We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, functional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Htel Amstelveen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Htel Amstelveen to your Saves list
Htel Amstelveen
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Laan van de Helende Meesters 421, 1186 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Napton-on-the-Hill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, functional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Does what it says on the tin: clean, comfortable accommodation at a good price with excellent facilities.
The bike hire for 7.50 euros for a day is great value with amsterdam centre only 30 minutes or so away on separate cycle road almost all the way.
The only criticism I have is that bizarrely the day before I left I was asked to dispose of my own rubbish - this had not been a problem the last 6 or so times the room had been cleaned before! An annoying and unnecessary end to the stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear PhilR206,

Thank you for your review. We are very excited to hear that you have visited us for the sixth time already. Great to hear that you enjoyed our services the way you did and found your way around the area. We regret to hear that you found our mention of garbage disposal annoying. This is a standard pre-checkout letter in which we ask our guests to leave the apartment in a descent state. Hence the question to dispose there garbage, clean out the fridge, fill in a questionnaire etc. etc.

We do hope that we can welcome you to Htel Serviced Apartments again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep & the Htel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    48
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
10
13
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I am stayed at Htel several times due to business trips to The Netherlands. It is indeed a home away your own home. Everything is ok with good furnitures, big size beds, equipped kitchen, bathroom is perfect and the size of the apartments is more than perfect. I think I will continue staying at this hotel everytime I visit Amstelveen, but they should improve internet conection.

WIFI is not working properly and you cannot connect the land phone to your laptop. It is impossible to be connected to the company systems with current WIFI connection or try to watch some videos in youtube or other websites. SKYPE doesn´t work with current WIFI connection and this is very important when you are out of home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Luis_07_2011,

Thank you for your review and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The internet connection has been updated completely and is working properly in most areas. It might be that there was a fault with the connection in the area that you were in. We discuss this with our technicians and deal with it accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you at Htel Serviced Apartments in the near future and wish you a very nice day.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep & the Htel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salou, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I wanted to give an overall rating of "GOOD" but that doesn't exist here at Trip Advisor. It is either "average" or "very good".

Stayed in this hotel for 2 months and it is indeed a home away from home. Very big studio apartments with fully equipped kitchen.
Bathroom is good but the water pressure is very bad and delivers a drizzle from the shower. After complaining, I was told that in their opinion it was sufficient. All they did was change the shower head, what obviously doesn't do anything to the water pressure.
Internet is "horrible" to say the least. It is non-excisting and they blamed it on the high occupancy and a lot of people using the internet. So they are saying that they provide free internet only when the hotel doesn't have so many guests... The first 3 weeks, it was not working at all.

Shops and supermarkets very close by at a 5 minute walk and also public transport (Metro 51 and Bus 300 to Airport and Bijlmer train station and bus 146 to Bijlmer station)

The "gym" and "swimming pool" are a joke. few machines and small pool. (more a big bath tub)

All in all a good choice for an extended stay. Just cross your fingers that you get working internet and good water pressure.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the airport if not for the view then for the hours or sunlight coming into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear CirqueTraveler,

Thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments and taking the time in writing a review. Your feedback is very welcome. We were facing internet issues due to high occupancy at the moment and the fact that we were upgrading our internet speed and bandwith. Our apologies for the inconvenience all your feedback will be taken up with the team
We hope that overall we were able to provide you with a good stay and wish you good luck on your next assignments. We look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues again to show you our improvements.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep & the Htel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two weeks when relocating to Amsterdam, Htel was a great home, great facilities, friendly staff.

The problem was that the internet connection can be slow or spike quite a bit, but other than that it was perfect.

Close to shops, and close to Amstelveen Mall, also 5 minute walk to metro 51.

Trip to Centraal Station takes 40 mins.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear ChrisVL ,

Thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments and taking the time in writing a review. What a positive reaction. We hope the rest of your relocation went well for you. We encountered an issue when we switched to faster internet, which caused the internet to slow down immensely. Currently our new internet is rolled out and faster then ever. Thank you for your feedback and have a good time in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep & The Htel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

HTEL Amstelveen is a nice 'serviced' apartment with a service once every 7 days. Location wise its close to the airport.. about 35 Euros by cab. YOu can take a connexion bus to reach there much cheaper probably. There is one major supermarket within walking distance of this apartment. Apartment beds are not that great.. they are not firm enough..Amenities within the apartment are good. staff friendly. However for stays of less than 5 days I would strongly advise Hampton Inn or something in same budget near Schipol. If you are staying longer this is an ideal option.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Balaji R,

Thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments and taking the time in writing a review. Your tips about the location and airport transfer are very correct. We have noted your comment about the apartment bed, thank you for the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you at Htel Serviced Apartments and would once again like to thank you for staying with us.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep & the Htel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Considering the cost, it is a good option for your long stay - having more space and ok furnitures including kitchen area.

improvement area : bed quality, TV quality, breakfast option. - but not a big deal

For the Internet...they should do something about it..
Other than this, quite satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Blueshoe02,

Thank you for taking your time in writing a Tripadvisor review. One that we enjoyed reading. Very good to hear that the price/quality ratio suited you. We will take a good look at the your feedback and would like to thank you for it.

We hope to have you staying with us again in the near future and wish you a very nice day.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep & The Htel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

nice apartments,
Pro
Easy cancellation policy.
clean apartment.

Cons:
There are no shop @ walking distance.
Staff seems rude & racist.
Poor service

Okay to crash for short duration in case your company is paying for it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Mital21,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments. Very pleasant to read that you enjoyed our clean apartments and easy cancellation policy. There actually is a shopping mall (boasting two major supermarkets, postal office, bookstore, pharmacy etc.) within walking distance from Htel (it is no more then a 6 minutes walk). We regret to hear that you did not enjoy our service, something that we are generally renowned for. We take your comments very serious and I will contact you on your known contact details. Thank you for taking the time in writing a review and we wish you a very pleasant day.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep & The Htel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Htel Amstelveen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Htel Amstelveen

Address: Laan van de Helende Meesters 421, 1186 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Htel Amstelveen 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Htel Serviced Apartments is Holland’s premier company in fully furnished corporate housing for executives and business people. The foundation of international companies and their employees in Amsterdam mainly increased the demand for temporary stay. Htel offers expats a distinctive concept that combines the best of both worlds; the benefits of an apartment with the services of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Htel Amstelveen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Htel Amstelveen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.