We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Htel Amstelveen

Save Saved
You added Htel Amstelveen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Htel Amstelveen
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Laan van de Helende Meesters 421, 1186 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I've been there for business and my wife also joined me for the stay.
at first we got a very neglected room on the second floor with stain on the sofa and on the carpet and after we complained they change our room to a newer one which was nice overall.
the main problem in this hotel that they doesn't supply anything with the room, no coffee or sugar and even not a salt or a soap for washing the dishes.There's a kitchen but it was very old with microwave\oven that was berry work and do a scary noise like it's going to explode and a kettle full of rust.
We've stayed in the hotel for one week and even ones they didn't clean it even though they wrote on their welcome guide that there are bi weekly cleaning of the rooms, exactly like they wrote on their website that there's an air-condition on the room which is a lie.
the spa in the hotel was nice though.
overall I really don't recommend this hotel, there're much better hotels for that price (my company paid 95 euro per night).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Baruch_men,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments and sharing your experience with us. Your feedback about the apartments and amenities is immensely valuable to us. Our apologies for the stains in your carpet, state of your microwave/oven and kettle.

As a Serviced Apartment provider we provide you with all the necessities to give you your home away from home experience. These necessities include all types of equipment such as a rice cooker, Senseo (coffee) machine, pots, pans, iron -and iron board etc. The contents are for the guest his/her own account.

The cleaning is indeed bi-weekly, which means that if you stay with us for one week, cleaning is done at the end of your stay (not during your stay). Extra linen and towels can always be requested at the Resident Service Desk. As I do not know your actual name and cannot find your reservation, I do not know what apartment you have stayed in. We do however have apartments with air-conditionings, which can be booked. These have to be booked up-front or during your stay at the Resident Service Desk.

If possible could you provide us with your name and e-mail address through sales@htelapartments.com in order for us to come with an appropriate response.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    42
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
9
12
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great space and with all the things you need to feel like home. With good transportation nearby and supermarkets, you can easily go anywhere and buy all the things you need to eat at home.
Nice and quite place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear PetrusOliveira,

First of all we would to thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments. Very pleasant to read about the positive experience you have had with us. Good to see that you found your way around the premises and the vicinity. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samui
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed 6 months at Htel. The staff was friendly and always helpful, they took good care of me. I felt at home. I would stay at Htel again and I definitely recommend it. The bus system is convenient. There is a supermarket close by and a commercial center a short bus ride or bike ride away. I walked to work, the neighbourhood is nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Gisele L,

Thank you very much for your kind review. Very lovely to hear that you experienced Htel as your ‘’Home Away from Home’’. We hope your work assignment went well and look forward to receiving you again in the near future. Be it for holiday or work. Thank you for your recommendation and have a very nice day.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed in for week.

Room - The room is clean, large and very functional to stay for long term. The bed was a bid too soft for my liking and a little small for 2 people. There was an interesting Pillow Menu. The cleaning happens weekly, I didn't get to know about it earlier as it was company booked. Also dishes are your responsibility even on cleaning day and even last day :(. The kitchen has almost all required utensils in set of fours - so cleaning after every meal is chore - www.thuisbezorgd.nl/en can help you order online. Welcome pack was a fair deal.

Internet - The WiFi was a perennial problem and I think LAN too is not more than 1 Mbps (maybe too many people Skyping home - but its supposed to be high speed).

Location - Amsterdam Central is 40-45 minutes by Metro & Metro is 5 mins walk. From Schipol Airport you can take Bus # 300 (Outer Ker Kerlan - 4 eur) or 199 (Ziekenhuis - closer to hotel, but limited service). It takes typically 25 minutes to reach from airport. Front desk is happy to book a taxi to airport (and otherwise) which is 38 Eur and fairly competitive.

Washing - Have 7-8 washing machines and similar no. of driers- however limited timings - closes around 8 when usually people might be coming back from work

Gym - 2 Treadmills and host of other machines - was mostly empty so you can use it

Swimming pool and Spa: Swimming pool is more like a kiddie pool. Spa was excellent! Again timing restrictions are something I didn't appreciate.

Front Desk - Always helpful and willing to sort out stuff. Thanks all the Front Desk.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Jasprit

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments and your extensive review. Your experience and feedback is extremely helpful to us and we will take this up with the rest of the team. It goes without saying that we hope to have you staying with us again in the near future. Do not hesitate to send any queries that you have to sales@htelapartments.com

Kind regards,
Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyberflânerie
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Traveled to Amsterdam for work, stayed at Htel Amstelveen for three weeks. It was pleasant, but somewhat inconvenient for my purposes. The location in Amstelveen is probably better suited for business travelers who are working with companies in Amstelveen rather than Amsterdam. The neighborhood is mostly a suburban business park with few interesting sights nearby, and Amsterdam Centraal station is about 45 minutes away by metro.

The room itself was comfortable and included a basic kitchen with some useful equipment (including a toaster and a rice cooker, much to my surprise). This, combined with the presence of two supermarkets down the street made it very easy for me to prepare my own meals. The only minor fault here was that the stove did not have a working automatic igniter, but a spark lighter was provided to address this.

It's important to understand that this isn't a hotel but a "serviced apartment," so the typical expectations of "room service" don't really apply. Cleaning is done weekly and for the rest of the time, you are on your own.

There's some basic fitness facilities on site. The gym has several fancy machines, but strangely enough no free weights. There's also a tiny swimming pool, basically only good for one or two people at a time.

Wi-fi signal wasn't great, but hooking in with an ethernet cable makes things work much more smoothly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear TrapDivisor,

First of all we would like to mention what a great pleasure it is receiving a review from such a seasoned Tripadvisor like yourself. We are very pleased to see that overall experience of your stay with us was good and would like to thank you for your feedback.

Great to see that you found your way into Amsterdam with the nearby metro station, and that you found your way to grocery and shopping facilities in the vicinity of Htel Amstelveen. We will take a look into our Wi-Fi connection to have it working optimal for every occasion.

It goes without saying that we look forward to receiving you in the near future and wish you a very pleasant day.

Kind regards,
Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Nice apartments with own kitchen, living- bed- & bathroom. Excellent place for a long stay if you want to do some cooking. Apartments are clean, nice in a quite and secure place. Friendly and nice service!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear ENIS1304,

Thank you for taking the time in writing this kind review. Very pleasant to read that we managed to make your stay an enjoyable one. As you mentioned our apartments are excellent for cooking, so we hope you have had some pleasant meals with us.

Thank you once again for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments and we look forward to receiving you again.

Kind regards,
Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I am currently staying in this very pleasant hotel that is a hotel in the form of very nicely equipt appartments. Friendly staff welcomed me at the entrance and escorted me after the intake straight to my room. We viewed the gym and the swinning pool.
The room is very nice with a comfortable couch fuly equipt kitchen and a dinning table, now in use as desk. Large window give you a stunning view of the buildings as well as the farmland around Amstelveen. This place does medum to longterm living facilities for project managers, programmers as well as visitors who afe here to look for new oppertunities.
Shop are at walking distance, all kinds of public transport is a hop skip and jump away.

Room Tip: I'm on the 11th floor, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Mark B.

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review. It was very pleasant to read your review and to see that you found your around our facilities inside and around Htel Serviced Apartments. The room tip is definitely a good one as all of our apartments on the higher floors have a stunning view of the surrounding area.

We hope that you are enjoying our facilities and the overall stay. If you have any queries, please know that our Resident Service Desk is there to help you.

Kind regards,
Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Htel Amstelveen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Htel Amstelveen

Address: Laan van de Helende Meesters 421, 1186 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Htel Amstelveen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Htel Serviced Apartments is Holland’s premier company in fully furnished corporate housing for executives and business people. The foundation of international companies and their employees in Amsterdam mainly increased the demand for temporary stay. Htel offers expats a distinctive concept that combines the best of both worlds; the benefits of an apartment with the services of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Htel Amstelveen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Htel Amstelveen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.