We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an extended stay, but a bit far from Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Htel Amstelveen

Save Saved
You added Htel Amstelveen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Htel Amstelveen
Laan van de Helende Meesters 421, Amsterdam 1186 AL, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Cyberflânerie
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good for an extended stay, but a bit far from Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Traveled to Amsterdam for work, stayed at Htel Amstelveen for three weeks. It was pleasant, but somewhat inconvenient for my purposes. The location in Amstelveen is probably better suited for business travelers who are working with companies in Amstelveen rather than Amsterdam. The neighborhood is mostly a suburban business park with few interesting sights nearby, and Amsterdam Centraal station is about 45 minutes away by metro.

The room itself was comfortable and included a basic kitchen with some useful equipment (including a toaster and a rice cooker, much to my surprise). This, combined with the presence of two supermarkets down the street made it very easy for me to prepare my own meals. The only minor fault here was that the stove did not have a working automatic igniter, but a spark lighter was provided to address this.

It's important to understand that this isn't a hotel but a "serviced apartment," so the typical expectations of "room service" don't really apply. Cleaning is done weekly and for the rest of the time, you are on your own.

There's some basic fitness facilities on site. The gym has several fancy machines, but strangely enough no free weights. There's also a tiny swimming pool, basically only good for one or two people at a time.

Wi-fi signal wasn't great, but hooking in with an ethernet cable makes things work much more smoothly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear TrapDivisor,

First of all we would like to mention what a great pleasure it is receiving a review from such a seasoned Tripadvisor like yourself. We are very pleased to see that overall experience of your stay with us was good and would like to thank you for your feedback.

Great to see that you found your way into Amsterdam with the nearby metro station, and that you found your way to grocery and shopping facilities in the vicinity of Htel Amstelveen. We will take a look into our Wi-Fi connection to have it working optimal for every occasion.

It goes without saying that we look forward to receiving you in the near future and wish you a very pleasant day.

Kind regards,
Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    38
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
8
12
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Nice apartments with own kitchen, living- bed- & bathroom. Excellent place for a long stay if you want to do some cooking. Apartments are clean, nice in a quite and secure place. Friendly and nice service!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear ENIS1304,

Thank you for taking the time in writing this kind review. Very pleasant to read that we managed to make your stay an enjoyable one. As you mentioned our apartments are excellent for cooking, so we hope you have had some pleasant meals with us.

Thank you once again for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments and we look forward to receiving you again.

Kind regards,
Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I am currently staying in this very pleasant hotel that is a hotel in the form of very nicely equipt appartments. Friendly staff welcomed me at the entrance and escorted me after the intake straight to my room. We viewed the gym and the swinning pool.
The room is very nice with a comfortable couch fuly equipt kitchen and a dinning table, now in use as desk. Large window give you a stunning view of the buildings as well as the farmland around Amstelveen. This place does medum to longterm living facilities for project managers, programmers as well as visitors who afe here to look for new oppertunities.
Shop are at walking distance, all kinds of public transport is a hop skip and jump away.

Room Tip: I'm on the 11th floor, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Mark B.

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review. It was very pleasant to read your review and to see that you found your around our facilities inside and around Htel Serviced Apartments. The room tip is definitely a good one as all of our apartments on the higher floors have a stunning view of the surrounding area.

We hope that you are enjoying our facilities and the overall stay. If you have any queries, please know that our Resident Service Desk is there to help you.

Kind regards,
Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Htel is a good combination between apartment and hotel. The apartments are very quite and sunny. It's a good choice in case you need to stay for a long period in Amsterdam for business reasons. The wifi connection is not very good but with the cable you can serf on the internet quite well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear AAbate86,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. Very good to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the quietness of the apartments and the surrounding neighborhood. As mentioned by you the apartments are excellent for the longer stays, but are also excellent for stays of a few weeks. Indeed we have a wireless internet connection as well as a wired connection throughout the complex. We will take a look at the wireless connection to make sure it works to it's full potential.

Furthermore we hope you are doing well and would like to thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments. Have a very great day.

Kind regards,
Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed in Htel Amstelveen for business purpose a whole week, it is my first time in serviced apartments so it was a bit shock to me that no one comes to clean the apartment daily but it seems that what a serviced apartment is (why it is serviced anyway!).
all the facilities are working as expected:
1- no problems with hot water
2- there is an iron
3- a TV and High speed internet
4- a microwave and a cooker
5- a minibar
so you are ready to go to live in your temp home.

as a plus they offer you a 3 hours of free biking or a full day for 5 Euros which pretty neat.
in addation, there is a SPA, a sauna and a lounge.

BEWARE: don't ever come after 21:00 with no key card, you will have to call the security and the call will cost you 56 Euros, yes, there is no missing dot between the five and the six!!!

Also, when i booked the hotel on the web the apartment cost me 125 Euros per night, when i arrived and while checking in the receptionist said that it is 80 Euros (here is thought that there are levels of apartments) i told him i booked the apartment for 125 Euro, he called some guys and spoke in Dutch which i know nothing about it and in the end he said, yes, there was a mistake it is 125 Euros (was there a mistake or i am being fooled? i wonder, i know the management keeps an eye on it's reviews on TripAdvisor and i would like to hear from them)

Other than that there is nothing wrong with the Apartment they do what they say, but i don't think i will be there again unless there was no other choice, i just can't get used to the serviced apartment concept that is not daily serviced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Moutaz S,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments. Indeed we keep an eye on our Tripadvisor reviews, so it is great to see that you are sharing your experience with us and that we were the first to give you a Serviced Apartment experience. We hope your business went well and that overall your stay with us was an enjoyable one.

Good to see that we managed your expectations facility wise and location wise and that you used our extra’s such as our bicycles and spa.

As it is your first encounter with a Serviced Apartment we can understand the question about the cleaning. Cleaning with us is done once a week, but can be done on a daily bases if requested. To manage expectations and be transparent about our product we do communicate this on our website and throughout the booking process. Extra cleaning does come with a surcharge. However each apartment is equipped with the necessary cleaning items to tidy up the apartment in the mean time.

We do not have a 24/7 Resident Service Desk, so when our desk closes at 21:00 you can only enter the premises with a key card. To further ensure safety of all our guest we work with a private security firm who can be called upon when losing a key or other calamities. We do communicate this in your confirmation as well as the welcome letter in the apartments. However this does come with the charge you mentioned below without a dot between the five and the six.

Concerning the rate our Resident Service Agent made a phone call with our Reservation Department to ensure that you did not pay to much. The Reservation Department then confirmed that the rate which was quoted online was indeed the correct rate.

We do hope we will get the chance to show you why Htel Serviced Apartments is the right choice when it comes to Serviced Apartments.

Once more we would like to thank you for staying with us and we wish you a very nice day.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed 5 weeks at Htel in Amstelveen while I was moving to Amsterdam for work.
The apartment is spacious, has all necessary items and there is Wifi. The residence offers a gym and laundromat free of charge. There is a free parking. Most of the staff is polite and helpful.

However, the value for money is rather poor: I stayed 35 nights at a rate of 110 euros per night. You have to pay the full amount in advance. The reception is closed after 9pm. The cleaning service is done only once a week and you get only one set of amenities in the bathroom during your stay. The surroundings are quite depressing, there is just a small shopping center nearby.

For about 10 euros more, I could have stayed in a 4-star hotel breakfast and daily cleaning included in a similar neighborhood. Or get a nice temporary furnished apartment in Amsterdam city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Alex13031974,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments and taking the time in sharing your experience with fellow Tripadvisors and us. We hope your work here in Amsterdam went well. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the Htel service of free parking, free wifi and our helpful staff at the reception desk.

We are sorry to hear that the value for money was quite poor in your eyes. Htel strives to give you that extra service which you would not expect in your everyday Serviced Apartment. We offer you twice the size for a very affordable price, including a fully equipped kitchen, free laundry services, weekly cleanings. We hope you enjoyed our wellness facilities, fitness and pool. Furthermore we are well away from the hassle of the busy center of Amsterdam, however this is within hands reach, due to excellent metro and bus connections. Next time please ask our helpful staff about the vicinity of Htel Amstelveen as the city heart with it’s cafés, movie theaters, luxury warehouses and restaurants is just one bus stop away (a 10-15 minute walk).

None the less we would like to thank you for your feedback and we will take everything into consideration and discuss this with the rest of the team.

It goes without saying that we are looking forward to having you stay with us again to show you why Htel Serviced Apartments is good value for your money. We wish you a very nice day.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hi ,

I had been at Htel Amsteveen service apartment for about 2 weeks for business visit. The apartment is nice spacious and has all the necessary items. Also as i was on 9th floor, The view outside is great

The staff are very polite and helpful, if i happen to visit Amsterdam again, then my stay will surely be at Htel.

The only drawback i felt was the beds in the room were two single beds, i would rather prefer one double bed rather than two single.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear saratn_13,

First of all we would like to thank you for the wonderful review, very good to hear that you enjoyed your stay the way you did. Amongst many things the view and the staff, things we will definitely inform our staff about.

Furthermore we would like to thank you for your feedback about the beds. When staying with us in the future please state this as a preference so we can allocate you properly.

Last but not least, we are highly delighted to read that we can expect you back with us when returning to Amsterdam. We hope your business went well and would like to thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Htel Amstelveen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Htel Amstelveen

Address: Laan van de Helende Meesters 421, Amsterdam 1186 AL, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 168 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Htel Serviced Apartments is Holland’s premier company in fully furnished corporate housing for executives and business people. The foundation of international companies and their employees in Amsterdam mainly increased the demand for temporary stay. Htel offers expats a distinctive concept that combines the best of both worlds; the benefits of an apartment with the services of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Htel Amstelveen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Htel Amstelveen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.