We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights @ Central Park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central Park

Save Saved
You added Hotel Central Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Central Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waldeck Pyrmontlaan 9, 1075 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Two nights @ Central Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights here in July. Firstly, the hotel is easily reached by bus no 197 from the airport and tram no2 stops just around the corner. The Hotel is situated about 2k from town which is a pleasant walk via the park (just watch out for the bikes). If you are going to use public transport buy a travel pass from a tourist office, they are valid for 24 or 48 hour and more. Far cheaper than paying on board.

Hotel was ok but got off to a bad start as room had a broken sink and bed was dirty. We complained and were moved to a new room without an issue. The rooms are very small, smallest I've been in but do have a/c.

Staff very friendly and continental breakfast plentiful.

Would recommend the hotel

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    112
    45
    11
    2
See reviews for
18
97
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Comfortable bed. Immaculately clean shower room. Good breakfast. Helpful staff. A range of good restaurants round the corner. Handy for beautiful Vondelpark...stroll through it to the newly re-opened Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum etc or jump on a tram. You're not in the city centre but in a quiet residential area a little way out ( though the right side of town for the airport and the Conference Centre) so not the place to stay if you want the buzz that Amsterdam offers . And the
rooms aren't big. But if, like us, you enjoy staying away from the hotspots and just want a comfortable base ( and also a good price) Hotel Central Park has a lot going for it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a great view over a lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel at the last minute after a disaster at another hotel. (Mice) The staff were very friendly and on finding out it was my girlfriends Birthday they gave us a room with a nice view of the lakes in the nearby park. It is a bit of a walk to the centre of Amsterdam but its near the no 2 tram line which is regular and cheap so that's not a problem. Would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend with my sister in August 2012. We arrived at 10am and although check in was not until 2pm, our room was ready and we were able to check in quickly and be shown our room.
The room was modern, clean, fresh and nicely decorated. The room was extremely small, though this is expected in Amsterdam and it is sufficient for a short stay. Bathroom was lovely, modern, again really small but sufficient. The beds were extremely comfy! From out window we had lovely views of Vondelpark.
However, just because it is on the edge of Vondelpark, does not mean it is central. It is situated in a quiet residential area, a few shops, cafes and bars nearby for breakfast or tea but no good for a lively night out.
We got the bus from the airport and got off at Haarmlestation which was about a 10 min walk from the hotel. There was a tram stop nearby to take you to the centre and all other areas. Was a bit confusing at first but the reception staff are happy to provide you with directions and tram numbers to help.
The tram is fine but should you stay out late you cannot get the tram back as they finish at 12. A taxi from the Leidsplein was 13 euros.
I would stay here again but would prefer to stay more central. I would recommend staying in the Leidsplein area as there is lots to do at night here. However, I found it extremely hard to find a hotel within the centre that did not have terrible, off putting reviews hence why I ended up staying so far out.
This hotel is great though and for a short stay the location is perfectly fine!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The biggest pro of the hotel is its location. In less than a 5-minutes walk you reach the wonderful Vondelpark as well as a couple of nice restaurants and pubs. The neighborhood is residential and very quite. Almost all Amsterdam attractions are easily reachable by tram or, even better, by bike within 20 minutes.
Well, the hotel has seen better days. In our room, we always had a strange smell that you can only stand with the window open all day and night. A couple of things here and there need a repair. However, all in all our room was clean.
We had a double bed that barely reaches queen size. However, there are rooms with “real” king-size beds. If the size of the bed matters to you, it’s a good idea to check it beforehand.
Stuff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is ok. It offers everything you can expect from a regular continental breakfast, nothing less, nothing more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Staff very welcoming, efficient, and helpful.
Good location for my visit but a tram ride from the city centre attractions and museums. Not really a problem for me because the trams are frequent and you can get a travel card that covers all the trams and metro at a reasonable price.
My room was small but clean and comfortable and so good value by Amsterdam standards.
The continental breakfast hits the spot, and the free coffee in the dining room during the rest of the day is a nice touch.
The neighbourhood is residential but there are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby to choose from as well as the Vondel Park to walk or run off the calories.

Room Tip: Go for a park view if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Park

Address: Waldeck Pyrmontlaan 9, 1075 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Park 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.