We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Corner Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amstel Corner Hotel to your Saves list
Amstel Corner Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatikade 16, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Safe 7,5% direct bookings
Ranked #60 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No complaints!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My partner and I stayed in Amstel Corner guest house for the Easter weekend 2014. The guest house is in a good, quiet location, about 20 minutes walk from Dam Square. If you prefer to take the tram or metro, aroung, you can, just a few minutes walk from the guest house.

The guest house itself is clean and nicely decorated. Our room was a good size and had everything you want in a room. The two things I usually miss from home are a decent shower and a comfortable bed, our room, I'm pleased to say, had both.

The owner Fokko is a very pleasant guy, I like his little touches of mini chocolate eggs in the hallway, porridge sachets in kitchenette etc.

I really do not have anything to complain about, If I go back to Amsterdam, I'd definitely consider staying here again

Thank you Fokko

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at the hotel from the 4th-6th March in the honeymoon suite and absolutely loved it. The hotel was spotless & had everything you needed such as tea & coffee, hair dryer & even an iron! Also had Apple TV, modern radio & Netflix to watch any film you liked.
The bathroom was gorgeous with a free standing tub, lovely big bed overall such a beautiful room with a perfect view out of the balcony!
The owner met us on our very late arrival & showed us everything, he even bought me a bottle of champagne for my 21st birthday! Such a lovely gentleman!
Check out was easy & we will definitely be returning this year!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Amstel Corner hotel this weekend for 3 nights and cannot speak highly enough of the place.

On arrival at the airport we followed the instructions from our booking and got on the train to Amsterdam Central station (4 euro each) and then got on the tram to the hotel (about another 4 euro). On arrival at the hotel we were met by Fokko (the owner) who helped carry our luggage up to the Duke suite on the top floor.

The stairs have been mentioned before and are killer but you start to get used to them and we just carried out heels down and put them on in the porch as they are very steep and narrow.

The room was beautifully clean and the bathroom is amazing with a huge shower. The kitchen area had all the essentials for cooking and the tv is HUGE and has netflix and Apple TV!! Also there is a lidl just across the road which had everything in for breakfasts, lunches and toiletries.

The hotel is in a fabulous location with a lovely market across the road (and to the right) with spices, chocolates and trinkets and only a 20-25 minute amble to the Van Gogh museum and the Bols experience which is great fun.

The red light district is only a 16 euro can ride away and the gay district is again a 14 euro cab ride away. We had an amazing night in the gay district after eating at Rosas Cantina we went to club solo and danced until the wee hours.

There was some confusion with the price before we arrived but this was sorted in a few days and also on our last morning there was an engineer in fixing the hot water so there was a bit of noise but nothing to really complain about and he was very polite.

Only complaint would be that you are very much left to your own devices so when we realised out adapter wasn't working on the first night we emailed Fokko asking whether he had one or knew where we could get one but we never received a response.

That being said I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone looking to see the less tacky side of Amsterdam as this hotel is amazing value for money and just out of the way encough to feel like you are seeing the real Amsterdam. I would definately recommend doing your homework so you don't end up just doing the touristy things and missing out on all the lovely little streets, markets and other more appealing attractions.

Would come again :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from Amstel Corner and had a fab stay in this lovely hotel. Stayed in Dream Room on the 2nd floor. Nice big windows overlooking gardens at back and really cute & cosy. Kitchen in a cupboard was a highlight!!! Owners are great and more than happy to help you out. My bf proposed while we were there and Fokko (owner) got us champagne and flowers in the room. Just perfect :) took about 30 mins to walk into town but Lidl just across the way for supplies and Rembrandtsplein pretty close by. Would defo recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed there in the honeymoon suite.
The room overlooks the canal, is very spacious, elegant and beutifully decorated.
It was GREAT.
Service was excellent also.
Location is 20 minutes walking distance from the DAM square.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The owner Fokko helped us with our luggage to the 'Dream room' which had lovely large windows, a comfortable bed with memory foam mattress, an excellent shower and the most wonderful cupboard (which I initially thought was a wardrobe) containing a hob, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, kettle, sink and even tea towels. The Wifi was handy too! It was an absolute gem of a place and very clean. Location quiet but near to everything Amstardam has to offer. A brilliant place to stay and I highly reccommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amstel Corner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Corner Hotel

Address: Sarphatikade 16, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Corner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amstel Corner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Corner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.