We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place one call a home away from home....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Htel Amstelveen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Htel Amstelveen to your Saves list
Htel Amstelveen
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Laan van de Helende Meesters 421, 1186 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A place one call a home away from home....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I am currently staying in this very pleasant hotel that is a hotel in the form of very nicely equipt appartments. Friendly staff welcomed me at the entrance and escorted me after the intake straight to my room. We viewed the gym and the swinning pool.
The room is very nice with a comfortable couch fuly equipt kitchen and a dinning table, now in use as desk. Large window give you a stunning view of the buildings as well as the farmland around Amstelveen. This place does medum to longterm living facilities for project managers, programmers as well as visitors who afe here to look for new oppertunities.
Shop are at walking distance, all kinds of public transport is a hop skip and jump away.

Room Tip: I'm on the 11th floor, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Mark B.

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review. It was very pleasant to read your review and to see that you found your around our facilities inside and around Htel Serviced Apartments. The room tip is definitely a good one as all of our apartments on the higher floors have a stunning view of the surrounding area.

We hope that you are enjoying our facilities and the overall stay. If you have any queries, please know that our Resident Service Desk is there to help you.

Kind regards,
Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    49
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
11
13
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Htel is a good combination between apartment and hotel. The apartments are very quite and sunny. It's a good choice in case you need to stay for a long period in Amsterdam for business reasons. The wifi connection is not very good but with the cable you can serf on the internet quite well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear AAbate86,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. Very good to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the quietness of the apartments and the surrounding neighborhood. As mentioned by you the apartments are excellent for the longer stays, but are also excellent for stays of a few weeks. Indeed we have a wireless internet connection as well as a wired connection throughout the complex. We will take a look at the wireless connection to make sure it works to it's full potential.

Furthermore we hope you are doing well and would like to thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments. Have a very great day.

Kind regards,
Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed in Htel Amstelveen for business purpose a whole week, it is my first time in serviced apartments so it was a bit shock to me that no one comes to clean the apartment daily but it seems that what a serviced apartment is (why it is serviced anyway!).
all the facilities are working as expected:
1- no problems with hot water
2- there is an iron
3- a TV and High speed internet
4- a microwave and a cooker
5- a minibar
so you are ready to go to live in your temp home.

as a plus they offer you a 3 hours of free biking or a full day for 5 Euros which pretty neat.
in addation, there is a SPA, a sauna and a lounge.

BEWARE: don't ever come after 21:00 with no key card, you will have to call the security and the call will cost you 56 Euros, yes, there is no missing dot between the five and the six!!!

Also, when i booked the hotel on the web the apartment cost me 125 Euros per night, when i arrived and while checking in the receptionist said that it is 80 Euros (here is thought that there are levels of apartments) i told him i booked the apartment for 125 Euro, he called some guys and spoke in Dutch which i know nothing about it and in the end he said, yes, there was a mistake it is 125 Euros (was there a mistake or i am being fooled? i wonder, i know the management keeps an eye on it's reviews on TripAdvisor and i would like to hear from them)

Other than that there is nothing wrong with the Apartment they do what they say, but i don't think i will be there again unless there was no other choice, i just can't get used to the serviced apartment concept that is not daily serviced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Moutaz S,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments. Indeed we keep an eye on our Tripadvisor reviews, so it is great to see that you are sharing your experience with us and that we were the first to give you a Serviced Apartment experience. We hope your business went well and that overall your stay with us was an enjoyable one.

Good to see that we managed your expectations facility wise and location wise and that you used our extra’s such as our bicycles and spa.

As it is your first encounter with a Serviced Apartment we can understand the question about the cleaning. Cleaning with us is done once a week, but can be done on a daily bases if requested. To manage expectations and be transparent about our product we do communicate this on our website and throughout the booking process. Extra cleaning does come with a surcharge. However each apartment is equipped with the necessary cleaning items to tidy up the apartment in the mean time.

We do not have a 24/7 Resident Service Desk, so when our desk closes at 21:00 you can only enter the premises with a key card. To further ensure safety of all our guest we work with a private security firm who can be called upon when losing a key or other calamities. We do communicate this in your confirmation as well as the welcome letter in the apartments. However this does come with the charge you mentioned below without a dot between the five and the six.

Concerning the rate our Resident Service Agent made a phone call with our Reservation Department to ensure that you did not pay to much. The Reservation Department then confirmed that the rate which was quoted online was indeed the correct rate.

We do hope we will get the chance to show you why Htel Serviced Apartments is the right choice when it comes to Serviced Apartments.

Once more we would like to thank you for staying with us and we wish you a very nice day.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed 5 weeks at Htel in Amstelveen while I was moving to Amsterdam for work.
The apartment is spacious, has all necessary items and there is Wifi. The residence offers a gym and laundromat free of charge. There is a free parking. Most of the staff is polite and helpful.

However, the value for money is rather poor: I stayed 35 nights at a rate of 110 euros per night. You have to pay the full amount in advance. The reception is closed after 9pm. The cleaning service is done only once a week and you get only one set of amenities in the bathroom during your stay. The surroundings are quite depressing, there is just a small shopping center nearby.

For about 10 euros more, I could have stayed in a 4-star hotel breakfast and daily cleaning included in a similar neighborhood. Or get a nice temporary furnished apartment in Amsterdam city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Alex13031974,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments and taking the time in sharing your experience with fellow Tripadvisors and us. We hope your work here in Amsterdam went well. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the Htel service of free parking, free wifi and our helpful staff at the reception desk.

We are sorry to hear that the value for money was quite poor in your eyes. Htel strives to give you that extra service which you would not expect in your everyday Serviced Apartment. We offer you twice the size for a very affordable price, including a fully equipped kitchen, free laundry services, weekly cleanings. We hope you enjoyed our wellness facilities, fitness and pool. Furthermore we are well away from the hassle of the busy center of Amsterdam, however this is within hands reach, due to excellent metro and bus connections. Next time please ask our helpful staff about the vicinity of Htel Amstelveen as the city heart with it’s cafés, movie theaters, luxury warehouses and restaurants is just one bus stop away (a 10-15 minute walk).

None the less we would like to thank you for your feedback and we will take everything into consideration and discuss this with the rest of the team.

It goes without saying that we are looking forward to having you stay with us again to show you why Htel Serviced Apartments is good value for your money. We wish you a very nice day.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hi ,

I had been at Htel Amsteveen service apartment for about 2 weeks for business visit. The apartment is nice spacious and has all the necessary items. Also as i was on 9th floor, The view outside is great

The staff are very polite and helpful, if i happen to visit Amsterdam again, then my stay will surely be at Htel.

The only drawback i felt was the beds in the room were two single beds, i would rather prefer one double bed rather than two single.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear saratn_13,

First of all we would like to thank you for the wonderful review, very good to hear that you enjoyed your stay the way you did. Amongst many things the view and the staff, things we will definitely inform our staff about.

Furthermore we would like to thank you for your feedback about the beds. When staying with us in the future please state this as a preference so we can allocate you properly.

Last but not least, we are highly delighted to read that we can expect you back with us when returning to Amsterdam. We hope your business went well and would like to thank you for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I checked in to this apartment few days back and I am delighted with the amenities and ease here.

The room gives a nice view of the tiny canals running through the city. The room is equipped with almost everything one would need for a comfortable stay away from home.

The Gym, Laundromat, and recreation facilities are also perfect for the Business travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear abhinav_saraf,

Thank you for your positive review and for choosing Htel Serviced Apartments. Great to see that you enjoyed the green surroundings of Htel Amstelveen, the facilities and the apartments themselves.

We hope that we were able to give you that comfortable stay away from home, and of course look forward to receiving you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli, Italia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

HTel motto is not so far away from reality.
I really felt like I was at my own home. I've been in a Corneille apartment (about 45 m2). The apartment is spacious and comfortable, equipped with a lot of IKEA furnitures. Kitchen is well equipped with pots and pans. Comfortable too is the little living room and the bed (maybe just the pillows where a little bit unconfortable: too small and high).
The reception guys are nice and kind. They answered patiently to all my questions and they have been helpful for every need.
There is also a free laundrette with washing machines and dryers (in the apartment you can find iron and ironing board).
The sauna and turkish bath are tiny but comfortable... they do their work!
Well connected with public transport (it is 5 minutes walk from metro and bus stations): you can buy tickets at the reception. If you got a car there is also a free spacious parking area.
5 minutes walk away from a mall (Jumbo).
If I have to find a fault, the internet connection was a little bit unreliable. I used it in the evening, when all residents came back to their apartment so I suppose the line was a little bit congested.
In the end, if you need to stay in Amsterdam for more than a week, Htel apartments is the best solution.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrien S, General Manager at Htel Amstelveen, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Nestore81,

Thank you very much for your extensive review of our apartments in Amstelveen. It is great to see that you experienced Htel as we hope that all our guest do, ‘’like it is your own home away from home’’. Lovely to see how you’re describing the different features and add-ons of our concept and thank you for the feedback about the pillows and internet connection. We would like to thank you for your stay with us and hope we can be of service to you again in the near future.

P.S. For your next stay please know that we have a pillow menu in every apartment, from which you can select different types of pillows. This should make your rest at night more comfortable.

Kind regards,

Katrien Snoep and the Htel Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Htel Amstelveen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Htel Amstelveen

Address: Laan van de Helende Meesters 421, 1186 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Htel Amstelveen 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Htel Serviced Apartments is Holland's first company in fully furnished corporate housing for executives and business people. The foundation of international companies and their employees in Amsterdam mainly increased the demand for temporary stay. Htel offers expats a distinctive concept that combines the best of both worlds; the benefits of an apartment with the services of a hotel. Htel Serviced Apartments is unique bescuase it's based on full service, including all the services you are used to expect in a five star hotel. Htel is your home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Htel Amstelveen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Htel Amstelveen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.