We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central Park

Save Saved
You added Hotel Central Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Central Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waldeck Pyrmontlaan 9, 1075 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Oxford,
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Too small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel is in a good location near restaurants and public transport connections. But the room was much too small. You couldn't fit a table under the minute desk. The only way to do any work was to pull the bed forward and perch on some pillows. The bathroom was a sort of wetroom so water flooded all over the floor and wouldn't drain away. The staff came and mopped it up when I was out. If you just need a bed for the night it would be OK but you can't work here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    112
    45
    11
    2
See reviews for
18
97
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tiny bud clean rooms with a nice view to a quiet park.
Friendly staff.
Also possibility to rent a bike for a whole day (don’t lose a key as we did ;-))
Good tram connection (nr. 2) to city center (about 10 min)

Room Tip: 204 bigger than others ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in April 2013. The room was fairly small, but clean. The staff was very helpful and their suggestions regarding the best restaurants in the area or the places to visit were good. The breakfast was ok, but the dining-room was too small to accommodate all the visitors.
I saved the best for last: the location was an advantage from my point of view, as I was able to come and go via the park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel had friendly staff but the lace itself, despite being in a lovely area, was a huge disappointment. We had to walk around the beds sideways and got total cabin fever. Beds were twin but might as well have been double. We went for my mother's 70th so it was meant to be special. We asked for a bigger room and we got one that was only slightly bigger but had a metal bolt or something in the floor near the bathroom which we cut our feet on. Breakfast was nice, and lady serving in breakfast room was wonderfully helpful.

Room Tip: Be firm and don't take what they give you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights here in July. Firstly, the hotel is easily reached by bus no 197 from the airport and tram no2 stops just around the corner. The Hotel is situated about 2k from town which is a pleasant walk via the park (just watch out for the bikes). If you are going to use public transport buy a travel pass from a tourist office, they are valid for 24 or 48 hour and more. Far cheaper than paying on board.

Hotel was ok but got off to a bad start as room had a broken sink and bed was dirty. We complained and were moved to a new room without an issue. The rooms are very small, smallest I've been in but do have a/c.

Staff very friendly and continental breakfast plentiful.

Would recommend the hotel

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Comfortable bed. Immaculately clean shower room. Good breakfast. Helpful staff. A range of good restaurants round the corner. Handy for beautiful Vondelpark...stroll through it to the newly re-opened Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum etc or jump on a tram. You're not in the city centre but in a quiet residential area a little way out ( though the right side of town for the airport and the Conference Centre) so not the place to stay if you want the buzz that Amsterdam offers . And the
rooms aren't big. But if, like us, you enjoy staying away from the hotspots and just want a comfortable base ( and also a good price) Hotel Central Park has a lot going for it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a great view over a lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel at the last minute after a disaster at another hotel. (Mice) The staff were very friendly and on finding out it was my girlfriends Birthday they gave us a room with a nice view of the lakes in the nearby park. It is a bit of a walk to the centre of Amsterdam but its near the no 2 tram line which is regular and cheap so that's not a problem. Would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Park

Address: Waldeck Pyrmontlaan 9, 1075 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Park 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.