We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cheerful service, reachable location, and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Htel Amstelveen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Htel Amstelveen to your Saves list
Htel Amstelveen
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Laan van de Helende Meesters 421, 1186 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent cheerful service, reachable location, and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was my Home away from home for more than one month when I was on business to Amsterdam.

The check-in process was really good and thorough. The place was recommended to me by my colleagues.
Pre-booked the same before I landed to avoid surprises. There was a guided check-in wherein the employee walks you through all features of the apartment, facilities offered, and also point to nearby shops, transit points etc.
1) Serviced-apartment: One difference from a Hotel is that you are supposed to have everything ready to cook and live by yourself. This apartment had all utensils, facilities for ironing clothes, cordless vacuum, and a laundry bucket. Ample closets and legroom.

2) Internet: Connection was great, steady. For me, wifi was great.

3) Transportation: The 300 bus service was at Ouderkerkerlaan was what I used. About 5-mins brisk walk from Htel. Frequency was usually every 7 minutes towards town or airport. You also have the Metro station with 51 towards Spaklerweg (for Central).

4) Supermarkets: You have Jumbo and Albert Heijn in about 8-mins walk. They are open till 9pm on most days.

5) Peace: No disturbances of any kind in the apartment complex. Each unit is insular and I rarely heard a noise. Better for business travelers who want some peace and quiet after a long day. Even room cleaning (which was weekly) happens after 9AM.

6) Laundry: The laundry room is well equipped with enough laundry and driers to meet most needs. For expats, the instructions are written in English, since the machines themselves are labeled in Dutch. Also has a table-tennis setup and a vending machine along sofa and TV.

7) Room: Appreciate the separate wooden flooring in Kitchen and dining while living and sleeping areas had carpets. Thoughtful. The Dining lamps were a little too low hanging for my comfort. Lamps were bright enough. Triple curtains over windows. The shades, the white curtains and the blackout curtains which turned day into night -:)

8) Communications: Postal delivery was excellent with your own apartment address and landline phone number. Phone charges were surprisingly cheap (although I dialed only local nos) unlike a Hotel.

9) Service: There was always someone cheerful and friendly to greet you at reception on the way out, and when you return. Someone had mentioned they forgot the key card and had to spend EUR50 to open it late night. Thanks for the tip. Never had such an incident and the key card worked flawlessly. The staff go out of their way to help you, like when I wanted directions to stores or cashing traveler's checks.

The microwave was fixed and replaced even before I knew it had a fault. Thanks!

Special thanks to staff for accommodating my hypo-allergic pillow needs.

10) Faults: I could not find any faults, whatsoever in the room or in the service.
Kindly remember that this is an apartment and not a Hotel room, so like at home, you are expected to maintain it well if you want this to be a Home away from home.

Room Tip: I stayed in 3rd Floor where Wifi was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Freedom_India,

Thank you for your detailed review. It is probably the most detailed review we have received so far, thank you for that. We can clearly see why you experienced our apartments as your ‘’home away from home’’. Every detail mentioned was spot-on and we are glad you appreciated each one of our services. We hope you business went well and look forward to receiving you in the near future.

Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    48
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
10
13
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Esbjerg, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very nice apartments, the staff was extremely service minded, and very helpful.
The hotel was unfortunately a bit far away from the center of Amsterdam, but the citizens of Amsterdam are very helpful, so it was actually not that hard to use the public transport.
I would definitely visit the place again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Tina J,

Thank you for your kind review and of course for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments. We will pass the good note on to our staff. We are also glad to see that you found your way into Amsterdam and we hope it was worth the 40 minutes commute by public transport. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I've been there for business and my wife also joined me for the stay.
at first we got a very neglected room on the second floor with stain on the sofa and on the carpet and after we complained they change our room to a newer one which was nice overall.
the main problem in this hotel that they doesn't supply anything with the room, no coffee or sugar and even not a salt or a soap for washing the dishes.There's a kitchen but it was very old with microwave\oven that was berry work and do a scary noise like it's going to explode and a kettle full of rust.
We've stayed in the hotel for one week and even ones they didn't clean it even though they wrote on their welcome guide that there are bi weekly cleaning of the rooms, exactly like they wrote on their website that there's an air-condition on the room which is a lie.
the spa in the hotel was nice though.
overall I really don't recommend this hotel, there're much better hotels for that price (my company paid 95 euro per night).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Baruch_men,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments and sharing your experience with us. Your feedback about the apartments and amenities is immensely valuable to us. Our apologies for the stains in your carpet, state of your microwave/oven and kettle.

As a Serviced Apartment provider we provide you with all the necessities to give you your home away from home experience. These necessities include all types of equipment such as a rice cooker, Senseo (coffee) machine, pots, pans, iron -and iron board etc. The contents are for the guest his/her own account.

The cleaning is indeed bi-weekly, which means that if you stay with us for one week, cleaning is done at the end of your stay (not during your stay). Extra linen and towels can always be requested at the Resident Service Desk. As I do not know your actual name and cannot find your reservation, I do not know what apartment you have stayed in. We do however have apartments with air-conditionings, which can be booked. These have to be booked up-front or during your stay at the Resident Service Desk.

If possible could you provide us with your name and e-mail address through sales@htelapartments.com in order for us to come with an appropriate response.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great space and with all the things you need to feel like home. With good transportation nearby and supermarkets, you can easily go anywhere and buy all the things you need to eat at home.
Nice and quite place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear PetrusOliveira,

First of all we would to thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments. Very pleasant to read about the positive experience you have had with us. Good to see that you found your way around the premises and the vicinity. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samui
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed 6 months at Htel. The staff was friendly and always helpful, they took good care of me. I felt at home. I would stay at Htel again and I definitely recommend it. The bus system is convenient. There is a supermarket close by and a commercial center a short bus ride or bike ride away. I walked to work, the neighbourhood is nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Gisele L,

Thank you very much for your kind review. Very lovely to hear that you experienced Htel as your ‘’Home Away from Home’’. We hope your work assignment went well and look forward to receiving you again in the near future. Be it for holiday or work. Thank you for your recommendation and have a very nice day.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed in for week.

Room - The room is clean, large and very functional to stay for long term. The bed was a bid too soft for my liking and a little small for 2 people. There was an interesting Pillow Menu. The cleaning happens weekly, I didn't get to know about it earlier as it was company booked. Also dishes are your responsibility even on cleaning day and even last day :(. The kitchen has almost all required utensils in set of fours - so cleaning after every meal is chore - www.thuisbezorgd.nl/en can help you order online. Welcome pack was a fair deal.

Internet - The WiFi was a perennial problem and I think LAN too is not more than 1 Mbps (maybe too many people Skyping home - but its supposed to be high speed).

Location - Amsterdam Central is 40-45 minutes by Metro & Metro is 5 mins walk. From Schipol Airport you can take Bus # 300 (Outer Ker Kerlan - 4 eur) or 199 (Ziekenhuis - closer to hotel, but limited service). It takes typically 25 minutes to reach from airport. Front desk is happy to book a taxi to airport (and otherwise) which is 38 Eur and fairly competitive.

Washing - Have 7-8 washing machines and similar no. of driers- however limited timings - closes around 8 when usually people might be coming back from work

Gym - 2 Treadmills and host of other machines - was mostly empty so you can use it

Swimming pool and Spa: Swimming pool is more like a kiddie pool. Spa was excellent! Again timing restrictions are something I didn't appreciate.

Front Desk - Always helpful and willing to sort out stuff. Thanks all the Front Desk.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Jasprit

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments and your extensive review. Your experience and feedback is extremely helpful to us and we will take this up with the rest of the team. It goes without saying that we hope to have you staying with us again in the near future. Do not hesitate to send any queries that you have to sales@htelapartments.com

Kind regards,
Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyberflânerie
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Traveled to Amsterdam for work, stayed at Htel Amstelveen for three weeks. It was pleasant, but somewhat inconvenient for my purposes. The location in Amstelveen is probably better suited for business travelers who are working with companies in Amstelveen rather than Amsterdam. The neighborhood is mostly a suburban business park with few interesting sights nearby, and Amsterdam Centraal station is about 45 minutes away by metro.

The room itself was comfortable and included a basic kitchen with some useful equipment (including a toaster and a rice cooker, much to my surprise). This, combined with the presence of two supermarkets down the street made it very easy for me to prepare my own meals. The only minor fault here was that the stove did not have a working automatic igniter, but a spark lighter was provided to address this.

It's important to understand that this isn't a hotel but a "serviced apartment," so the typical expectations of "room service" don't really apply. Cleaning is done weekly and for the rest of the time, you are on your own.

There's some basic fitness facilities on site. The gym has several fancy machines, but strangely enough no free weights. There's also a tiny swimming pool, basically only good for one or two people at a time.

Wi-fi signal wasn't great, but hooking in with an ethernet cable makes things work much more smoothly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear TrapDivisor,

First of all we would like to mention what a great pleasure it is receiving a review from such a seasoned Tripadvisor like yourself. We are very pleased to see that overall experience of your stay with us was good and would like to thank you for your feedback.

Great to see that you found your way into Amsterdam with the nearby metro station, and that you found your way to grocery and shopping facilities in the vicinity of Htel Amstelveen. We will take a look into our Wi-Fi connection to have it working optimal for every occasion.

It goes without saying that we look forward to receiving you in the near future and wish you a very pleasant day.

Kind regards,
Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Htel Amstelveen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Htel Amstelveen

Address: Laan van de Helende Meesters 421, 1186 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Htel Amstelveen 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Htel Serviced Apartments is Holland’s premier company in fully furnished corporate housing for executives and business people. The foundation of international companies and their employees in Amsterdam mainly increased the demand for temporary stay. Htel offers expats a distinctive concept that combines the best of both worlds; the benefits of an apartment with the services of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Htel Amstelveen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Htel Amstelveen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.