We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd, but very good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pancakes! Amsterdam

Pancakes! Amsterdam
38 Berenstraat, 1016 GH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
31 0 20 528 97 97
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #194 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch, Creperie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Odd, but very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

First off, they have a variety of pancake types ranging from American to thin Dutch pancakes that are very similar to crepes. Delicious food. Small restaurant. Very casual. Odd wait staff. We really enjoyed the Dutch style banana bacon chili pepper. Yum!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    260
    64
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchster
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We came across this place on our way to Anne Frank's House and liked it so much we went back the next day. It is really popular and the second time we queued for about 15 minutes, but the tables turn over pretty quickly so it's not too bad. Chocolate pancakes were amazing! Friendly service too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nothing too special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went to Pancakes! because of its review in Lonely Planet. We didn't realise how tiny the restaurant was but chose to wait for a table because we had promised our kids pancakes. We were seated earlier than expected.

Service was slow, which we found odd given how few tables there are (6 or 7 total?). We waited quite awhile just to order food, while some of our drinks came out cold (3 hot chocolates). The pancakes were great. Our table had quite the variety - two sweet, two savoury and one the daily special. That said, I'm fairly certain other pancake restaurants were delivering the same quality of food but they hadn't been promoted in a widely used travel guide. We wondered if we waited too long for pancakes that we could have gotten elsewhere. While the food was good, I'm not sure that we go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We visited this place earlier this year and when we returned to Amsterdam, we couldn't help but come here again. I love the interior of this place, it creates a really comfortable atmosphere and the food just ticks all the boxes. Most recently I had the pancake pie and it was delicious. The staff are lovely too, I highly recommend!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

The food is wonderfull !!!!!!
Only the male waiter is good. The girls move so slowly and do everything else besides getting the order to the kitchen fast enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Pancakes! Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pancakes! Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pancakes! Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.