We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people running it, clean and modern!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Riverview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amstel Riverview to your Saves list
Amstel Riverview
Amsteldijk 22 II, 1074 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely people running it, clean and modern!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Amstel Riverview is really great, and is very close to the centre of town! There are some lovely people who run the place and were full of useful tips and suggestions.

The rooms were well cleaned and very modern but without ensuite bathrooms. And it was very handy to have a little communal kitchen. We used that a lot!

The positioning of the hotel is lovely, just on the river and well worth the money :) it is a short walk from the centre and we used public transport in the evenings, that have stops not too far away from the hotel itself.

Perfect for a short stay but the inconvenience of not having an ensuite in my opinion would make it difficult for longer stays as coordination for shower times in the mornings is difficult with all the other guests (although I can't remember how many people share the one bathroom).

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
29
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Perfect for what we needed- cheap enough, clean and nicely decorated rooms, friendly staff, great location. Room was bright and airy. Shared facilities (kitchen and bathrooms) kept very clean. A lot of stairs up to the guesthouse though so might not be suitable for elderly etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Amstel Riverview is a value hotel with lovely views across the Amstel River. The rooms are quite good, but be warned some rooms are better than others. You are greeted by a steep flight of stairs to the second floor, which is of course commonplace in Amsterdam. The reception area is not manned but the receptionist is available if needed.The two front rooms on this floor are totally different, our favourite, which is very comfortable is known as 'K2'. It opens out onto a kitchen area, which is quite handy for that last minute coffee.
The hotel is worth considering if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the river on the second floor. Room K2 the better of the two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

It's in a nice quiet part of Amsterdam and our room looked onto the back courtyard gardens which is a pleasant view. The rooms are OK but walls are paper thin and our room was just dull Bathrooms and kitchen were clean but lots of queuing on a weekend to get access to the bathroom. The stairs are very steep so beware but standard to Amsterdam. You could do worse but it's nothing special and impossible to find the staff at check out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were looking for a place to spend a few nights in Amsterdam. The prices if hostels and guesthouses are sky-high. While feeling hopeless, we stumbled upon Amstel RiverView. Their website is impressive borderline too good to be true. The frontdesk person was very warm and helpful. He even offered to carry the luggage of my female friend to our room which is on the 3rd floor. We were assigned to a room on the opposite side of the building so we didnt have the riverview-view.

The location strategic. A tram station is just around the corner of the entire block.

Room Tip: No elevator. Steep stairs. You've been warned. aside from that everything is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Nice rooms, clean shared bathroom, toilet and kitchen. Situated in a nice quiet part of Amsterdam but still very close to city centre. Lovely view onto the amstel river. Would definitely reccomend. Only downside is that there are lots of stairs but that is to be expected in many hostels in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

+ very warm reception and helpful staf
+ good location near to the old city center
+ nice view on the Amstel river

- we got very small room that was too small for a couple with small baby - I haven;t checked though if there was a possibility to change it for a bigger
- furnirures rather very old and shabby
- bed dirty and old (however bedding ok - too strong smell of detergents though)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amstel Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Riverview

Address: Amsteldijk 22 II, 1074 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Budget Places, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Amstel Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Riverview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.