We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok apts, but..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Htel Amstelveen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Htel Amstelveen to your Saves list
Htel Amstelveen
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Laan van de Helende Meesters 421, 1186 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Ok apts, but..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The apartments are ok for business travelers.
Annoyed that when we arrived we found out there was no breakfast available. Apparently this had to be pre-booked, but the preferred hotels website we were given did not mention this. Be warned..
Bed that parted in the night added to my annoyance and then to return back after asking for a double bed to find the solution was the twin beds pushed against the wall and the bed covers all over the place!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Duncan K,

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review for fellow Tripadvisors and us. We read the read your frustration and are sorry to hear this. As far as the preferred hotels website we would like to ask you to send us the name and link (URL) to our sales@htelapartments.com address, so we can take a look into it. Breakfast is indeed possible, only it has to be pre-booked, since we work with a caterer who brings the fresh food to your apartment.

We apologize for the inconvenience over the beds. We have apartments with double beds and our policy is to switch guests with a double bed requests to a different apartment. I do not know why this did not happen, but will look into it. We take your comments serious and will take it up with the team.

Nonetheless we hope you have enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and look forward to receiving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Katrien Snoep & the Htel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    48
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
10
13
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed in Htel Amstelveen for 2 weeks. The rooms were excellent: spacious, with comfortable beds, sofa, tables, cabinets, TV, etc. The kitchen was fully equipped and I cooked my own food comfortably. The location is near Ouderkerkerlan metro/bus station. Get the weekly or monthly disposable OVI chipkaart for unlimited travels using the Metro and Tram and go to Amsterdam. You can reach Central station in 30 min by metro 51/54. Otherwise, bus 300 of Connexion connect this location to Schipol and Bijlmer Arena. Htel is close to Jumbo, 5 min walking. So get your goods easily and frequently. The Internet connection was weak in my room. I did not use the Spa or swimming pool but they must be good going by the standards of other amenities. In a nutshell, highly recommended for business and pleasure travellers.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms at the periphery like 122 (mine). The Internet connection strength was low
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear, RoopRanjanGhosal

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments and you extensive review. Great to see that you’ve found your way around. Your review was spot-on. One minor add-on to your review; we are indeed near metro station Ouderkerkerlaan (5min walk), however metro 54 does not stop there, only metro 51. Metro 54 can be grabbed at station Bijlmer Arena (reachable by bus 300). Next time you are here, make sure to use the spy and swimming pool, as we are sure you would have enjoyed it.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope to receive you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep & the Htel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was on business trip and stayed in Amstelveen Htel appartments from 19/09/2013 till 28/09/2013. The rooms are good and spacious. All the facilities that are expected in a service appartment are available - coffee maker, rice cooker, utensils/dishes, crockery, microwave, Toaster, Kettle.

Location is outside the city. Near to Ouderkerkerlaan metro/tram/bus station (walkable distance) and 30 mins travel to central station.(It is in the outskirts of the city).

The only drawback I could see was kitchen space. Only one person can stand and somehow manage the cooking. It could have been slightly bigger. Otherwise, good and spacious.

Staff is very helpful and cooperative. Service is prompt. I complained about the internet and there was a person to look into in within 30 mins. Reception closes at 9 pm on weekdays.

Laundry area is available to use 24X7.

Bikes (cycles) are available to borrow. I took a bike couple of times and went for a ride of the surrounding area which is very calm, peaceful and soothing.

Supermarkets are around 7-8 mins walk.

Room service cleans rooms after 5+ nights. A pre check out inspection is done one day prior to checkout. In my case it was done two days before the check out and some feedback on "dishes to be cleaned in the kitchen" provided. I am sure had it been conducted at the right time, it would have been different.

Few takeaway joints deliver food at this place, so you can order food from outside. (Indian Kitchen is one I heard about a lot and tried once but vegetarian food is not so great, may be non-veg food is good).

Breakfast can be ordered at the reception but it is same everyday and has to be ordered one day in advance. No restaurant is available inside the appartments.

Gym/spa and swimming pool are available.

If I go to Amsterdam again I would definitely opt for these appartments again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Himanshu_Sardana,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments and you extensive review. A very helpful review for any guest. It is a pleasure to see that you’ve found your way around the premises and surrounding the surrounding area.

In case you visit Amsterdam again, we will be happy to have you stay with us agian. Thank you once again for your feedback and we wish you a very nice day.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep & the Htel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Good n spacious apartments. Location is a bit out of the city. The sorry part is that they send somone to clean the apartment only once a week. Good for family stay but be prepared to work like you are at your home n not in a hotel apartment. Take your own garbage out n even do the dishes yourself if u have used all the utensils provided in the kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Ashdeep12,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments and for enjoying our spacious apartments. Our location is a 30 minutes (non-stop) tram/metro ride away from the city, of course we always have the city center of Amstelveen one bus stop away. Please make sure to visit the city center of Amstelveen as it has a lot to offer.

The apartments are cleaned once a week and can be cleaned more often if needed (surcharge involved). Other then that, as it is your very own apartment, cleaning is your responsibility. A responsibility that comes with having the freedom of your own temporary apartment.

We would like to thank you for your review and look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep & the Htel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a good place to stay if you are planning a long stay (may be more than a week). It has all the facilities in the hotel. I had little concern over service but considering the easy access to metros, super markets, ATMs etc. this is really a good bet.

The only draw back is they dont have any restaurant. Request based breakfast/lunch/dinner is available from outside but you can't have same stuff on a daily basis.

I enjoyed my stay in this hotel and certainly will look forward for it.

Room Tip: Go for top floor rooms to have a beautiful view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Amitchandras22,

Thank you for your kind review and useful tips for our future guests. Great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. As mentioned we have all the facilities that you will find in your modern day four-star+ hotel, but instead of hotel rooms we have fully furnished apartments. This includes that we have no restaurant on-site, but of course the fully equipped kitchen to cook your own meals. We do have several excellent partners that can deliver breakfast dinner or lunch.

Your feedback is really helpful and once again we would like to thank you for staying with us.

Have a very nice day.

Kind regard,

Katrien Snoep & The Htel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was my Home away from home for more than one month when I was on business to Amsterdam.

The check-in process was really good and thorough. The place was recommended to me by my colleagues.
Pre-booked the same before I landed to avoid surprises. There was a guided check-in wherein the employee walks you through all features of the apartment, facilities offered, and also point to nearby shops, transit points etc.
1) Serviced-apartment: One difference from a Hotel is that you are supposed to have everything ready to cook and live by yourself. This apartment had all utensils, facilities for ironing clothes, cordless vacuum, and a laundry bucket. Ample closets and legroom.

2) Internet: Connection was great, steady. For me, wifi was great.

3) Transportation: The 300 bus service was at Ouderkerkerlaan was what I used. About 5-mins brisk walk from Htel. Frequency was usually every 7 minutes towards town or airport. You also have the Metro station with 51 towards Spaklerweg (for Central).

4) Supermarkets: You have Jumbo and Albert Heijn in about 8-mins walk. They are open till 9pm on most days.

5) Peace: No disturbances of any kind in the apartment complex. Each unit is insular and I rarely heard a noise. Better for business travelers who want some peace and quiet after a long day. Even room cleaning (which was weekly) happens after 9AM.

6) Laundry: The laundry room is well equipped with enough laundry and driers to meet most needs. For expats, the instructions are written in English, since the machines themselves are labeled in Dutch. Also has a table-tennis setup and a vending machine along sofa and TV.

7) Room: Appreciate the separate wooden flooring in Kitchen and dining while living and sleeping areas had carpets. Thoughtful. The Dining lamps were a little too low hanging for my comfort. Lamps were bright enough. Triple curtains over windows. The shades, the white curtains and the blackout curtains which turned day into night -:)

8) Communications: Postal delivery was excellent with your own apartment address and landline phone number. Phone charges were surprisingly cheap (although I dialed only local nos) unlike a Hotel.

9) Service: There was always someone cheerful and friendly to greet you at reception on the way out, and when you return. Someone had mentioned they forgot the key card and had to spend EUR50 to open it late night. Thanks for the tip. Never had such an incident and the key card worked flawlessly. The staff go out of their way to help you, like when I wanted directions to stores or cashing traveler's checks.

The microwave was fixed and replaced even before I knew it had a fault. Thanks!

Special thanks to staff for accommodating my hypo-allergic pillow needs.

10) Faults: I could not find any faults, whatsoever in the room or in the service.
Kindly remember that this is an apartment and not a Hotel room, so like at home, you are expected to maintain it well if you want this to be a Home away from home.

Room Tip: I stayed in 3rd Floor where Wifi was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Freedom_India,

Thank you for your detailed review. It is probably the most detailed review we have received so far, thank you for that. We can clearly see why you experienced our apartments as your ‘’home away from home’’. Every detail mentioned was spot-on and we are glad you appreciated each one of our services. We hope you business went well and look forward to receiving you in the near future.

Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbjerg, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very nice apartments, the staff was extremely service minded, and very helpful.
The hotel was unfortunately a bit far away from the center of Amsterdam, but the citizens of Amsterdam are very helpful, so it was actually not that hard to use the public transport.
I would definitely visit the place again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Tina J,

Thank you for your kind review and of course for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments. We will pass the good note on to our staff. We are also glad to see that you found your way into Amsterdam and we hope it was worth the 40 minutes commute by public transport. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Htel Amstelveen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Htel Amstelveen

Address: Laan van de Helende Meesters 421, 1186 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Htel Amstelveen 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Htel Serviced Apartments is Holland’s premier company in fully furnished corporate housing for executives and business people. The foundation of international companies and their employees in Amsterdam mainly increased the demand for temporary stay. Htel offers expats a distinctive concept that combines the best of both worlds; the benefits of an apartment with the services of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Htel Amstelveen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Htel Amstelveen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.