We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Het Melkmeisje

Het Melkmeisje
Zeedijk 19, 1012AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
+31206250640
Improve this listing
Ranked #495 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Small, but great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by a flight attendant on my flight to Amsterdam. We walked past it a couple of times (it was too early), but finally got in one night. It was worth the wait. The restaurant is small and their menu is somewhat limited. I had the special (Guinea hen) and my husband had the ostrich. Both were incredible. We were too full for dessert...would have liked to have tried something tho. Next time! It is small and was "smaller" because there was a big group that came in just after we did, but it was fun being "part" of their group. The kitchen is somewhat visible from the dining room and I can't imagine how the chef turns out such wonderful dishes in that small space! It is in a fringe area and there is a LOT of foot traffic outside, but it is really a sweet little place. We'll go back to this one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    19
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Flew 4000+ Miles For Dinner...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is now my forth time at this restaurant and I can't pass through Europe without now stopping in Amsterdam and having dinner. I find myself making up reasons to go and justifying it to my boss so that Amsterdam is part of my travel iteniery just so that I can stop and have dinner.

As in past reviews, I can't get enough of this restaurant. It's located in Amsterdam a brisk walk from the Central Station and very close to the red light district. The area is very "alternative" and it's totally surrounded by gay bars, but don't let that detour you in anyway.

This is a SMALL place. Less than ten tables, a single waiter and a single chef. So, if you're on a schedule or not interested in a two hour dinner experience, then look elsewhere.

The wine list is extensive, all reasonably priced, opened table side and served with proper glassware.

I always get the same thing, so I'm not a great review from that’s point of view. The fresh country pate as an appetizer and the grilled ostrich as an entre. Usually a nice french Boudreaux with dinner and then one of their many vintage ports with a cheese plate for desert.

With appetizers, drinks, desert and coffee it works out to about 50 Euro per person. To me a GREAT DEAL for the quality of food, atmosphere and overall experience.

Again, this is one of my ten favorite places on the planet, so I strongly recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't trust the previous reviews…”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant does not worth a visit - very slow service (which I was fine as I could not tolerate then I smiled to get the menu and ask for water and get the table previous leftover cleaned after long long wait), mediocre food (especially the so-called commended ostrich steak turned out to be very tough even when bloody medium cooked). Trust me, don't go to such a gem or you feel jammed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“My FAVORITE place in Amsterdam..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I just may not be able to express how fond I am of this Het Melkmeisje... Let me put it this way.. I make up excuses to do work in Amsterdam, just to go to dinner...

I first found this location about a year ago while walking the streets of Amsterdam with some co-workers. It boarders the Red-Light district and is surrounded by a few well know gay bars.

When we first walked by, it was closed. But something told me I had to eat there. A couple hours later we went back and it was open. I ate there THREE MORE TIMES that trip alone.

Now a year later, I was back in Amsterdam and insisted on going there despite some of my Dutch co-workers having reservations about it.

It's a hole in the wall, perhaps seating 24-30 people. But it is by far one of my top ten in the WORLD.

Try the Pate' appetizer, let the owner pick the wine for you as he does a sensational job of paring.. Then move onto the grilled Ostrich.. SIMPLY AMAZING!!

I'm already working on my 2013 travel plans and Het Melkmeisje is on the list!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Much better than it looks from outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We gave this a try after seeing the reviews and were not disappointed. It looks a little run down from outside and is in a busy street. We were seated outside and entertained by both the gay bar and the dutch singalong bar opposite. You could also sit at the side of the restaurant overlooking the canal, which is quieter.

The food was very good - smoked fish starter and pork steak, and garlic mushrooms followed by steak. Both courses plentiful and the mains came with salad and vegetables. We still managed to find room for dessert though - white chocolate mousse :-)

All very reasonably priced including the wine. Service was friendly and well timed.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Het Melkmeisje also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Het Melkmeisje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Het Melkmeisje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.