We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Central Park to your Saves list
Hotel Central Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waldeck Pyrmontlaan 9, 1075 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    113
    48
    10
    1
See reviews for
23
105
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel! The staff was SO amazingly nice and helpful! This is a small cozy hotel, though they could use a little help with the cleaning staff. The beds are amazingly soft, we also had three single beds in our room even though we asked for a double bed…not too big of a deal! It is located in a really cool spot right off the Central Park which made for very pretty morning walks to the main parts of Amsterdam. We walked everywhere! My husband and I don’t mind walking, but if you are not a walker then you might want to consider a tram pass or taxi. The walks to the main parts of town are anywhere from 15-30 minutes! We walked all the way to the canal loop which is a significant walk! There are lots of fun restaurants right around the hotel, as well as grocery stores and shopping! If you are coming in from the Amsterdam Central Train Station I would recommend just taking a taxi to the hotel it was only like 20 euros and you got to see a lot of the town! I would also recommend walking around the city, yeah it is long but you can always walk as far as you can and take the tram back. You take Tram #2 and you can just hop on a buy a 24hr day pass on the actual tram which is SUPER convenient! The only cons I can think of for this hotel would be cleanliness (its not DIRTY, its just not sparkly clean either) and stupid people who come in and out and SLAM doors (the doors are VERY heavy and they slam, which is annoying in the middle of the night.) Other than that, this hotel was great and we REALLY enjoyed Amsterdam! Make sure you visit the flower market, the Bulldog Bars in the Red Light District and the Central Park!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Amsterdam is expensive when it comes to hotels. This hotel is located a bit far away from city center, but in 20 minutes you are in the center with the tram. Had a problem with our room but was quickly solved by the very sympathetic staff at reception. Breakfast is paid, and well served. I liked the hotel, but next time will try to find something with a better location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

GOOD: The staff was very friendly and helpful. Once we arrived, they gave us a map and showed us the location of the main attractions of the city. We decided to stay another day and they helped us to reschedule our train tickets and also printed new tickets. The hotel is very close to the Vondelpark and the station Amstelveenseweg (Zeilstraat) of tram line 2. The heating worked well and the bathroom is comfortable. We stayed in a front apartment, but the street is quiet and we heard no noise.
BAD: The bed is very soft. The room is small and it is difficult to keep two bags open at the same time. However, for that price, it's enough to sleep and to take a shower before exploring the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

ok for a 1 night business trip, however the room was quite stark. weirdly 3 single beds in a row and quite hard to sleep on! small but very clean bathroom.
unfortunatley the room smelled strongly of stale beer so not very nice.
breakfast room and food ok, but not a place for a weekend break as rooms very basic.

Room Tip: ask for a double bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Knew not to expect too much but it was very small room, very basic facilities and breakfast not worth 10 euros. Having said that being close to Vondel Park on a sunny day is just great.You can pick up a tram close by or i feeling brave you can hire a bike from hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet suburban area of Amsterdam, close to Vondel Park. The room was small but clean and comfortable, with a modern well-equipped en suite. The stairs are quite steep and narrow but there is a small lift. The staff we met were polite and helpful with excellent English. There was a kettle in the room, and we were invited to help ourselves to tea bags etc from the breakfast room when we used up our supplies. There are plenty of places to eat within easy walking distance, but we found prices were generally high with main courses costing around 20 euros per person. There is a computer in the reception area which we were able to use to check the weather forecast.

Room Tip: Our room was quite small, so if you like plenty of room you may want to ask for one of the larger ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Park

Address: Waldeck Pyrmontlaan 9, 1075 BT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Park 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.