We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sharm Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sharm Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sharm Hotel
Raadhuisstraat 33 B, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

First off 37 steep stairs before you get to reception! Then to find our online booking which was meant to be prepaid was not and we didn't take our Credit Card with us and we had to pay full price on the day with an added 5.5% "Tourist Tax". When we went into the room it was tiny. You couldn't swing a cat in there! Once in the room we noticed there where cracks in the ceiling and holes in the carpet. We also had scaffolding outside our window which we then found out that workmen on there at 9am and didn't like to work quietly. Shower curtain was moldy and the bed sheets had holes. The reception staff where rarely there and the one day then went into the room they changed the glasses but didn't give new towels or empty an overflowing bin! Only good thing was the location.

Room Tip: Do not come here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    9
    8
    6
See reviews for
3
13
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puebla, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

i was the last year with my friends in this hotel, we arrive to amsterdam without booking in any hotel and we found this one in the travel agencies that are in the main avenue.. they recommended this place and i can tell that its close to the principal avenues and attractions, also the price it was good we stood there for 3 days and it was nice, the room was clean, in order and anything we want they attend us well

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Location is perfect, within walking distance of central station. Bikes are also available to rent in shop next door. Service was good as tea and coffee was provided for free and brought to the room. The rooms are quite cramped and you have to walk up a steep flight of stairs to get to the reception as there is no elevator.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel was in a perfect central location, very clean, modern, warm and comfortable. I stayed in a twin room. Room was small but perfect for short stays. Staff were very friendly and helpful. A+++++

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sharm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Hotel

Address: Raadhuisstraat 33 B, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and EasyToBook so you can book your Sharm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.