We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet neighborhood, easy access to public transportation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Central Park to your Saves list
Hotel Central Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waldeck Pyrmontlaan 9, 1075 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tyler, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quiet neighborhood, easy access to public transportation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Fast wifi, great A/C, free parking on Sunday on street in front of hotel.
Good front desk staff, close to public transit.
Clean w/comfortable beds.
Be aware: triple rooms have 3 twin adjoining beds smashed together (basically one large bed).

Room Tip: All rooms equal w/good AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    113
    48
    11
    1
See reviews for
23
105
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The location is great. A couple blocks from a beautiful park and the tram. Its about a 5-10 minute walk to the bus loop that goes to the airport. The Hotel was well priced. Their are lots of restaurants around but they are quite expensive. The area around the red light district had some great affordable restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed here for three nights with my boyfriend in July, and found the hotel very clean and pleasant with helpful staff. The room and bathroom were both small, but somewhat better than I expected. We had requested and received a top floor room and consequently enjoyed lovely views.

We managed to get a deal that included breakfast and was very glad we did! There was a great selection of cold foods - a range that surpassed expectations!

My only worry upon booking was the distance from the city centre - this proved not to be too much of a problem as the tram stop was very close to the hotel and travel to and from was very easy. Having said this, I would probably try for something closer in future visits to Amsterdam. However if you don't mind spending a bit of time on the tram, and enjoy the close proximity to Vondelpark, then this would be a great choice for you.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Lovely small Hotel.
25-30 minute walk to the 'Square'. 5 minutes on the number 2 tram. Stop just across from Hotel.
Very quiet Hotel. Basic but good continental breakfast.
Air conditioning Very Good.
You can get basic snacks. water or beer from reception.
Right at top of Vondel Park.
10 Euro Taxi into centre. 30 Euro to Airport (20 minutes)

Room Tip: Top level. Cooler and no footsteps above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in June 2014 and it is nice small hotel with all basics covered. We took the tram no 2 from Amsterdam Central station( we bought the 4 days ov card and used it to the maximum) and got off at the Amsteveensweg stop and the hotel is a two minute walk from there. You can also take bus no 197 from the airport and get off at the Harlemeerstation and walk about 5 minutes (Ask for Ron Restaurant as landmark) The hotel itself is in a quite lane, very near to one of the gates of Vondel Park. Very small rooms with smaller bathrooms, but very well kept. Have no complains as we would just come back late at nights and be out early mornings. The reception staff was helpful with directions or general advice. The tram stop is near by and very convenient to get to the touristy parts of Amsterdam using tram no 2. We had breakfast at a bagel place nearby and dint use the restaurant at the hotel as the breakfast was 10 euros. But overall good little hotel in a very quite and good neighborhood. Beds were very soft and one can sink in while lying down.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Excellent Hotel approx. 20 minutes from centre of Amsterdam. Superb walk through Vondelpark takes you there or the buses and trams are only 2 minutes walk away and run very regularly. The hotel is situated in a smart, quiet suburb with plenty of great restaurants and cafes on the doorstep. The hotel rooms are small but have everything you need and the bed was really comfy. We had a quiet room at the back of the hotel, with a really nice view over the park. The breakfasts were fab and there was so much to choose from. For a quality, budget hotel this really was an excellent choice. We booked this as part of a combined Expedia deal and would have no hesitation in staying there again or recommending it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I have just come back from Amsterdam and could not fault the overall holiday. Bus 197 took us from the Airport to Harlemeerstation, and from there we arrived at the hotel within 5 minutes. The hotel is located in a quiet street and we had a room on the top floor (room 406) which had a great view. Some reviews we read mentioned how small the room and bathroom was but this was not the case for us - we had plenty of space. Yes, there were a few stains on the walls and the carpet looked 'tired' but it was clean and we were only in the hotel to sleep in. The hotel is located on the corner of Vondel Park which is lovely to stroll around. The Van Gogh Museum and the Heineken Experience are close by too. To get into the area with the restaurants etc does take around 30-40 minutes to walk but this did not bother us. The hotel hires out bikes for 16 Euros a day which we discovered is definitely the way to get around Amsterdam. The breakfast is basic but we did not go hungry. Plenty of cereal, fruit, cold meats, cheeses, bread etc, however if this doesn't take your fancy, there is a supermarket that takes about a 5 minute walk to get to. The only extra things I believe the hotel could do with having in each room is a mini-fridge and a safety deposit box. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a cheap stay in a great location. We will most definitely be returning again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Park

Address: Waldeck Pyrmontlaan 9, 1075 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Park 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.