We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected --- fabulous location NEAR the action (but not IN it)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel CC

Save Saved
You added Hotel CC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel CC
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warmoesstraat 42, 1012 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Better than expected --- fabulous location NEAR the action (but not IN it)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Gotta say ---- wasn't too excited about this hotel prior to arrival based on some reviews, but after some searching...the price sold us. And, I'll say up front...this hotel deserves the 3.5 rating currently achieved via TripAdvisor, as I'm up for putting down a bet on very few hotels @ ~$150 (U.S.)/night getting a 3 or higher. In general, (from reading reviews and our onsite confirmation) rooms at all levels are expensive and boarder on crappy in Amsterdam.

So, on to the review...

It was our first time in Europe, so it wasn't super easy to find the place...but that's more to do with OUR lack of preparation. In any event, one of the first lessons learned in Europe was front doors (and initial appearance) are often deceiving. From the outside, and partially because of the cramped / sterile reception area....I thought we'd made a mistake. But, the room was small, tidy, and basic...other than the crazy 'loft' area for our bed. The staircase went like straight up (and I mean straight --- nearly 90 degrees) to the loft!! Quite a challenge in the middle of the night to use the toilet, but we managed. :) Another small aspect is the 'bravery' of a hotel choosing black carpet....while it might 'cover' some things...it also makes every tiny little fleck of lint visible. In short, I applaud the CC for keeping the black carpet pristine...in the hallways and our room!

The bed itself was really quite nice....one of the nicest of our trip. The bathroom was small but functional (just like the room). However, our towels had a funky odor. They were clean, but sorta left us smelling faintly like...garlic? We didn't complain, as it seemed trivial. However, it was not the nicest part of our experience in the room.

Oh, one amenity that I didn't realize was one until the end of our trip was having a hot water maker in the room for instant coffee and tea. Ours was a little grubby on the outside, but was clean enough. And, as it turns out, having a spot of tea before you leave your room in Europe is not exactly the norm. In all other hotels, we could get tea (just one cup of hot water and a bag of Lipton - yuck) for about $4 (U.S.) in the lobby. :(

At night, we did not hear any street noise, but you can hear people getting in and out of their rooms...we could hear people in other rooms around us shuffling around and whatnot, but it turned out all of our hotels in Europe had that problem...you could hear noise from the hallways and movement of other people in other rooms. But, I give this a shoulder shrug in retrospect.
The hotel is centrally located (pretty close to Central Station --- certainly walkable) and on one of the super touristy (BUSY) streets near (not in --- as some other reviews state) the Red Light District. Thus said, just a couple turns and you'll be fully exposed to some nearly-naked gals in windows...so don't be too shocked if you're trying to avoid that type of thing. (There are plenty of OTHER touristy/fun locations in Amsterdam, so choose your lodging accordingly.)

Upon arrival, the staff wasn't rude, but sorta didn't really care that we were there. As they started to check us in, the staff had side conversations with each other, took phone call(s), and generally took their sweet time getting us checked in. Oh well. The gentleman was very nice about escorting us to our room via elevator....recommended for hauling luggage most of the way to the room only...should plan to use the steep and narrow stairs for most other journeys to/from your room.

Those that complain the lift didn't get them all the way to the doorstep of their room should be aware than just about any hotel under $250-300/night in AMS is HIGHLY unlikely to have an elevator at all....just throwing that out there for the ungrateful. (We stayed two additional nights in AMS at the end of our trip in a similar accommodation without an any elevator at all....the CC spoiled us.)

Overall, this was a great stay in a 3 Star Hotel (not talkin the Ritz here...3 Stars it is). I would highly recommend to friends, but maybe not relatives (if that makes any sense)? For the price and location, I certainly would not hesitate to stay here again.

P.S. If you're into locally brewed beer, do not miss out on the brewery/restaurant (sign is shaped like a yellow and blue raindrop) that's just up the street a little ways. We spent 5 days in Belgium, and ended up liking one of their brews better than most of those in Belgium...I think the beer was called Willike...or something like that??? I know it was a Wit beer....do not miss (if you like that sorta thing). Here's to supporting your local brewers!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    288
    113
    29
    36
See reviews for
28
266
64
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

I was kinda scared of location of hotel CC, couse he's located in centre of weed en sex district :P . I went calm as soon as i saw it. Everywhere on streets are monitorings and police officers. Hotel was modern and clean. Nice view from windows and lovely location. From there every tourist attraction was close. Bad thing was.. no warming up.
And weird part: building [ i think like every building in amsterdam] was ... crooked? U could feel it, that you're walking on not straight floor.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

This hotel is in a very good location very central and although in the start of the red light district it is not directly on the seedyier parts. hotel very clean and tidy with a change of towels daily. also great service with very helpful staff. one thing to bare in mind is that the single room is really small but suited my needs for a two night stag do. i definately recommend it and intend to stay there again when i visit in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

The elevator does not go to all levels . We had to carry our suit cases up the stairs. It was quite noisy in the hotel after midnight when all the youngsters returned from their outings . Pillows were not at all comfortable (very synthetic).
We were mislead by the description " Boutique Hotel".
It was far too expensive for what was offered.
The receptionists were very helpful.
The double room was quite small for 2 but clean.
We did not like the location at all. We might have liked it if we were younger !!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Nice little hotel just 50 meters from Red Lights, on the one of the busiest streets in Amsterdam, we got a room on the ground floor facing the street and I thought that it would not possible to get any sleep there, however there is no nightlife on that street after 1 am, so I had no problems sleeping at nights :-))) the staff is very friendly and helpful, big thanks to them with helping us to find a relatively cheap parking for our car:-))) (yepp, we should have taking bicycles, not the CAR :-)))))

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

My friends and i stayed at this hotel in the 3rd week of September for 2 nights for the purpose of a weekend getaway / stag-do. We booked via travelrepublic uk and got a great deal. For 4 of us it worked out at £48 per person per night which considering the location, quality and service, was fantastic. The location is approx 25 mins from the airport and cost 42 euros. Some of the street is pedestrianised so we were dropped near to the hotel by the taxi and walked part of the way which was fine. The hotel itself is smack back in the middle of a very atmospheric area which borders the main core of the red light district. Coffeeshops, restaurants, take-aways, bars and touristic shops are in the immediate vicinity around the hotel and this makes for a vibrant stay. The hotel itself has had a total renovation making it clean, sharp and modern. We were initially situated in the 'double special' rooms and these were extremely snug lets say! Following a breif chat with the guy on reception, he very kindly relocated us into twin rooms which had exponentially more room. He did this at no extra cost and even had our luggage relocated by the time we got back from our trip out that day. A very friendly, approachable and flexible service at reception. Excellent customer service. The rooms themselves are very clean, modern and inviting. Bathrooms are economically sized but this is typical for Amsterdam buildings of this type and besides, for the price, its right on the money. Whether you are planning a romantic weekend getaway with your other half or a party break for a group of friends, this hotel is ideally placed to fill your needs. They have free internet PC's too. Not sure about wireless though. We had a great time there and its geographic position for touristic spots , transportation routes, entertainment and lifestyle is spot-on. Ignore any bad reviews , this really is a great little hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

just returned after staying 2 nites at the cc,although as i stated the rooms are on the small side,the beds are the most comfortable i have used on my many travel,also a great walk in shower,the location is also perfect..would only recommend for a short stay,as the rooms are built for relaxing in....one more thing if you stay at this hotel there is a fantastic bar called hunters across the road,best bar i have been in for a long time,we were made welcome from the moment we walked in!!1

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel CC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel CC

Address: Warmoesstraat 42, 1012 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel CC 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel CC is a city center hotel and situated on the Warmoesstraat--a short 5 minutes walk from the Amsterdam Central Station. Major tourist attractions such as the Dam Square, the Royal Palace, the Anne Frank House, Madame Tussauds, the Flower Market and the well-known Red Light District, shopping streets and a variety of restaurants, cafes and bars are within easy reach from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel CC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel CC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.