We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steakhouse Piet de Leeuw

Steakhouse Piet de Leeuw
Noorderstraat 11, 1017 TR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31 (0) 20 6237181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,008 of 2,465 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We went here one evening and had a good time. It was packed with locals, which is always a good sign to me. We ended up sharing a table, which was fun.
The fillet steak was very well cooked and the sides of chips and salad were good too. Not the cheapest place, but good food!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    79
    32
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Very good value and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We ate twice here in our 4 night stay. The daily specials were lovely. Very busy with locals and tourists alike. You may need to share a large table with others but that adds to the ambience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“It became our local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We ate here no less than four times for dinner during a nine day visit because of the quality of the food and the lively, friendly atmosphere. The menu was broad and we easily found different choices which suited us each time we ate here. The filet mignon in Stroganoff sauce I had one evening was the finest I have ever eaten. While they largely cater for couples and foursomes in the center they have a large rectangular table which seats at least 12 people and it was more often than not being used every time we ate there. The service was excellent and we felt we had good value for our money.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Meat lovers heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Dropped into this dark and cosy steakhouse after following our guidebook recommendation - My wife had a steak tenderloin and I had a pork fillet both came with copious quantities of frites - delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had a lovely meal here. The food was really tasty and it had great atmosphere. Staff very friendly

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steakhouse Piet de Leeuw also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Steakhouse Piet de Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steakhouse Piet de Leeuw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.