights are like 15 watts which is crazy because the lights in the hallway are at least 100W. The TV didn't work at all but the next day they replaced it with an apparently brand new one. We were there 3 nights. On the first two mornings the hot and cold taps were like cold and colder reminding me of Russia 20 years ago. But after we had rearranged our showering to evenings I found on the third morning there was plenty of hot water despite more guests, in fact I suspect they made more hot water available because there were more guests.
On the plus side, the room was very clean and we got new towels every day. Although the room was small it was adequate and if you want a bigger room try the main hotel. We liked the small breakfast for euros 3,75 which includes a hard boiled egg, bread roll, separate croissant, ham and cheese plus butter, jam and choice of coffee or tea. The 24/7 takeaway counter offers good pizzas plus sandwiches all the way to steak dinners at 21 euros. They sell bottled beer plus there is a bar open until quite late. There are tables and benches in the garden outside the hotel you can use. But in the Delphiplein around the corner there are two grocery stores the LIDL and a more expensive one. There is a Turkish fast food place which has a platter for one at 12 euros but they are happy to serve two sharing it and it comes with two chicken shishkabobs, two lamb chops, two pieces of steak, lots of salad and French fries and if you can find a cheaper meal for two in Amsterdam show me. You can walk to the Tram 2 which takes you directly to the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum or you can use the metro 50 at Heemstedestraat connecting to Leylaan then to either Schiphol or Central Station. Unless you have a car it pays to buy a rail pass at Schiphol for 1-3 days or longer but be aware they don't include bus travel. Altogether we enjoyed this stay but maybe it was because we like the parent hotel and we already were familiar with the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I wasn't expecting much given that it was a 'budget' hotel. The room was small, the bed OK and a TV in the room. Fair enough. However the bathroom was revolting. It was poorly (as in not) ventilated and stank of damp. There was evidence of mould in the bathroom and the bedroom consequentially. The shower had a broken rail so we had to hold it and the shower tray did not drain properly and water was left standing. We also had no hot water for two mornings (out of four). I expected the basics to be much better and I'm genuinely surprised that they are allowed to have people stay in such conditions.

The staff were friendly and spoke immaculate English, however I felt it summed it up when they didn't even ask how our stay was. I wonder why?

Definitely not recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I've never stayed in a bad hotel like this...nothing was good except the staff. available to correct the issue... but too many issues to stay there.
Unfortunately we stayed there during a FULL period for the city, before the Queen Party, so all hotel were completely full.
We stayed there just the first night and then we moved to the center.
It's very expensive to reach the hotel during the night (ONLY TAXI), and too many long during the day (more than 45 mins with bus/tram).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to West Side Inn Hostel Bargain Toko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side Inn Hostel Bargain Toko

Address: Voorburgstraat 250 B, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Side Inn Hostel offers private Twin rooms with shower, toilet, tv, phone, desk, and wardrobe. Our hostel has a 24-hour reception, key card system, daily housekeeping, restaurant, Free WiFi, paid secured parking, lounge with a pool table and tv screens, food corner with a selection of freshly squeezed juices, pastries and sandwiches, as well as vending machines with soft drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your West Side Inn Hostel Bargain Toko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Side Inn Hostel Bargain Toko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.