We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pancakes! Amsterdam

Pancakes! Amsterdam
38 Berenstraat, 1016 GH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
31 0 20 528 97 97
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #200 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch, Creperie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice cosi place with huge Pancakes. Good atmosphere. The choice is very large with cheap price. Moreover, meat is organic and pancakes are gluten free.
If you go before 1pm you have a reduction in breakfast pancakes.
Staff are very friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    260
    64
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Went to get pancakes on a Saturday morning. They open at 10am and get crowded pretty quickly. The food and the service were both excellent.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A really cozy and warm place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

we stopped there because highly recomended by our lonely planet and some friends, and it really worth! You have to try poffertjes and the delicious dutch pancakes!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Better than even the Pancake Bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just when I thought Pancakes couldn't get better, I ate at Pancakes! Amsterdam. I was a little doubtful as they are in the all the tour books and there are discount coupons for a set breakfast/lunch item, but those doubts were totally unfounded.
This is a very little place with maybe a dozen tables, and even though it was chilly outside people were seated and eating out there.
As several people were eating the pancake special we ordered one of those (with raisins and apples I think). It was really yummy. Even better was the apple pancake. the apples were very thin and the pancake was crisp. I had the same pancake at the other place a few blocks away and thought that was amazing until I had this. This was the winning pancake. Note that maple syrup is extra but worth it. It was our first meal and perhaps our best.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location with great pancakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We planned our visit here after our trip to the Anne Frank Museum, due to their close proximity. It was just after opening time and there was already a line. Service was slow but still good. And oh, the pancakes! Their creative selections made it hard to decide and all three of us ordered something different. I had an apple cinnamon pancake, another had the salmon and cream cheese and the other had the granola option. Each one of us loved our choices so much! Be prepared for a wait but know that these pancakes are well worth the wait! They also gave us each a little keychain, which I thought was such a perfect touch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancakes! Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pancakes! Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pancakes! Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.