We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much to recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Central Park to your Saves list
Hotel Central Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waldeck Pyrmontlaan 9, 1075 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bordeaux, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Much to recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed for four nights while spending most of each day exploring Amsterdam's sights. It was nice to come home to this hotel in a peaceful residential neighborhood and even late at night, I felt safe as a single woman walking back from the nearby tram stop. The front desk staff is very nice and helpful. My room in a third floor corner was quiet and the bed comfortable. TV stations are abundant but I only used that as entertainment when my feet were too tired to walk any further!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    113
    48
    10
    1
See reviews for
22
105
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Me and my mum stayed here from the 13th April - 17th April 2014. We liked the hotel very much, it is situated in a nice residential area. The tram stop is about a 5 minute walk and bus stops a ten minute walk taking you right into the centre in 5-10 minutes, however we tended to walk up into central Amsterdam through Vondelpark - about a 20 minute walk to Leidesplein but very nice scenery. The rooms were basic but had evrything you need for a city trip when you are hardley in the room, the beds were very comfy and the continental breakfast was great. I would definately recommend this hotel and would stay here again on any future trips.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were a bit shocked how far out of Amsterdam the hotel was but after being lost the first day (thanks to our rubbish navigation skills) it only took 5 mins to get to Amsterdam on the #2 tram, (we stayed 3 nights and got the 4 day tram and bus ticket for 21 euro, well worth it as we used it 8 times the first day alone) we had a slight argument with hotels.com that we booked with as they neglected to actually book the 3 rooms for us) however the gent on reception got us 3 rooms and appologised for them being on different floors (we werent bothered) until i got into my room and found a suitcase in there. (Mrs Roberts if you thought someone had sat on your bed while you were out, that was me) we went back to reception and he soon swapped us to a bigger room. :) lovely and quiet area, i woke up to hear what looked like a parrot singing in the trees outside. will deffinatly be staying in this hotel again. didnt have the breakfast as we found a lovely sports bar a couple of stops on the tram away that did a really nice english breakfast. we did however have a piece of uneaten chewwing gum on our floor the first day we arrived that was still there when we left. other than that lovely and clean, mind your feet getting out of the shower though the floor is slippery.

Room Tip: 105 is possibly the largest room on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Hotel central park is located on the outskirts of the centre of Amsterdam. The No2 tram is caught 2 min walk from the hotel and you can be in amsterdam's centrum in about 10min. The room we stayed in No107 was quite comfortable with a ensuite bathroom, flat screen TV, small wardrobe,table & chairs. The bed is soft & comfortable. The breakfast was basic, but sufficient. Overall book this Hotel if you are on a budget weekend trip and you'll save ££'s compared to the large City centre hotels. Recommended

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This lovely little hotel is a bus ride (#197) from the airport, with a 10min walk from the stop. Nestled in a classic Netherlands neighborhood, overlooking a pond from the park behind it. Shops and grocery stores very close by and a solid 20 minute walk through the park to the popular areas. Trams are a block away if you chose not to walk (#2). The beds are like clouds and the rooms are very clean, cozy and comfortable. Some are snug than others, but when in Amsterdam, you will not be spending time in your room. The bathrooms are european style with Plenty of hot water. Staff is super friendly and they offer breakfast in the small cafe downstairs (about 8 euros). We traveled in March so the rates were lower, it was affordable compared to other outskirt hotels during off-season. I know when I return I hope to return here providing their prices & management remain. Highly recommend this gem!

Room Tip: Ask for room 406 or 305, they're located at the back of the hotel corner and overlook the pond a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel is situated in a quiet expensive street that ends into the Voldel Park entrance. Within a 6 minutes’ walk you are close to trams lines that bring you right into the center of Amsterdam within 7 minutes. You can also walk through the park which will take you about 15 minutes to cross and then you are at the Leidseplein or the Museum square depending on which exit you take.
The location is perfect if you want to enjoy Amsterdam’s museums or like to wander anround the city.

If you want to go to Amsterdam just to ‘smoke’ then I suggest a cheaper place closer to central station.

Amsterdam hotels in older buildings can really be drab dark places but this is town house converted into a pleasant hotel. It is not designy or trendy but comfortable, clean and not to back dated.

Rooms are on the small side but normal for rooms in Amsterdam. The rooms have big windows and a new bathroom which is small but clean and functional with good water pressure and a warm shower.

Bed is on the small side but comfortable and not too soft.
There is heating and airo in the room.

Breakfast s simple but fresh. Cooked egg, canned fruit, cereals, apples, ham, cheese, yoghurt and pancakes. Bread was fresh and so was the coffee.

The door is managed 24 hours a day and staff was helpful and friendly.

All in all a fine place to stay a day or 3, great location to explore Amsterdam but not in the middle of all of the noise and traffic.

It would take you about 15/20 minutes to get there from Central station by tram and then a 6 minutes walk or about 10 minutes with bus number 15 from train / metro Station Zuid and then also a 6 min walk.

Within 5 minutes’ walk you will find shops, bars and restaurants and the park is only 3 minutes away. The park is a hot spot in the summer and great to spend some time at!

Room Tip: All rooms are oke, ask for a higher floor if you want a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Lovely little hotel, clean and nice with great shower and helpful staff. I have stayed in Amsterdam 6 times and this is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in out here. Would recommend as I always stay in budget hotels and I have been stung a few times.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Park

Address: Waldeck Pyrmontlaan 9, 1075 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Park 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.