We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central Park

Save Saved
You added Hotel Central Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Central Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waldeck Pyrmontlaan 9, 1075 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Huddersfield
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Excellent Hotel approx. 20 minutes from centre of Amsterdam. Superb walk through Vondelpark takes you there or the buses and trams are only 2 minutes walk away and run very regularly. The hotel is situated in a smart, quiet suburb with plenty of great restaurants and cafes on the doorstep. The hotel rooms are small but have everything you need and the bed was really comfy. We had a quiet room at the back of the hotel, with a really nice view over the park. The breakfasts were fab and there was so much to choose from. For a quality, budget hotel this really was an excellent choice. We booked this as part of a combined Expedia deal and would have no hesitation in staying there again or recommending it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    112
    45
    10
    1
See reviews for
21
101
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I have just come back from Amsterdam and could not fault the overall holiday. Bus 197 took us from the Airport to Harlemeerstation, and from there we arrived at the hotel within 5 minutes. The hotel is located in a quiet street and we had a room on the top floor (room 406) which had a great view. Some reviews we read mentioned how small the room and bathroom was but this was not the case for us - we had plenty of space. Yes, there were a few stains on the walls and the carpet looked 'tired' but it was clean and we were only in the hotel to sleep in. The hotel is located on the corner of Vondel Park which is lovely to stroll around. The Van Gogh Museum and the Heineken Experience are close by too. To get into the area with the restaurants etc does take around 30-40 minutes to walk but this did not bother us. The hotel hires out bikes for 16 Euros a day which we discovered is definitely the way to get around Amsterdam. The breakfast is basic but we did not go hungry. Plenty of cereal, fruit, cold meats, cheeses, bread etc, however if this doesn't take your fancy, there is a supermarket that takes about a 5 minute walk to get to. The only extra things I believe the hotel could do with having in each room is a mini-fridge and a safety deposit box. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a cheap stay in a great location. We will most definitely be returning again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazy_kitty
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Its located in a quiet area. If u take bus no. 197 n stop at Harlemeerstation which is bout 15-20minutes ride from airport. Just walk straight out and directly u will see the bus stops right infront of u after u cross the road. Bus fare cost 5Euros. But we paid after 3-4 stops and the bus driver told us which is only 2.50Euros each. Bargain! Not on purpose as we get on the bus from the back door and there were so many people there and we cant get to the bus driver.

U will see the roundabout when u get down from bus. Walk straight along the main road untill u see the ABN Amro Bank on your right which is about couple blocks away. Screenshot the map to hotel. I find it easier that way. There are a couple of restaurants and cafe along that main road but we find it bit expensive for 25Euros for a maincourse. So we just go to the supermarket on the main road as well to get some snacks n bread.

Room are small as expected for Amsterdam standard but were clean. Toilet are amazingly clean n fully tiled. Down side is we stayed there for 3 nights and only got our mini shampoo n body wash on the last day. WORST thing is after tidying our room, the room cleaner unplug our phone chargers and hide it under our blankets and pillows. My room mate didn't find the charges and was freaking out. So I suppose room cleaner should not touch their clients items. That is the reason I left only 3 stars rating for this hotel.

I find the bed too soft and bouncy for me. The reception help us to book the taxi and it cost 38euros to airport. Well I find it abit pricy as it only takes 15 minutes to get there. But I cant bother to catch the bus as we need to walk to the main road and wait for it in the wee hours.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Tyneside
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Not much to look at from the front, along a beautiful residential street (window peeking on the way back on a nighttime when the houses are lit up... guilty pleasure!). Tram stop is about 3 mins walk, get off and walk back up to the Apoteek on the corner, turn left, then right and it's the next road on the left, if you go too far you're walking along the side of the lake. A short walk along Waldeck Pyrmontlaan and the hotel is on the right hand side.

Our first night, despite asking for a twin room, we got a double, probably due to our very late check in... room 1... presumably previously an office or storage room one wall away from the reception desk, so we could hear the night staff conversing... but not unduly so not a complaint! The bathroom is VERY small, you have to sit sideways on the toilet and the shower does flood all over the floor, but the next morning the room situation was rectified without a problem as promised, moved on up to the second floor - we could have been in a different hotel! Room with a view - and what a view! Over the lake at the rear of the property, view of the beautiful house directly across the way (did I mention a penchant for window peeking?!) into the to die for kitchen/dining area straight out of house beautiful! Much better bathroom although still cosy! Gorgeous spring foliage on the trees and lovely weather meant we left the french door/window open overnight.

We didn't take advantage of the breakfast room, basic supplies available from reception for water/snacks etc and homemade soup!

For breakfast, sadly not open on Sunday, we stopped for coffee at (I think it was called) City Bakes, over the pavement from your tram stop - great coffee, delicious bakes and tasty sounding breakfast menu, plus books & newspapers. Tram for travelling back up to town is a little further down the road, over the crossroads - and don't be tempted to get the coffee then catch the tram - no drinks allowed! Tram takes about 20mins to get back to Dam station, 10 mins to Leidseplein. On Sunday we walked through the park, stopped for a coffee on Leidseplein then took the tram up to the station to put our luggage into baggage check & head on out into town again before our flight home. The tram cost e12 for 2 days travel on trams/buses.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back on the upper floors with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

The pluses: staff friendly and helpful; quiet, safe location within a few blocks of the tram and very close to a large, beautiful park; good breakfast; coffee and other hot beverages available 24x7; good wifi.

The negatives: our room seemed very small for two people with very limited space for luggage or clothing; the bed was extremely soft; the carpeting was stained and "tired." Overall, the hotel did not seem worthy of the three star rating.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The neighborhood that this hotel is in is fantastic. It's quiet and residential, but just a short walk to the tram to take you to busier parts of the city. There is an adorable cafe close by called Coffee and Paste. I highly recommend checking it out. The park and many restaurants/shops are very close. The hotel is nothing special. I did like the french doors. The room is small, even by European standards. It is possible only to walk around the outside of the bed. There isn't room for large luggage, so don't plan on taking any. Also, the bathroom door and the front door conflict with each other, so the bathroom door does not stay open unless held open by a heavy object.
I thought the room was a little pricey for what we got, and I would probably not stay there again unless I had no other options. The room was clean, but I can't imagine that it's difficult to clean such a small room. I will say that the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Park

Address: Waldeck Pyrmontlaan 9, 1075 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Park 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.