We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So happy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Riverview

Amstel Riverview
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amstel Riverview to your Saves list
Amstel Riverview
Amsteldijk 22 II, 1074 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So happy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I found the Amstel View on the Internet by chance when booking a few nights in Amsterdam. The price was really reasonable and it had generally high reviews on trip advisor. When we got to the hotel I was so happy I had booked. The shared bathrooms and rooms are pretty much spotless. When I got into my comfy bed I could smell the freshness of the sheets and it was brilliant having a well stocked tea and coffee supply in the kitchen next door. And the view from my room was just amazing. The owner (sorry, I didn't catch his name) was so helpful, as with all the Dutch people I have spoken to, nothing was a problem for him. When we arrived he spent a good while discussing the city with us and helping us with transport arrangements. We were so impressed we decided to book a room for another night. When we arrived back we were given a room at the top of the house and it was beautifully furnished. The room and the bathroom were spotless again! The bed was comfy and again the sheets smelt freshly laundered. The view was unbelievable!!!!! The area was ideal for us as we were a short tram journey away from dam square and the bars, but far enough away so we were able to get a quiet night sleep. If your looking for clean, comfy and friendly accommodation that doesn't cost the earth this is the place to be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
21
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anniston, Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was quick trip designed for comfort and convenience and we certainly got that! Outstanding in every way, but especially Concierge staff. And highest compliments to the beautiful restaurant overlooking canal and serving spectacular food. This was our third visit to this lovely hotel and we are eager to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Using a tram from Amsterdam Centraal (Eu 2.70), and following the directions given on Hostelworld, I found the place easy to get to. We were very disappointed to be shown to a double room (on the 2nd floor) when I had specifically booked a twin room some 5 months before.No river view despite the name, but not complaining as the view over the apartments surrounding a gardened area at the back was actually very calming. Shared bathroom, toilet, kitchen area and washing facilities on this floor.The second night we were moved to a twin room on the 3rd floor (66 steps up a steep, skinny stair case), still overlooking the garden. This twin room was much larger, with coffee/tea making facilities in our room, and only 2 rooms sharing the toilet and shower (much smaller than on the 2nd floor but I'd rather the larger room). The coffee machine and coffee suplied as part of the deal was actually very nice, but some instructions on using the machine would be good! Although some distance from Amsterdam Centraal, there are several tram stops nearby, and they are easy to use with a purchased ticket (which BTW can be bought when you get on board and lasts an hour so you can use it more than once). But back to the Amstel Riverview, Anglelito, the staff member we dealt with, bent over backwards to be helpful. Even folding our dried laundry which we had left to put in the dryer (although no curfew for people there is for laundry-10pm!)
See also my review on Bloemers located nearby.

Room Tip: Third floor top back room (twin) was much larger than the one we first had on the second floor (doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Not too easy to get to as the public transition is a little bit confusing over there. Super nice host. Our room has a nice view of the backyard. And you can cook by yourself there. However, the shared bathroom is dirty. The couple who were staying on the other side of the hallway talked soooo loud and had fight that night... not very cool...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

- Nice river view
- Tiny room with no place for luggage
- wifi
- lumpy twin mattresses pushed together to make a king
- many steep steps which is characteristic of Amsterdam but is still unnerving
- nice decor in rooms

If you are looking for a hostel, then this is the place for you. If you are looking for more of a bed-and breakfast than I suggest you look elsewhere.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the river view although the room is quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lausanne
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

amazing view of the river, check. beautiful interiors, check. comfy bed, check. very clean, check. nice location, check. great places to shop or dine nearby, check. complete kitchen facilities, check. complimentary, great-tasting coffee, check. large LCD TV with cable, check. free hi-speed wifi, check. good security, check. peaceful neighborhood, check. no curfew, check. friendly staff, check. transport link nearby, check. just too much great stuff for a budget place. what more do we need?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainan, Taiwan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I returned back to this place after more than a year. It is well taken care of. Still a great place to stay with a stunning view of the Amstel river and great value for money! Clean, nicely decorated rooms and they replaced the tv's by nice new flatscreen tv's. What I mostly like here is the free coffee (senseo) and the free wifi, which is so important to me. The staff is lovely. Next time I'll go back here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amstel Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Riverview

Address: Amsteldijk 22 II, 1074 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amstel Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Riverview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.