We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“onto a winner here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Htel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Htel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Htel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Teilingen 9, 1082 JP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
brisbane
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“onto a winner here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

like the others have mentioned, these apartments are well kitted out, enormous and cosy. Its in the midst of a housing estate, has great local shops (avoid the supermarket and make friends with the butcher, cheese vendor, sweet shop) and become part of local Amsterdam life.

The staff on the front desk couldn't have been kinder - offering maps, local information, help in accessing a doctor, and public transport info.

We loved the coffee machine and selection of teas and nespresso coffees, the giant TVs in every room, the space, the fancy bathroom. Just a perfect pad for exploring Amsterdam. A bit out of town, but great public transport network, which forms part of the experience. A cool trip on the number 5 tram into town - going through the different architectural styles from post war mass housing (where the apartments are based), to art deco styles, to old canal homes are the tram wends its way into town. You can buy a public transport pass from anything between 1 hour, to one, two, three, etc days. Easy to hope on and off - so don't let the out of town location be off-putting.

Highly recommending this one.
Carol Richards

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngmarAmsterdam, General Manager at Htel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It's always very satisfactory for me to read reviews like these online and share these with my team members who also feel acknowledged and respected after reading this. For your information, we have some great Winter offers on our website that maybe convince you to choose for our Amsterdam accommodation again soon. Only pay 5 nights and stay 7 nights! ;-)

Thanks again and look forward to welcome you again soon in Htel Serviced Apartments.

Warm regards,
Ingmar Sloothaak
General Manager
i.sloothaak@htelapartments.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    12
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
6
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We've got into the habit of booking a serviced apartment for winter breaks, particularly over Christmas, with a teenage son. Amsterdam was proving hard until we came across Htel. Now I'm not sure we'll find a better one anywhere else... We booked a Rembrandt suite (160 m2) which offers two bedrooms, bathroom, ample living/dining room and fully (and I mean fully) equipped kitchen. We were heavily delayed by the Christmas snow across Europe and did not arrive until late on a Sunday evening. The 24-hr phone number produced a friendly security guard who met our taxi and signed us in, directed us to nearby supermarkets etc. Suites are warm, modern, spotlessly clean and well furnished, plenty of gadgets, free wifi. For the price we paid in December, you'd get a poky room in the Marriott, or worse. The only trade off is that the Htel Amsterdam is around 15-20 mins metro/tram ride from the centre. This was fine - and actually quite fun - even in the snowiest Amsterdam winter for years! And after a full day of windchill and intensive museum visiting, Htel was great to come home to. Service from the front desk was exemplary (and we enjoyed the team's video e-Christmas card on YouTube) . We found it hard to leave...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngmarAmsterdam, General Manager at Htel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 31, 2010
Dear family,

Thank you very much for sharing your true experiences with us. You exactly pointed out the most important elements of our concept (I almost considered of hiring you as one of our new sales/marketing managers in the team ;-)). It's wonderful to read your thought as it helps us to improve our services/facilities and other travellers to make their right choices for their short stay in Amsterdam. Thank you again and we are wishing you a healthy and prosperous New Year with hopefully many Htel visits.

Warm regards,
Ingmar Sloothaak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

my kids(14,10) and I had an amazing stay - we immediately felt at home- 2 BDR - the apartment's design is ultra modern with all the best appliances - it's like they thought about every detail to make the guest's stay very comfortable and welcoming ( there's even an umbrella!!! )- the kitchen is fully equipped including a nespresson coffee machine !!!!!- the staff was very helpful and catered to all our needs- the apartment is spacious- the view is breathtaking - the location is very convenient in a beautiful quiet nieghborhood- the price value is fantastastic- instead of cramming up in 1 triple hotel room for double the price we enjoyed a very comfy and fun stay !!!!!! the kids absolutely loved it and graded it the highlight of their trip !!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngmarAmsterdam, General Manager at Htel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experiences with Htel Serviced Apartments Amsterdam. It's good to read that even your children graded their stay with Htel as the best of their trip. We hope to see you again in our Htel Serviced Apartments in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ingmar Sloothaak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

I stayed in the Htel apartments in Amsterdam for July of this year and couldnt be happier with my selection. Not only were the staff incredibly helpful but the facilities including a fully-equipped gym, a sky lounge which looks out on all of Amsterdam, meeting rooms as well as a convenient tram which goes straight into centraal through leideplein stops right outside.

Although it is not in the heart of Amsterdam it only takes 10 minutes by tram and right next to the apartment was a lovely park along the river which you wouldnt get if you were staying centrally located.

As an apartment provider they could be allowed to get away with employing staff who maybe dont give you the ''hotel'' experience and just leave you to get on with it, this is not the case with Htel. The staff were great and could help me with any problem I had during my stay (which wasn't many).

I wouldnt hesitate to recommend Htel as a fantastic alternative to staying in overpriced and confined hotel spaces.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngmarAmsterdam, Manager at Htel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 15, 2010
Thank you very much for sharing your very positive feedback with the rest of the world. Reviews like yours are helpful for other travelers that are planning their future trip to Amsterdam. It's good to know that you experienced our unique short stay concept like it is meant to be. The comfort of your own home in combination with the services and many facilities of a luxury hotel.

Very good that you pointed out the easy accessibility by public transport to e.g. the Leidseplein and the rest of downtown Amsterdam as well, which stipulates again the compactness of our capital city.

Thank you again for your very positive review and we really look forward to you will choose Htel Serviced Apartments again in the near future!

Warm regards,
Ingmar Sloothaak
General Manager
Htel Serviced Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Very nice hotel and the receptionists are very helping .the service apartment have good kitchen and kitchen cutleries. The bathroom is toooooooo good and the room service was excellent. And the bus stop is very close to hotel.Nice experience in foreign to stay here……

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngmarAmsterdam, Manager at Htel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 15, 2010
Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor. Feedback like yours are very useful for other travelers planning their future trip to Amsterdam. It is good to see that you rated our accommodation as luxury hotel instead of Serviced Apartment. This is exactly what our team of professionals like to reach. Let people feel at home in their own self contained apartment, with the services of a top hotel and of course against the most reasonable price.

Thank you again for this positive review!

Warm regards,
Ingmar Sloothaak
General Manager
Htel Serviced Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

The room was very clean as we get there. Since it's a "serviced appartement", the maid cleans only once a week, which requires a wee bit o' discipline, so it doesn't get too messy. For young working fellas like us, a week is a long time, 'nough said.
Other than cleaning, you don't get much service, though the staff at the poorly occupied reception is very friendly and helpful. Bike rental (as advertised) doesn't exist, which ain't tragic, since there are plenty rentals in and near city. The Htel is located outside the city, in a district, where the elderly, jews and elderly jews are living in, so very quiet and peasefull.
The two bedroom appartement is awesome. There are 3 (!) big a** TV's, an extensive equipped kitchen with a nespresso machine, a huge shower with additional bathtub, all very fancy. Beds and pillows are good. You get free Wi-Fi but have to login everytime, which gets a bit annoying after a while. I took advantage of the provided LAN access (for new schoolers: LAN is with old fashioned wire =)
All in all: very recommendable. Don't miss the 360 degrees view of of the skylounge on the top (15th) floor, days and nights.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngmarAmsterdam, Manager at Htel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 15, 2010
Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback on TripAdvisor. Your comments are definitely very useful for people planning to travel to Amsterdam in the near future. It is good to see that you enjoyed our reasonably priced accommodation in Amsterdam and you enjoyed the great views from our Skylounge. Hopefully the weather was good and you enjoyed the skyline and millions of lights of our capital city by night.

We indeed do not offer bicycle rental, but you can use them free of charge in order to explore and experience the typical Dutch feeling. For your next stay I can inform you that we extended our opening hours of the resident service desk and we recruited a dedicated Residence Service Ambassador. This colleague possesses a wealth of experience in the well-knowned hospitality industry. I sincerely hope that you will plan a future trip to Amsterdam again in the near future and consider Htel Serviced Apartments again as your home away from home. We will take care of your bike!

Thank you again for sharing your positive feedback and look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ingmar Sloothaak
General Manager
Htel Serviced Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Htel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Htel Amsterdam

Address: Teilingen 9, 1082 JP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Htel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Htel Serviced Apartments is Holland’s premier company in fully furnished corporate housing for executives and business people. The foundation of international companies and their employees in Amsterdam mainly increased the demand for temporary stay. Htel offers expats a distinctive concept that combines the best of both worlds; the benefits of an apartment with the services of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Htel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Htel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.